We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS HOTEL!!”
Review of Everest Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Everest Park Hotel
Ranked #266 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This awful experience started when we had contact with Carlos that works in the reception. He was rude and impolite to us from the start.
The price is high and the room and toilet are old and in bad condition.
The air conditioning is noisy.
Frigobar stuff is a fortune.
Terrible value and the experience with the hotel staff will leave you feeling angry. Not what we expected from our holidays.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

First, the best of the hotel: its location! It is located one street block behind the beach pf Ipanema, so you can put on your swimsuit and within two minutes you are the beach. Also, if you can trust what locals say, the area in Ipanema where the hotel is located is one of the safest ones in Rio (and Rio is dangerous in most places).

As for the hotel: Well, to put it bluntly, it's totally overpriced, the rooms are shabby, small and run-down. Renovating the whole hotel including the romms would be a must. To charge US$150 for the rooms as they are now is totally overpriced, but I assume that this will be the case for almost all hotel in this area. (I walked in the lobby of a couple of other hotels in the same price range to get an impression and it seemed that many hotels really look run-down and as if they need rennovating.
I was here on business, so it was OK for me as I don't have to shell out the money, but I would never pay as much for such a bad hotel room privately. For families with kids it is totally unsuitable. The rooms are really too tiny for that. Also, the concierge was NOT friendly and did not appear as if he wanted to be there

The roof-top restaurant is definitely a plus. Spectacular view of Rio de Janeiro! This is really great. The buffet for breakfast was also OK, lots of fresh vegetables.

In summary: The hotel has seen its heyday. It is run-down, the rooms are really small and shabby. Service and friendlyness at the front desk is average, the concierge was unprofessionell and not helpful. The roof-top restaurant and beach vicinity are a plus, but with respect to the bad condition of the hotel in general and of the rooms in particular and in light of US$150 room charge for this, I can give only 2 stars.
I would not recommend this hotel. For individual business travelers it maybe OK, but not for families at all and I would never book this hotel for a private stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank EinsteinTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

It has what you need. Close to de beach, nice staff,

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Pauperejil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hotel is badly in need of minor renovation. The carpets are threadbare, elevator doors iffy, bathroom mirrors cloudy, showers spray in unexpected directions, ill fitting bedsheets are soon a tangled knot, and windows that don't close properly let in raucous late night street noise. The unusual angular construction of hallways and rooms can be somewhat disconcerting, and tablecloths at cafe de manha really should be laundered once in a while. The hotel's location in Ipanema is outstanding. It's only half a block to the beach, and the hotel provides chaise lounges and umbrellas from a dedicated barraca. The staff at recepcao is friendly enough and will do what they can to accommodate your requirements. But it's an expensive hotel for what you get, and maybe not the best value until management gives the place a thorough going over.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I'm an American and I usually dont write reviews on my hotel stays despite the fact that Im a avid traveler, but this review I felt compelled write. I went with a friend the first week of March to the Carnaval in Rio, and as you might expect the hotels on ipanema beach would be expensive because of the festivities. I payed approximately 400 Reas a night to stay in this dump. I arrived at the hotel and from the outside it looked like a reasonable property. I walked in with all my bags in tow and the Bellman made no attempt to help me get my luggage up the steps. (I should have known then) Next I checked in, which seemed harmless enough, but it turned out that although they had been advertising a gym online, they no longer had a gym which was a problem for me because I workout regularly and never would have booked there if I had know there wasn't a gym. The worst part of the experience was my room, which was small, old, and dilapidated. The beds were two small twins bed which were essentially connected they were so close. There was a large crack running down the wall behind the TV. The furniture and decor was plain to say the least, it was worst than a Super 8 or Ramada Inn. This was suppose to be a 3 to 4 star hotel. The beds were uncomfortable and the mirror in the bathroom had something all over it that couldn't be wiped off, (I have pictures). There was a yellow high school lunch tray on the dresser with what appeared to be 5 yr old chips and cashews. No prices were attached and my initial impression was that this was complimentary, but no it was for sell. The only thing decent about my stay here was the breakfast which was nicely done and displayed every morning except during the weekend. The location of the hotel is not bad, but i would rather travel 15 miles a day to the beach than stay in this "hotel" I can not say it more sternly, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Everest Park Hotel at the end of November 2010. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great especially for the price. It is less than a 2 minute walk to Ipanema beach and about a 5 minute walk to some of the best restaurants in Rio. The only downside is there is no restaurant at the hotel but the complementary breakfast is served around the corner at their sister hotel. In our opinion it wasn't a big deal as the pros definitely outweigh the cons. We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend this hotel, for people looking for a clean, safe hotel in the heart of Ipanema.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jswans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

The hotel is really in need of modernization, especially the bathrooms. It's right behind Caesar Park Hotel and almost the same price the weekend we stayed. Very average.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Everest Rio Hotel
Everest Rio Hotel
#173 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
748 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
Hotel San Marco Ipanema
#193 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
301 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,180 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,203 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Vieira Souto 510 Residence Service
Ipanema Vieira Souto 510 Residen...
#255 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everest Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everest Park Hotel

Address: Rua Maria Quiteria 19, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-041, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Everest Park Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Everest Park Hotel is in the noble area of Ipanema, at Rua Maria Quitéria, in the beach's block. The promenade of Ipanema is an excellent choice for outdoor exercise. The Hotel is close to the Lake Rodrigo de Freitas, surrounded by pedestrian and bike paths, from where you have a wonderful view of the hill Dois Irmãos and the Cristo Redentor. The hotel's access to the main sights, the city center and the airport is quick and easy. In Ipanema you will find numerous art galleries and sophisticated trade. In the side streets, there are stores of the best international brands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Everest Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everest Park Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing