We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Copacabana beach ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oceano Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #272 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and spoke English fluently.
Rooms were comfortable and we had a good view of New Years Eve on the beach from our balcony.
The air conditioner was noisy and rattled and the bathroom requires a good cleaner, this may be made easier if renovated.
Hotel management are not at all flexible if you need to change your travel plans (I tried to cancel an extra night that didn't suit my flight plans) and even with a months notice would not accept a variation of a booking.
Normal Sth American buffet breakfast of fruit and cakes.
Overall, great location for the price and the age of the hotel, but would benefit from auditing the cleaners to ensure the rooms are being cleaned properly.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Dickyrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Checked in off the street due to closeness to a good hotel that was booked out. This is the worst service and crappy hotel I've been in in 19 years of South American business and pleasure traveling. My room wasn't even cleaned even after returning at 10pm and requesting it done. We went to bar across the street until midnight to give them time to do it and when returned or wasn't done. We asked for the key and took 15 mins to get back into the room still dirty. They also over charged on my credit card and haven't been able to return the money. STAY AWAY from this place!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank DuncanHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I don't even know where to begin. The only good thing about this hotel is their photoshop skills, because the reality is so much worse than the official pictures. The rooms were small and hadn't been renovated for decades. The corridors were cramped, dark and musty (the only place which looks nice is, surprise surprise, the reception). The breakfast seemed acceptable at first, but the lack of variety finally gets to you. The staff were rather rude, at least those who spoke some English. Those who did not just shrugged, and one time the porter had to explain to me where the bus stop was, because the receptionist didn't understand what I was saying (maybe management should switch these two guys' jobs). And on top of it all, it's so ridiculously expensive.

I would never return there, nor would I recommend it to anyone, and actually I'm a bit reluctant about hotels in Copacabana in general. I would much rather try a hotel farther away from the beach, or better yet ditch Rio altogether and spend some time in the more beautiful and laid-back areas around it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrei_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had to stay one night before flying back to UK after a congress. and paid over £150.
Cranky elevator and when you emerge into darkness, the lights take 5 seconds to come on.
Small, dark, pokey room with view of the backs of other buildings. Didn't look very clean and very noisy air conditioning unit.
Narrowest bed I have slept on in a long time.
Breakfast was OK.
Roof terrace gives great view of beach. Sun loungers looked more comfortable than my bed.

Room Tip: find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGNorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It´s synthetize what´s the worst in a hotel service. None of the amenities are included in the rate.
The breakfast is poor. They don´t clean the bedroons. The people who work there are unfriendly and bad trained. The have a hard work to do if they want to make it worth the price we pay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MateusT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

PLEASE! If you are traveling from the states you should NOT consider this hotel ,They are totally in the dark about what good Costumer Service is "Actually I think the dont even understand that concept" Once I booked this Hotel there was no turning back...They made it impossible to move to another....Very shady I think,The almost feel like we have to be there..I had thee most horrible time 9 days of sheer hell the last 2 days i was able to check out and therefore had 2 good nights at least..Furniture is broken ..mold in bathrooms lamps that have rust on it...Creepy to think about it I am not used to those so third world conditions.In a nut shell HORRIFIC place to be.Staff needless to say rude and arrogant maybe the bag handlers were a bit more pleasant but really does that matter??They have no idea of what it is a Hotel in US if you pay top dollar is.Again I cant stress enough how bad thius place is.made my vacation sheer hell.The most rude and arrogant staff and all in there is old or broken or leaking you name it

Room Tip: A good room in this Hotel NO WAY I do have photos to share at a later day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed there for 7 days and had problems with the wifi everyday,after several complaints management lied saying they called maintenance, but they didn't and we lost days of work because of wifi
Hotel is not clean, loads of maintenance issues, noisy due to maintenance on our floor, breakfast food is cheap, bed linen is very warn out, old air conditioning.
Hotel has potential, with nice swimming pool at the top floor, nice location, but doesn't deserve the 4 stars at all, I would give it a 2 star rate, management is rubbish and staff doesn't seem to care.

Room Tip: Our bedroom was to the front with a balcony and view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guestRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,073 reviews
Copacabana
Toledo Copacabana Hotel
Toledo Copacabana Hotel
#220 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
252 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#101 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Apa Hotel
Apa Hotel
#131 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
467 reviews
Copacabana
Royalty Rio Hotel
Royalty Rio Hotel
#144 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
160 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
#244 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Copacabana Hotel

Address: Rua Hilario de Gouveia 17 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22040-021, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $57 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceano Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceano Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oceano Copacabana
Oceano Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing