We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be cautious of your things!”
Review of Hotel Debret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Debret
Ranked #172 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed March 16, 2014

by the end of October 2013 my friend and I decided to go to Rio, and we found this hotel, surprisingly, it was in the best location along Copacabana, and the more surprising thing was we had missing items in our room! You get what you pay for in this hotel, definitely not worth trying for in Rio, enough said

Room Tip: choose the ones facing Copacabana IF you have the guts to stay here and loose things
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jm222_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 693 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place for 3 nights. The first room we stayed in was on the 7th floor. There was no wifi, We asked to be moved and they moved us to The hird which had wifi.

Pros ; excellent location. Right across copacabana beach. Close walk to ipamena and approador. Breakfast area has a beautiful view is copacabana.

Cons.
The standard room ( the one we had on the 7th floor) was really run down, smelly, shower doesn't work properly , soap base was falling off, the sink was so small and old. Safe was so out dated.

The room on the third floor was a little better , comfortable enough for a 2.5 star stay room. Breakfast was very basic. The cakes were stale ( they were hard) , variety was poor and one of the morning when we woke up we had to eat on a dirty table because no one had cleaned them. No juices , more like cordial. Not good for the morning.

Overall , good place to stay for a short period of time. A little over priced. But all the hotels are in copacabana.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Best thing is being in a hotel right on Copacabana beach.
Pros:
Location is great, also the sea view rooms.
The restaurant has a great panoramic view of Copacabana beach and Sugar Loaf mountain.
Breakfast was great.
Staff were very friendly, and was able to change my room as per my request.
Hotel reception can provide all types of group trips through several travel agents in a flexible and quick manner.
Cons:
The hotel is more as three-star hotel, not very luxurious with basic furniture.
The elevator is remarkably very slow had to use the stairs several times.
Daily room cleaning is basic.

Room Tip: Corner sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The staff was helpful and kind, the location is great, right next to Copacabana, but the hotel suffers from undergoing maintenance and refurbishing for the 2014 world cup. The staff also speaks a relatively good amount of English, which is nice.

We had a room on the 2nd floor, the windows are not isolated, and by not isolated, I mean there is a 1 cm gap all around the window. It might as well be open for all the noise we heard.

You need to pay extra if you wish to use the safe in the room. There were 2 sheets to cover the bed, since 1 bed sheet only covered about half... There were also hols in the linen. The room was humid, the air condition was so loud there was no way we could use it and sleep at the same time.

The breakfast was ok, but the whole floor looked as through it might fall apart any minute.

If you decide to stay at Hotel Debret, do so after it has been refurbished.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room high up to get away from the noise on the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nils S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights, if you want to stay in a excellent location that's right across from the beach then stay here, but I think the price was too much considering the room I had was just average and it was dull and really needed updating
as others had mentioned the litfs are very slow so I used the stairs most of the time
the included breakfast was amazing, there is so much food and lots of variety and the view really was amazing you could see all the way up and down Copacabana beach.
they have a internet computer for you to use if you haven't got your own wifi device.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alice6663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

All the front office staff we encountered spoke English, really helpful for us.

Location is right on Av Atlantica, the road in front of the beach. Perfect for getting that 630am sunrise shot, and 6pm sunset photo.

Had "dinner" at kiosk on Copacabana beach one day, really nice - beer and fried chicken.

Rooms cleaning is average.

Water is very hot, for showers etc

Breakfast restaurant at top of hotel has excellent views.

Free wifi included.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location is perfect just directly at Copacabana beach. However, the rooms are in very bad shape, terrible decor and things are falling apart. My room only had a window to a noisy inner shaft, the safe was not functional. Plus, the elevators are slow and outdated and do not feel that safe. The breakfast room on the top floor has a great view over the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Rio Lancaster
Hotel Rio Lancaster
#135 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
470 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,150 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#89 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,071 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#97 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
771 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#81 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Debret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Debret

Address: Avenida Atlantica 3564, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $62 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Debret 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Debret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debret Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Debret Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing