We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #81 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great view and clean hotel”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed two nights. For a South American hotel it's not bad. It's called a four star hotel but really a 3 star based on western standards. What can I say its clean, staff were good and had a comfortable stay and would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonnyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    667
    285
    79
    40
See reviews for
230
586
80
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecroft, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

positioned between Copacabana and ipenema beaches its the perfect spot for beach, shopping and trips to sugarloaf statue of Christ ect all close by
hotel spotless great air con helpful and pleasant staff Marcus luis auderson fernandes marcelo to name a few
pool on roof small but clean and quiet with sunbeds and with views over Copacabana beach to the sugarloaf and can see statue from there too
this was the cheapest hotel we could find on the front and did not expect it to be as good as it was
overall great value for money great place to stay perfect spot !

Room Tip: we chose cheapest room because we spent all our time out and because you have rooftop terrace with p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulhartley66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/Greece
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed at this location with colleagues for some rest and relaxation after a few days of work in Sao Paulo. We had heard all the horror stories about crime in Rio, but for the three days we were there, we did not see anything like this. Just regular nice Brazilian people and tourists in a place that looks more like vacation than normal life. Outside the hotel it was great location with small beach kiosk after beach kiosk. Ask for Franz, the German gentlemen who speaks most languages and he'll assist. Rio is not Greece (in my opinion) as I normally only rate Greece locations. But, I would come back here. But, you must get an ocean view to truly appreciate it.

Room Tip: Ocean view ONLY.... It's Rio of course :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USGuy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Standard 4 star hotel right at the noblest area in Copacabana. A bit overpriced, staff not that helpful but still a decent place. Nice swimming pool at the penthouse. Confusing regarding reservations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thiago_Earp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a good couple of nights here.
English speaking option all the time.
staff were very helpful arranging for everything, getting tickets, taxis, beaches to go (go to Ipanema....).
Breakfast simple and good.
Not line-ups in the hall as I've read before and expected.

We had an Ocean view room and worried we would not get the room reserved.
Had no problems, worth it to pay a little more for beach view in my opinion.
Room was good size.

Pool very tiny, tiny, tiny. Don't expect to spend a lot of time there.
Exercise room also very, very tiny.
Go battle the waves at Ipanema beach instead for exercise.

Cheers,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Beds were comfortable but rooms were quite small. The rooms featured nice modern touches. The hotel is located across the street from the Copacabana beach. Staff were very helpful in arranging several tours for us. The breakfast (included in our rate) was good. There is a small rooftop pool with nice views of Copacabana. Would recommend if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCguy20002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Many years ago I was an AFS student who was blessed to live with a Brazilian family in Leblon for a year. This February I returned (not for the first time) to Rio, with a group of friends for Carnaval. Three of us shared a room on the 12th floor. I expected two beds and a cot, but we had three single beds, arranged along one long wall. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The room was not big, but it was adequate, and there was an ocean peek from the one small window. The a/c worked well, and the bathroom had a good shower with fine water pressure and decent towels (two items that are not always up to par in Brasil). The breakfast was very nice; good coffee, lots of fresh fruits, juices, pastries, breads, cheeses, meats, and scrambled eggs (I didn't eat eggs though) which is included in the price of the room. I ate dinner in the hotel two nights, and it was good (although the fish was a little too salty) inexpensive, and convenient. The dining room service was friendly and responsive. Internet was very intermittent, and did not work at all in the room. The pool is about 6 feet x 6 feet--only kids used it, but the rooftop deck where the pool is located has a great view. This is not a luxury property, but it exceeded my expectations based on the other reviews I read on TripAdvisor. Having lived in Rio, the only reason I went during Carnaval is that that is what my friends wanted. I prefer Carnaval in a small town, and I prefer Rio any time other than Carnaval.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serenetravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#39 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#55 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#49 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orla Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orla Copacabana Hotel

Property: Orla Copacabana Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orla Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orla Copacabana Hotel is just off famous Copacabana beach, a half-mile from Ipanema Beach and downtown Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Highlights at include hotel-wide complimentary WiFi Internet access, a rooftop swimming pool, poolside bar, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orla Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orla Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Orla Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing