We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the View..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugarloaf Mountain

Sugarloaf Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“For the View..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have travelled to Rio a few times, but only have done this attraction once. Its great to catch an amazing view of the City. Sugar Loaf forms a big part as a tourist site in Rio and should not be missed. Its worth the Cable Car Ride and Lovely Views for Pics..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44,914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34,899
    8,600
    1,210
    138
    67
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Long line but worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The line was 2 and a half hours but when we got to the top it was all worth it. The best view in Rio and the cable car ride was interesting too. There are a few places to eat on top but nothing noteworthy, better just to have a beer and enjoy the view.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Too long queue.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Be prepared for long queues. I tried at 5:30 in the afternoon and it was a 2 hours queue. The next day I arrived at 2 in the afternoon and the queue was 2 and a half hours. Both where incompatible with my plans.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cloudy View but still awesome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

The day was overcast and cloudy when we went up Sugar Loaf. Still very impressive views of Rio, the beaches and surrounding cities. Saw some rock climbers on the main mountain. Took time at each of the two mountains to check the sites from each. Smooth cable car ride which was quick.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaQuintaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

The view is amazing! We really enjoyed the experience and would recommend this to everyone visiting Rio!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KCStravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarloaf Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Sugarloaf Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing