We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Sugarloaf Mountain
from $50.00
More Info
from $109.00
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $55.00
More Info
Reviews (52,941)
Filter reviews
52,941 results
Traveler rating
41,491
9,842
1,358
161
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41,491
9,842
1,358
161
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car sugar loaf amazing views christ the redeemer guanabara bay enjoy the view sunny day watch the sunset early in the morning visiting rio beautiful city cristo redentor copacabana beach cars sugarloaf gondola monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 52,941 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2018 via mobile

Christ theRedeemer and Sugarloaf are completely different You need to do both two different ways up as well If you go by tour you get priority load so when it’s busy it’s a wee bonus The cable is the way to Sugarloaf try to get to front going up as it’s amazing as you get close to the cliff face prior to the top it’s cool Amazing views over the beaches it blows you away both experiences are so different but so great By the way going down try get the view looking out to where your heading

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Vivienne N Keit... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Visited Pao de Azucar during our last trip to Brazil and views are amazing. We went there during the week and no lineups whatsoever. Place was not crowded and we had a great time drinking caipirinhas and enjoying beautiful view on Rio.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Jprzada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

This was a great upward hike (good cardio) but you can take your time and god bless the person who though of putting benches at intervals! It takes some gumption to climb to the top off the mountain. We almost chickened out but got the courage after seeing so many coming back down... children with parents, more mature ones and realized it looked worst that it actually was. Just take your time and make sure you your foot placement is secure. Once on top the view does not disappoint. We even saw a guy repel down (Not recommended)! There are small loose gravel-like stones near the cliff edges, some people braved it, I just stayed back but still got some awesome views. I thought coming down would be worse but I actually thought it was much easier. We felt so accomplished that we did it. I now understand (a little) why people climb Mount Everest! Great experience, would definitely do it again.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank serendipitiously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

Pick the nicest and clearest day of your stay and reserve it solely for Urca & Sugarloaf.

If your fitness allows it, pack plenty of water for a vertical hike up Urca Mountain. Bring your camera, sneakers and a few R$s for lunch at the top. If you’re lazy or pressed for time, pay for the round trip cable car.

We hiked up, took the cable car across to Sugar Loaf and then all the way back to the ground.

A quick hint: if you’re going to buy Havaiana flip flops as a souvenir during your trip to Brazil, be sure to shop for them in the outlet store at the top of Urca mountain. The selection is huge and prices here are nearly 50% cheaper than any other store we had seen.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Fes1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Sugarloaf was the first place I visited when I arrived in Rio de Janeiro. We caught an uber from the hotel (Merlin Copacabana) to Sugarloaf entrance. It was much cheaper than getting a taxi (literally cost about $5usd). We didn't want to wait in line so we paid for the express tickets which were roughly about $40usd. We hopped on the cable car and made our way up to the top. There were two levels, we got off at the first, took some pictures there and then made our way to the second level in a separate cable car. Upon reaching the highest level we realized that it was much bigger than the first, having a few restaurants, gift shops, Helipad for helicopter tours of the city, and a small museum.

The view from the highest point was magnificent. You had a complete 360-degree view of the city. For the plane enthusiasts, watching the planes take off from Santos Dumont Airport was awesome.

I would definitely advise putting aside about 4 to 5 hours to really enjoy Sugarloaf Mountain. Also, go in the late afternoon, and see how the city transforms as night sets in. It is truly a remarkable site.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Leroy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews