We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient Copa hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirasol Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #101 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Conveniently-located, not excessively pricey. Took several attempts to connect to wifi, and then had to re-login after going outside of the range. The bathroom ceiling is just a wooden grid, so you can see the pipes above, electrical wiring, etc (all painted black). I thought that was kind of a lazy effort. No view whatsoever from our room, unless you are attracted to concrete walls.

Staff was friendly enough. Did not make it to pool/bar. It served the purpose, a place to sleep in Rio convenient enough to walk to the beaches.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 634 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Good location , great pool and view from last floor
Overall a good option and well located in Copacabana with a relatively good price
Avoid staying in low level floors
AC was very noisy and cleaning trucks early morning might wake u up
Staff was friendly and Celia manager was great.

Room Tip: choose upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lempes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are pretty basic, not too spacious, no fancy decorations but fairly confortable.Slightly overpriced by international standard,as to be expected with the location. Staff is excellent, welcoming, specially the front desk lady, Renata,warmingly friendly, multi lingual and incredibly helpful, made the stay all the more agreable...We followed the previous reviews and asked for a top floor (we got the 10th) room...no traffic noise, AC wasn't as terrible as described, wish we had more variety on the cable tv, bathroom clean. Tiny gym with 4 or 5 machines at the top floor was too lazy to even try, pool pretty small as pictured but what's the use when u have the beach couple meters away? Down side is the breakfast buffet, was good at first with a pretty fair variety...but after 3 days got rapidly tired of the same old menu the same items cooked and presented identically during all the 10 day stay..was not a good experience to wake up to, and it was over at 10 am so better wake up early enough...Overall a good experience that I wouldn't mind reliving if only they could be more creative on the breafast menu and change it a bit from time to time

1  Thank Carlo J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked this hotel as a overnight stay so all we expected was a nice clean bed - plus got it at a cheap price on an offer.

We were pleasantly surprised. It is one block away from the main Avenida Atlantica, and from our rooms we could see the Copacabana Palace hotel on the main Avenida.

We had two adjoining rooms, and there was an interconnecting door. Our room had a small "entrance hall" with a table and chair- great for extra space. The rooms are very spacious, nice clean modern bathrooms (our bath had a jacuzzi in it, though we didn't have time to see if it worked! The kids room had a shower, but this was nice and modern too).
The restaurant seemed good and there was a good breakfast buffet (fruits, cakes, breads, cold meats, fresh juices etc).

Reception staff were very friendly and all spoke good English (not always found in Brazil) and our only problem was ordering room service at 11pm as the room service staff couldn't speak English- easily solved when reception sent up a bellboy to take our order.

If I was staying longer, I wouldn't have minded staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid street traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timeshareowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Agree with others that Mirasol is not 4 star by European standards, but nevertheless, we had a comfortable stay with great food and helpful, friendly service. Got a triple too, with 3 single beds. Spotlessly clean room, brilliant shower and sumptuous breakfast were highlights. Lowlights were the noisy aircon and the long waits and random stops with the lift. Roof terrace with pool and gym were lovely, if small, and the location is a perfect base for exploring the city. Copacabana beach (2 mins), Ipanema beach (40 mins), Sugar Loaf Mountain (50 minutes) all within walking distance, and all attractions are a reasonable taxi, bus or metro ride away. Would definitely come back here, but might look at the Ipanema area first next time, as this is slightly more up-market from Copacabana. A tip for would-be visitors to the Cristo and Sugar Loaf attractions: queues can be massive if you don't get there early, especially at weekends! A tip for the drinkers: use the beach bars for stronger measures and cheaper prices! And a tip for all: buy most of your currency there, as youu'll get a much better rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Daishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel switching from another hotel where my fiancee had a room for work. We decided for this hotel to finish our week end in Rio.
We were very welcoming, even had an upgrade. The room was nice, quite old fashioned from the 70s but ok. The bed very comfortable, clean and a great breakfast.
The two problems we had was the noise of the air conditioning. Was old, very noisy that we only could have it on for 10 minutes. Then was impossible to sleep, and in Rio you need air conditioning! How such a hotel like this have such and old machine. There are new all over in the market, not noise, reduced power used, etc. And the Wifi did not work properly in the room. Was really anoyng.
The rest, was ok.It has a nice terrace with a pool, which we never used.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with low level of air con noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AriBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Despite typical Brazilian four stars looks like European or US 3-star hotels, this one makes its best efforts to keep up with its star rating. I had a double room overlooking the front street. Room was decent size, furniture quite simple, yet clean and well maintained. Decent size buffet breakfast and proactive service. Front desk has a girl speaking who-knows-how-many languages, so you feel at home. Over all, an unexpected four star experience, to repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LukeOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,072 reviews
Copacabana
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
#81 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,502 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#42 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#92 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
640 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#36 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
768 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
#61 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirasol Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirasol Copacabana Hotel

Address: Rua Rodolfo Dantas 86, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $69 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirasol Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Mirasol Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mirasol Copacabana
Mirasol Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing