We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love the beach and have a low budget, stay in APA Hotel. Good choice.”
Review of Apa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apa Hotel
Ranked #132 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I loved my stay there and will definitely go back with my husband next time we travel to Rio. I thought it was a good choice because what was important for me was to be near the beach, and the location of this hotel couldn't be better. The staff is not arrogant or stuck up at all. You have to go by the culture so don't expect the typical American customer service, that's a wrong start. Both managers and employees are very nice. The rooms and bathrooms can be small, yes, but honestly I didn't care much for that as I spent most of the time out of the hotel. The only thing I really needed that they didn't have was a lamp.

I highly recommend this hotel for low-budget guests who love the beach and are not picky. Otherwise, look for a hotel with a higher rate and more comforts.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 466 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

I have been to Apa for a weekend, but my overall experience with the hotel didn't meet my (not high) expectations.
Staff could be nicer, but I don't really care about that.
The room looked clean at first, but after some time I noticed several pieces of old cookies over the minibar.
The bathroom was unconfortably small.
But the worst part was in the morning. I had gone to a party on Saturday night (as probably many other guests have done), but on Sunday, the maids started cleaning other apartments at 8h30 or 9am - with noisy vacuum cleaners, and hitting the walls of my room all the time!
Next time I go to Rio, I will look for somewhere else to stay...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaoAGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

On a back-street in Copacabana sits the Apa Hotel. It's a cheap hotel. Probably you already know this. Probably that's why you're considering it. For me, it was a simple place to spend a single night, at the end of Carnival when almost every room in town had been booked up.

And though I don't normally stay in quite such simple places, I sometimes delight in them. The quiet little hotel, with a genuine smile of welcome and simple well-kept rooms, can be perfect.

Well, that isn't the Apa. I've had some bad hotel experiences, but this was the one that made me join Tripadvisor. Most of the bad bits... look, I really didn't mind them. I shrugged to myself and thought, I'll be gone tomorrow.

So the room was the size of a moderate bathroom. So the elevator was antiquated and a bit alarming. So the desk-staff were hilariously pompous. So there was incessant street noise on the lower floors, so much that it felt like I was outside. So the bathroom had arrived in a time-warp from the 1970s, the colour of rotting toadstools and lit by a flickering flourescent bulb. So the advertised free broadband didn't work. So the TV was ancient and the reception lousy. So the bed was lumpy and the service nonexistent. Ah well. I'd be out of there the next morning.

So then came the next morning. And I wake to the sound of drilling about six inches from my head. And I open the door and find a toolbox right outside it, blocking the corridor. And I find electrical wires dangling down from the ceiling, blocking the hallway. There's a lacklustre workman, prodding at things. The wires are about an inch from my head, when I open the door. They're not insulated, I note.

Now look. Cheap is one thing. Dangerous is something else. To do electrical wiring work, you have to test the work – so those wires must have been live at several points. And down they hung, all morning, across the whole width of the corridor. (Well, have a look at the photos.) I went down to reception.

Hello there, I said. Don't you think you should have told me about those wires? About that trip-hazard of all those tools blocking the corridor. About live wires an inch from my head? A note under the door, maybe? A telephone call? It would have taken less than a minute, after all.

And so, a man who was perhaps the worst hotel manager I've ever come across came upstairs, looked, shrugged, went downstairs again and did nothing. I stood at the desk, more than mildly unhappy. I pointed out to him that he had a duty of care to his guests. He said 'Yes, and...?' I told him that this kind of thing was simply not on – and he'd be breaking laws, certainly in the US and Europe. He said 'I don't believe that.' (No 'sir' no 'sorry', please note – not at any point in this exchange.) I asked him why he hadn't at least called my room. He turned and walked away, no reply.

(And though tempted – I didn't yell or scream or swear. I just told him that his actions were unacceptable, which they were.)

Look, there's cheap and simple – maybe you can find that. I hope so. There's cheap and nasty – I do hope you won't find that. And then there's the Apa – which is just plain dangerous and grim. For goodness sake, don't stay there. You can do better. Really you can.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank limelight_ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I am glad to see that Tripadvisor considers this a 2-star hotel. I think the hotel grades itself as 3-star, which is inflated. The location is a few blocks from the portion of Copacabana beach that contains the most expensive hotels.

For the price paid, I find this hotel to be good value. The place could use a bit of renovation, the shower is kind of small, and the wallpaper is getting a bit old, but it works. There is a small wall-mounted television, a small fridge "mini-bar" and the wireless internet works extremely well. The bell desk was fine holding my luggage after my checkout, and there was a free safe in the room.

Breakfast buffet was fine - meats and cheeses, breads, some yogurt, juice, and some fruits. It was buffet style so all-you-care-to-eat.

I found the bed to be comfortable, and I slept well even with a room facing the street in front. If you do not expect something fancy, then the Apa Hotel should serve you well.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 21, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 7, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 24, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Bandeirantes
Hotel Bandeirantes
#118 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,012 reviews
Copacabana
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
#166 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
260 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#98 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
Ibis Budget Copacabana
#64 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
531 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Mar Hotel
Copacabana Mar Hotel
#107 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
538 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#108 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apa Hotel

Address: Rua Republica do Peru No 305, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $49 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing