We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windsor Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oceano Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Olinda Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Toledo Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Windsor California Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grande Hotel Canada(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveler rating
296
383
93
22
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
383
93
22
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscopacabana beachtop floorrooftop poolbeach towels and umbrellaschrist the redeemerexcellent breakfast buffetsmall gymlocal barstreet noisewell located hotelcold meatsstayed here for nightsbuenos airesspoke good englishcopa cabanaexcellent locationfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 803 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I booked this property on Hotwire.com for a short trip to Rio. It was listed a 3.5 stars and that was a fair description of the property. Located just in from Post One in Copacabana the location isn't the greatest but you can walk the beach. If you want to get to anywhere in Rio though, you'll have to be content to cab it. Another Windsor property is located on the beach and is priced accordingly.

The hotel provides a free breakfast which was tasty enough. It was obviously geared to local and European tastes but there was enough there to satisfy anyone. There was also free wi-fi which should be standard at all hotels.

The room was small, but comfortable enough. The bed was older but clean, and met expectations. Better bed-sheets would have been welcome. What was impressive was the water pressure in the shower. It took a layer of skin off and when turned up I could probably use it to pressure wash my driveway. Every bath amenity you could want was provided.

The service was better than 3.5 stars but I look to the room more than I look to the how nice the bellmen are.

In short if you go into this hotel expecting 3.5 stars you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colpuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 for 2 nights.

The bedroom and bathroom were both clean and nicely presented, although the wood panelling in the bedroom was looking a bit worse for wear. Air con worked well and there was plenty of space for storing my belongings, including a safe. Comfortable double bed (not two singles pushed together). Nice flat-screen TV with plenty of stations, though BBC World and CNN news were the only English language programmes; this wasn't really an issue because who wants to spend their entire holiday in a hotel room? Generic shampoo and conditioner available with a rickety but superb hairdryer!

Great location - one block away from Copacabana beach and about a 10min walk from Copacabana Palace hotel. As a result, all the touristy places were within easy reach but without all the noise. Actually, talking about noise, I had a room on the 7th floor facing the main street with a balcony. Unfortunately, even with the door closed there was always street noise drifting into my room - I could have asked for a room transfer, but just used ear plugs and that was fine.

Metro station very close-by, with a range of shops, supermarkets and restaurants all within walking distance.

Staff were very helpful at all times, especially on the front desk and in the restaurant. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of hot and cold foods. Small selection of food in the evening restaurant with a good service from the staff. Reasonably priced caipirinhas.

My only issue is that this 4* hotel has a 'business centre' where guests have to pay for internet access. Yes, it's only 25cents per minute, but why? Also, there is no printer available, so the front desk chap and I had to do a silly dance of sending emails back and forth to each other in order to print my document (it never materialised). Come on, WPH, sort this out!

Overall, I had a pleasant stay at this hotel and would happily use it again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GKG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very noisy hotel , no guest allowed in rooms . I paid for a room with two guest , they dd not allow me to bring my guest in . I also booked a queen size bed , they gave a double bed , I have to fight the next day to get what I paid for. Will never stay in this hotel again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Ahmad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

In general the stay in Windsor Palace is good. It is clean and the room is has enough space and light.
The service of the hotel is good. They are helpful. Internet is not the fastest thing there but that's general problem in Brazil.
Breakfast is ok, nothing special but not bad.
The fitness is small and with less devices but at least they are good. The pool is small but nice area for resting.

Room Tip: As high you stay as best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackpearl2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here in March, location was ok, hotel itself is ok, breakfast is good, staff are nice and very helpful. Our first room had bed bugs, we were quickly moved, rooms are basic but ok if its just for a few days. Unfortunately accommodation along with everything else in Brazil is very expensive!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews