We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID AVOID AVOID”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rios Presidente Hotel
Ranked #188 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“AVOID AVOID AVOID”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked a stay here through a third party; we booked a triple room for a week for carnaval at EXTORTIONATE PRICES. There are currently better, cheaper hotels available In Copacabana.

Upon arrival they told us that it was a double friend and our female friend had to leave. Into rio centro at 1am in the morning, with all of her possessions. We argued that this is not safe, that we would freshen up seeing as we had just had a long flight and find the booking details, and if all else failed alternate affordable accommodation for her nearby. All of which proved fruitless.

We attempted the situation again this morning with the morning staff, who told is we would have to pay a further 900 reals for her to stay (IRONY: they bought us to a TRIPLE ROOM. WITH THREE BEDS, THREE TOWELS AND EVERYTHING ELSE IN THREES.) the 900 reals is also not the advertised price, and is inflated - I argued the point that I prebooked the hotel, and if they were so intent on ripping me off they could charge me the same amount as when I booked it initially. Not like they can resell the room (although I would NOT put it past them to allow a stranger the spare bed) so, evidently I have been massively ripped off. I asked for a refund as I was far from happy. Again, no refunds so we can't even check into another hotel in a more desirable neighbourhood! As I write this I am faced with a further six nights at this hell hole. For a little more than I just paid, I could've had a beachfront copacabana hotel.

Further lies: wifi is charged daily. We were advised the 'complementary' breakfast is 25 reals PER PERSON, PER DAY apparently. Thanks for that one too.

The safe deposit box is 5 reals a day; In a hotel costing this amount, In a city like rio a safe should be FREE! In all this hotel is a joke. The hotel is in a less than desirable area that taxi drivers don't like to drive to, upon arrival from the airport our taxi driver wished us luck, and told us to be careful with all of our bags. The hotel is noisy and the staff unpleasant. The room . . . Basic. Not a bit like the pictures shown in the slightest! Oh, and if you have friends staying elsewhere in town who you would like to bring up to your room, apparently you're under some kind of curfew where you cannot bring people to the room you just paid for. Hotel? More like a bloody prison camp.

I cannot stress enough now disgusted I am at the behaviour of the hotels management and sheer greed. Clearly guests satisfaction does not feature at this dump. I shall contact my agent in London and request this is dropped from their systems; tourists should not be treated this way. I guess the lesson learnt is ALWAYS read the reviews. They aren't over exaggerated when it comes to this place!

As we are now trapped here, we are finding ways to scrimp together the extra 900 reals for her to even be allowed back into the room!

PLEASE, HEED MY WARNING AND AVOID THIS PLACE.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank BenW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    55
    61
    28
    18
See reviews for
20
31
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Rio's Presidente Hotel from 16 to 21 June 2013. My main reason for going to Rio was the Confederations Cup, the football tournament of Confederation winners. I was forced to find a hotel in the Centro area because the hotels on the popular beach areas of Copacabana and Ipanema were fully booked. I was also on a very tight budget.

The hotel is equivalent to a 2 star western hotel. It is just adequate and nothing more. It is in a bad area of the city, the rooms are plain at best and the hotel does not have a bar. The hotel staff that could speak English were helpful though, and the rooms were cleaned reasonably well everyday. Taxis were also available during the day. At night, taxis to the Centro area are hard to find. You don't want to be out in the city at night anyway. However, returning from football games was a nightmare, as roads were closed in areas where protests were being held, making traffic impossible to navigate and even dangerous.

Room Tip: The floors higher up from 7 are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashok D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Mortified on arrival when shown to my room. Very small with dirty grey blinds at the windows. Couldn't open them because the neighbouring building was so close I was overlooked by about 10 dwellings. The bedding was clean and the bed comfortable, unfortunately there was no hot water in the bathroom so had a cold shower. The following morning I asked for a change of room with hot water and curtains at the window. This was done without fuss and I was offered the choice of 2 rooms. The one I chose was quite pleasant overlooking a carpark and a tall glass building, so not overlooked..
The pool is on the 13th floor and wasn't built for swimming, more like a plunge pool. There is also a sauna and a small gym up there.
The hotel looks quite big from the outside but the lobby is very small and there doesn't appear to be anything else on the ground floor.
The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful although little English was spoken, apart from the tall gentleman with grey hair (sorry, didn't get his name) who spoke quite good English and was always very pleasant.
Once I had moved rooms I was quite happy here for one more day, a pity the food is so poor, little choice and poor quality.
There is however several restaurants around the corner, we ate at 2 which were both very good. The Rio Scenarium is excellent although you do have to pay 28rs to eat there it is worth it, and Cantino Do Senado where the food is excellent and portions huge.

Room Tip: If you don't like the room, ask for a change, overlooking the car park is probably the best side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I spent a whole week at Rios President for business and this was the worst hotel that I have stayed. The room was dirty and dusty. The room is noisy, I could heard every single person that took the elevator.
The breakfast has several options, but all has poor quality and the service is bad.
Actually I'm at Rio de Janeiro, but at another Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincoln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you´ve been to 3-4 star hotels in Rio you already know that they don´t come close to first world standards. Rios Presidente is an average Rio hotel located away from the beaches in a not so nice area but it´s very close (200m) to Lapa, the party area of Rio. The nightlife and restaurants are unmatched anywhere else in the city.

The rooms are decent enough for a couple of nights. There´s safe parking in the hotel garage for $R20/night. Staff is nice and a few speak english. Rooftop pool is good for a laugh. Breakfast is average Brazilian hotel breakfast fare. Internet access is $R10/day.

All in all if it´s a busy weekend and you can´t find a hotel closer to the beach this is the place to stay. You can´t beat the price. I´d stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shinrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I was at this hotel for maybe 15 minutes in total and and it was 15 minutes far too long. I made the mistake of going for a walk around the hotel area and did not feel comfortable at all. Homeless, shifty looking people wandering about everywhere and a strong stench of urine on the streets. I didn't feel safe in this area as a lone, female traveller. The hotel staff giving me the wrong directions didn't help either.

The room basically matched the surroundings, i.e. smells, unclean environment. I quite literally checked in, took one look at the room and the surrounds and checked out and promptly went to find another hotel. I stayed in some awful places in my time but this one comes very close to if not at the top. Do not stay here, even if you're desperate!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_globetrotteuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The first night we arrived at the hotel (me and my wife) very tired and there was this gentleman at the reception who had some troubles speaking English, however he and the bellboy managed to change our room with a less noisy one (in the first one there was powerful humming of the nearby AC chillers even with the windows closed). The staff was very polite and nice - they were willing to assist us in was needed. We stayed for 5 or 6 nights with the breakfast included in the price.

The rest in few words:
- Breakfast: abundance of decent and pretty tasty food - pastry, warm and cold buffet - salty stuff, fruits, juices and tea and coffee with decent quality. 8/10

- Hotel room hygiene and furniture state was worn and average and i am not being very critical (the "noisy" room had a better bathroom for example) - for room maintenance see the paragraph below 5/10

- Noise from outside: be cautious! it depends which room you are taking. In the first one we couldn't hear each other if the window was open. If closed, one could just not stand for a long time in the room :) I have instantly asked for a room change and they arranged it without protest for less than 5 minutes - well done. (OMG! 0/10 first room , 5/10 second room)

- Internet: good enough for Facebook and site browsing, Youtube is skipping from time to time. Internet service was paid. 3/10 (if it wasn't paid it would've been 5/10)

- AC outlets 110/50Hz 230/50Hz hybrid US EU sockets (see pictures) For us citizens: watch out for the 230Volt sockets as they accept 110 volt flat tab US plugs!!! There is a sticker on each socket telling the voltages. 9/10 (9 because of the possibility of plugging 110 into 230V)

- Staff: as i wrote above - polite, willing to help and always there when needed. Only one of the receptionists spoke English good enough though, but this is Brazil so they don't need to :) 9/10

- Housekeeping was good enough. No security issues at all (we used the safe box in the wardrobe though) The cleaning staff uses a lot of bleach in the bathroom and it smells a bit when you get back in the evening, the toilet wasn't very well cleaned the first time we got there, but after that it was OK. The beds had some hairs in them from time to time - the cleaning ladies have obviously need to change their shampoo or start wearing bonnets :) 5/10

- Special key and lock for the in room safe box (we paid for it a daily charge). It was just big enough to contain my G530 Lenovo laptop, documents, money, wallets and a small camera.

- AC and comfort: the AC worked fine however was placed to blow air straight to the beds and we were afraid that we might get cold so we turned it off and on for a while. If it was turned off the heat (even in mid April) was starting to build-up in 10 minutes until it went unbearable. 6/10

- View hmmm...what can i say: there was light and air coming from the windows at least, but you cant see the sky:) 2/10

- Conformity to the pro. pictures in TripAdvisor is 30% 3/10

- Never tried the pool though, but boy, Rio's beaches are sooo much worth the trip:) x/10

- Location: Initially we thought we were dropped in a no go zone, however at the third day we started feeling at home and it turned out that Rio's center is just a bit different from what we're used to. The hotel is very, very close to the pyramid cathedral and to the lively area of largo da Carioca.On Friday coffee, beer and nice music on the nearby streets (other days after dark it seemed a bit unwise to stay out:) It's a walking distance away from Lapa and other interesting areas. All transport stations are within walking distance. Airport is 25-30 minutes with an experienced cab driver in the early hours of the day (5,6 o'clock). In the day it might take up to an hour. There are two decent grocery stores in the nearby street (and a porn cinema ha-ha:) 7/10

Security: initially we were set for a ghetto level of security around but later on i felt a little bit ashamed of myself for believing all that we read in the net. We kept on being vigilant and tried not to attract attention while out. During the end of our stay except the Friday we got in the hotel before 20:00h. There are some strange people and some homeless people wondering around but i've seen worse at Penn station on Manhattan,NYC. Just don't flash out expensive stuff, be wise and you'll be absolutely safe :) Stay away of transvestite beggars in Lapa and don't argue with them:)

In general: I don't know if we'd stay there if we visit Rio again, but it is far from nightmare as other here state. It's just the first night that it seems a bit frightening and unclean, but by the end of your stay you start to like it and starting to forget the aggression you built initially for not getting the same thing as in the images - it is just different and worn out.
Maybe in future they do a complete renovation, change the windows and the doors and if they keep the same guys there and teach them English it will become a great place to stay. If you don't have money enough to afford a newer hotel you'll find it good enough for a place to crash in between the absolutely great days in this marvelous city.
We had a great time in Rio De Janeiro:)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet renewed room. The rooms towards the internal "yard" are way quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IvanEIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#114 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,114 reviews
Centro
Hotel OK
Hotel OK
#149 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
380 reviews
Centro
Aeroporto Othon
Aeroporto Othon
#255 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Imperial Hotel
#125 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
250 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#152 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,929 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#158 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rios Presidente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rios Presidente Hotel

Property: Rios Presidente Hotel
Address: Rua Pedro I 19 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20060-050, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rios Presidente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rios Presidente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rios Presidente Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing