We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still awaiting refund, stay way !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Everest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Everest Park Hotel
Ranked #260 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still awaiting refund, stay way !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed there on 17/3/13 supposedly for a weeks business. There were fleas crawling up the wall.
I checked out the very next day without even showering in the dirty bathroom.
Stayed one flea bitten night.
Tried to get a refund, as they had charged me for a whole weeks stay!
$1596 which they said they would refund, but absolutely nothing has happened.
I've had to return to the hotel and threaten them with the police if they don't refund my hotel.
I'm happy to take down this review if I get a refund, but otherwise stay well clear.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    44
    41
    26
    26
See reviews for
16
50
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was the best Hotel I stayed in while in Rio de Janeiro. I stayed in 2 others besides this one. I say that because location was great and the Balcony was Awesome! I could go out there and see the beach and then the crowds on the street. I was there during Carnaval! The room was okay-TV was nice and beds comfortable. Bathroom was nice also. Room was spacious. The lobby and bathroom downstairs are not that great! One awesome thing is that they have people down at the beach and you get to use umbrella, chairs and towels for free which is awesome because otherwise you have to pay for these down at the beach! The men at the beach were nice also when helping us- Romanio was the name of who helped us at the beach. The staff was okay-the other hotels I stayed at had more professional and helpful staff. I would stay here again though for the room and Balcony!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ama2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a number of nights and its location 2 minutes walk from the beach but ideally located for the restaurants and shops of Ipanema / Rio was excellent.
The rooms were clean tidy and had views of the beach although we were 25 meters down a side road from the sea front.
The breakfast was always good but we ate out the rest of the time.
The staff were excellent and very helpful and the hotel had towels, and seating for the beach.
The beach is amazing with merchants walking up and down all day selling anything you need for beach wear. You can also have drinks from various bars on the beach which is lovely.
I would certainly stay again as the location, facilities and cost were good for that area.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view it will be limited but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

First, the best of the hotel: its location! It is located one street block behind the beach pf Ipanema, so you can put on your swimsuit and within two minutes you are the beach. Also, if you can trust what locals say, the area in Ipanema where the hotel is located is one of the safest ones in Rio (and Rio is dangerous in most places).

As for the hotel: Well, to put it bluntly, it's totally overpriced, the rooms are shabby, small and run-down. Renovating the whole hotel including the romms would be a must. To charge US$150 for the rooms as they are now is totally overpriced, but I assume that this will be the case for almost all hotel in this area. (I walked in the lobby of a couple of other hotels in the same price range to get an impression and it seemed that many hotels really look run-down and as if they need rennovating.
I was here on business, so it was OK for me as I don't have to shell out the money, but I would never pay as much for such a bad hotel room privately. For families with kids it is totally unsuitable. The rooms are really too tiny for that. Also, the concierge was NOT friendly and did not appear as if he wanted to be there

The roof-top restaurant is definitely a plus. Spectacular view of Rio de Janeiro! This is really great. The buffet for breakfast was also OK, lots of fresh vegetables.

In summary: The hotel has seen its heyday. It is run-down, the rooms are really small and shabby. Service and friendlyness at the front desk is average, the concierge was unprofessional and not helpful. The roof-top restaurant and beach vicinity are a plus, but with respect to the bad condition of the hotel in general and of the rooms in particular and in light of US$150 room charge for this, I can give only 2 stars.
I would not recommend this hotel. For individual business travelers it maybe OK, but not for families at all and I would never book this hotel for a private stay.

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank einstein009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

old and decaying environment. the location is good, in the famous neighborhood of Ipanema. Near also another interesting neighborhood to visit the Leblon. The hotel does not deserve more than 2 stars. The service is bad. The rooms stink, the bathroom is old. The ambience of the hotel has a very bad smell.
The only good thing about the hotel is its location which is a few meters from Ipanema beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramgrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is awful! Despite of the great location (near to the Ipanema beach), this hotel is the worst in the area. It is very expensive, the staff is not well trained. The rooms are dirty and usually the bathroom is dirty.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tudoquevievivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

The hotel needs an urgent remodelation. Thing that drouve us nuts was the black out courting works bad and simply cover the entire ar con. Its make no sense at all, as quit the machine works, as impact the enviroment and destroi the equipment. Old carpet and bad service. Me and my wyfe are in back pain and had louse sleep. But the location is awsome, just perfect. And that matters, of course. And prices are cheap. And else! They friendly let use leave the hotel one day earlier without any fine. It was a nasty wheather...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Schiphorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Everest Rio Hotel
Everest Rio Hotel
#173 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#139 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Vieira Souto 510 Residence Service
Ipanema Vieira Souto 510 Residen...
#249 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
#210 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#29 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everest Park Hotel

Property: Everest Park Hotel
Address: Rua Maria Quiteria 19, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-041, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Everest Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Everest Park Hotel is in the noble area of Ipanema, at Rua Maria Quitéria, in the beach's block. The promenade of Ipanema is an excellent choice for outdoor exercise. The Hotel is close to the Lake Rodrigo de Freitas, surrounded by pedestrian and bike paths, from where you have a wonderful view of the hill Dois Irmãos and the Cristo Redentor. The hotel's access to the main sights, the city center and the airport is quick and easy. In Ipanema you will find numerous art galleries and sophisticated trade. In the side streets, there are stores of the best international brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Everest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everest Park Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing