We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 start hotel by any means”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #230 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a 4 start hotel by any means”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This was probably a 4 star in 1960 but is now 2 star at best. the rooms were dated although they were clean. The pool was not usable as the filtration system wasn't working properly. The roof top terrace bar and grill is a telephone on the wall. Overpriced for what it is and with so much choice in Rio, I won't use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    340
    373
    188
    118
See reviews for
324
253
84
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The only things I liked about this hotel is the location, the controls on the bed and decent breakfast selection. As soon as we got there, the front desk guy did his best to sell us on tours and restaurants. I'm positive he's earning commission on these. We nearly committed to an all-day tour. Thank goodness he only got as far as contacting the company and giving them our names. He gave us the time and said we would be paying when it bus picked us up. Later when we walked to the beach, we found a tour office and ended up purchasing that very same tour for 60R less each person. Even after narrowly escaping being scammed, we still went up to the front desk to let them know that they should contact the company and cancel. It was a girl this time and I swear, she didn't know a single word in English. I was flabbergasted. In a city, that gets loaded with tourists, this hotel hired someone to be on front lines who couldn't speak English.
It's very easy to use the subway and cheap too. You can catch it right across the street. There are machines to purchase the metro cards from and you can just load them up again. It's only 1 stop going southbound to get down to where the nightly Copacabana market is on the beach in front of the Othon hotel. That is definitely THE place to get souvenirs at a good price. You will see the Copacabana Havaianas store on the way. Keep going south, I think a couple more stops, and you will reach Ipanema. We were there in the morning and there was a market all around that subway. Nothing really in terms of souvenirs but lots of produce and even meat.
The juice place across the street is great. Best mango juice we've ever had. You can get sandwiches and desserts too.
There's grocery stores around. I can't remember the name of the one you'll pass on the way to the beach. I thought the wine selection was decent there but I couldn't really find bags of coffee which I wanted to bring back home. I did find coffee somewhere else.
My husband and I are not big eaters. We knew going to a churrascaria would be a waste of money but obviously you gotta try it in Brazil! Luckily, our all day tour included that and it was such a great deal overall. They took us to Carretao. It was great. If you're wanting to get that kind of food without stuffing yourself to the max, they have per-kilo places where they weigh your plate. I thought that was cool. The closest one to the hotel that's like this is Siqueira Grill. It's down the street on the way to the beach. The is the one thing the front desk guy offered that we actually used. He gave us a card that would give us free drinks. I happened to notice he wrote some kind of code in it which I'm sure resulted in a commission for him. By the way, the caiprinha here is terrible.
After coming from Peru, I was really surprised there was so few friendly people in Rio. I really don't know how else to put it but I have been to a lot of places in Asia, Europe and North America and in the hospitality business, I was usually treated like my business was valued. Not so much in Brazil. Most workers in the hotel, restaurants, retail stores, etc. treated me almost like a nuisance, like their business doesn't need tourists like me. Oh you better believe I hung on to money that could have been tips for them. Not sure if the hostility was because we knew about 5 words in Portuguese...oh well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ango4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff not very smiley (apart from maintenance guys). The receptionist would indicate that they were busy and unable to help you simply by pointing at his/her colleague, not talking or even looking at you as if we were not worth talking to. Internet comes with extra cost (when it's free everywhere else, including the hostels in Lapa and McDonalds) . Swimming pool with possibly contaminated water unsuitable for swimming (in 3 days when we stayed the problem couldnt get sorted and was closed). Its not that you need it, but you will still have to pay for it. We stayed at other less star hotels, poudadas and hostels where hospitality was prevailent but not at this 4 star hotel with a very expensive price tag.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomrakkhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you feel the need to sleep in a clean bed and shower in a clean bathroom, don’t go there.
Upon arrival I was surprise by how filthy the room was; there were even hair in the bathroom’s wall (lots and lots of hair). I immediately ask the front desk manager to have someone going and cleaning up the room but, for my surprise, I was told that no one would be available till next morning. They also wouldn’t let me change the room because the hotel was fully booked (a lie, I found out later).
After much discussion, they agreed to set me in a lower standard (but cleaner) room. The hotel is very old, so there isn’t a single room in perfect condition, you must be aware of this before booking.
On the bright side, it is only a couple blocks from Copacabana’s beach.

Room Tip: It's a very expensive hostel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We booked this hotel for one night to make the transistion from a cruise ship to the airport. Great location with restuarants and the beach nearby. Approximately 4 blocks back from the beach. Near the Fort (a great place for lunch). The hotel reception arranged for a great city tour and car service to the international airport. It is not possible to see the sights as the traffic is awful and the sights are far apart by public transport unless you have alot of time. The room is basic, clean and nothing special. The breakfast was good with hot items, fruit and several bread items. The wi-fi is free not particularly fast, but adequate. The A/C is not the best but works. The bathroom was updated and spotless. The hotel kept our lounge for the day as we had a 9PM flight. Let us change and freshen up before the airport. This area is very expensive, so the hotel was good value for money but do not expect luxury.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandie-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Hotel Atlantico Copacabana is located a short walk to the beach and close to some interesting places to shop and eat. The pool is on the roof of the hotel is small, but a good view of the city can be had there. The "complimentary" breakfast was good, with lots of variety. This is a 2 to 2 1/2 star hotel at most.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

air condition unit defunct noise in room unbearable finished up changing rooms after heated exchange with reception desk location very good some services good all depended who you spoke to roof space good clean and swimming pool servived every day

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Copacabana
#109 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
865 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Travel Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Travel Copacaban...
#196 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
104 reviews
Copacabana
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Hotel
#110 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Bandeirantes
Hotel Bandeirantes
#111 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
973 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Atlantico Praia
Hotel Atlantico Praia
#149 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
589 reviews
Copacabana
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
#129 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantico Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Property: Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Address: Rua Siqueira Campos 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-072, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantico Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantico Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing