We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place with friendly staff”
Review of Hostel Harmonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Harmonia
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good place with friendly staff”
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I stayed here for a few nights when my favourite hostel in Ipanema was being renovated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel was clean, but a bit crammed to be honest. I didn't even bother with breakfast here as it was a bit of a bun flight in the morning to get anything.

The rooms were also a tight squeeze with very little storage space. I was lucky not to experience the moving issues others have experienced. They seem to move people around rooms if they are staying more than a few days to facilitate groups who ask to stay together. This doesn't seem like a good way to treat guests who have already checked in.

They have a good TV room here, but very poor wireless internet.

It's a good hostel in an excellent location and I would stay her again. But only if my favourite place was booked out or closed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
30
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I loved Harmonia and Rio so much I cut my trip short to go back and stay again! Great location (beach 2 minutes away, shops and bars around the corner, transport links a block away), friendly and helpful staff, hearty breakfasts and it seems to attract a really cool and lively crowd - a bit more 'grown up' than other hostels I've stayed in, but still lots of fun. I felt perfectly safe walking around the area at night. Made some great friends at this hostel, both travellers and people who worked there. When I return to Rio I'll definitely be staying! Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumandcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

absolute fab service and great fun! definately go there again, nice swedisch owner

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

As luck would have it we never actually ended up staying here.
We reserved a double room for 2 nights and on turning up the conversation went like this:

Us: Hi, we reserved a double room for 2 nights.
Hostel Harmonia: ummm, we don't appear to have that reservation and the room is now booked.
Us: Strange, because you sent me an email yesterday confirming it.
Hostel Harmonia: Really ?
Us: Yes, look it's there in your outbox, sent not more that 20hrs ago.
Hostel Harmonia: Oh.

To their credit they offered us a better room at the same price, however we took one look at it and ran for our lives. The room looked pretty grimy and was at the top of a wobbly spiral staircase which you had to go through 2 dorms to get to. I know health and safety is possibly not at the top of every hostel go'ers adgenda, but rest assured, if there was a fire in that place you would be toast.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandBelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Harmonia was a cute little hostel nice and close to the beach and clean and tidy. Downside is the two bathrooms have one toilet and shower inside the bathroom, so while someone is showering the toilet can't be used, and vice versa. However the staff are SUPER friendly and helpful- we had an extra couple of people added to our group, and they spent a few hours when we arrived calling all the surrounding hostels to arrange accomodation for our friends, and a really thorough safety briefing as well, which was very much appreciated. Nice breakfasts too! Reccomend it if you are on a budget, but want nice breakfasts, good location and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibearess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I've stayed in hostels on 6 continents and am actually a travel writer. My friend and I had originally planned to stay at this hostel in Rio for a week. After we arrived in Rio, as most backpackers do, we changed our travel plans. I explained to the owner that we weren't going to stay at the hostel for the entire week and he proceeded to charge us for two nights stay (despite the fact that we arrived at 3am the morning before) and kept out security deposit for the entire week. As if that wasn't enough, he verbally threatened my friend and I, swearing and being really rude. The hostel is nothing special and is not worth the high price it charges in comparison to the five other hostels on the same street that are of equal, or probably superior quality. I highly advise anyone going to Rio NOT to stay at this place. There are so many other hostels in the Ipanema area that are just as nice, cheaper, and have a much friendlier vibe. Don't stay here, you'll definitely regret it if you do.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank backpacker213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2009

The Harmonia is located in the heart of Ipanema, just three blocks from the beach and steps away from great shopping and restaurants. The hostel offers breakfast on its terrace and a well-stocked travel library. The staff is very experienced and hospitable; if you have a question about tours or transit, just ask the owner!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora7109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
The LightHouse
The LightHouse
#89 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
79 reviews
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#19 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
511 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#10 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mojito Hostel
Mojito Hostel
#104 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
65 reviews
Leblon
Lemon Spirit Hostel
Lemon Spirit Hostel
#20 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema B&B
Ipanema B&B
#91 of 783 in Rio de Janeiro
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Harmonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Harmonia

Property: Hostel Harmonia
Address: Rua Barao da Torre 175 Casa 18 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 783 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostel Harmonia 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmonia is a small and homely homestay located right in the heart of the famous Ipanema beach district. Just 3 blocks from the beach and only a stone´s throw away from bars and restaurants, the location is great.We take pride in our warm atmosphere and the personal attention we give to all our guests. Staying here at Harmonia is the best way to discover this spectacular city and a big reason why so many of our guests end up coming back year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Harmonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Harmonia Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hostel Harmonia Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing