We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a MUST in Rion”
Review of Sugarloaf Mountain

Sugarloaf Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Skip the Line: Sugar Loaf Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Michelbach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a MUST in Rion”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

certainly a MUST when you're in Rio, and easy to get there with the cable cabin
The splendid view on all parts of the city is well worth the time and money to get there!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Solardiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35,329
    8,693
    1,218
    141
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
586 reviews
287 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Great way to see Rio”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was gonig to skip this becuase of the lines and the time I had but I am glad I went up. It was amazing to see everything from the top. I really think this is something you need to do while your there, I figured that what more would I see after the Cristo but this was well worth the time and money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice view from the city”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Sugar Loaf is at a very interesting neighborhood, called Urca.You can go to the beach, walk on the trail, take the gondola to the Sugar Loaf and at night usually have concerts on the hill. It is certainly worth the ride!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GracaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great view of Rio”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Get there early to avoid a long wait. Tickets are issued for departure times on the tram. If you are not there early, you may have a two hour wait for your departure time. Once on top, the views of Rio are fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomWV12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Definitely worth it! Do go in the late afternoon into evening... you get to see the day time version followed shortly after by the by-night version... it truly is a wonderful view.
Do go by yourself, with your significant other (it is romantic), or with family and friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank eurasian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarloaf Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Sugarloaf Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing