We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$609
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Transamerica Prime Barra(Rio de Janeiro)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pestana Rio Atlantica(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$98
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Regina(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$56
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$115
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Atlantico Rio(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$47
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$522
$473
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
660
566
190
52
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
566
190
52
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprincesa isabelvery pleased with our staymeat and cheeselocation is brilliantshort walk from the beachbig bedfresh towelsmain roadspacious roomthe hotel staffcheap hotelstayed two nightsfew blocksnice hotelrio experiencecopacabanaroof
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Merlin Copacaban was a nice finding for me after so many years of spending lotsa money staying in front of the beach. For a business trip it is ideal. Good, spacious rooms, very good breakfast and a nice restaurant. Staff is friendly enough, and you are a few blocks from Copacabana beach and in a good position to access downtown Rio by taxi. Worth a try.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room in the back, overlooking the greenery of the mountain.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTPalazzoJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed in so many Copa hotels and can categorically state that unless you are willing to pay $300 for a room, most hotels are like the Merlin with great staff but dated everything else and very expensive.

I went there for a week during a business trip. The positives: I liked the location, Copacabana is very old with dated but Prince Isabel Avenue worked greatly for me. This area has unkept architecture but great pubs and quanit restaurants and it is also nice to have a place 30 seconds from the beach for a daily jog. It is also easy to take a $10 cab to downtown with no stop lights on the way. The staff was as old as the hotel but very nice and helpful.

The negatives were that the room they gave me had a loud (those central type vents) A/C that kept up me up; to make it worse, no wifi in my room. The sheets and towels were clean but old and used up adding to the unpleasant feeling of paying $150 for what?

Room Tip: Dont stay in the rooms facing the Avenue, at 6:30am the noise starts. I stayed in rooms ending with 02 (front) before changing for rooms staying in 12 (better). Choose those.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia Brum F, Reservations On Line at Merlin Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to know how was your stay at Merlin Copacabana Hotel, as well as suggestions to better serve you in your future lodging.

Please, provide a minute of your time to share your review, your opinion is very important to us.

Again thank you for choosing the Merlin Copacabana hotel, hope you come back again soon.

Sincerely,

Merlin Copacabana Hotel

Flávia B. Furtado – Reservas On Line
E-mail:mercadoeletronico@redemerlinn.com.br
Tel.(21) 2132-1019 – (21) 2132-1000
End.Av. Princesa Isabel, nº392
Rio de Janeiro – RJ. Brasil
Cep.:22.011-010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel has marble floors, gold platings and lots of mirrors. It is like walking into a hotel from the 50s. Our room was clean and spacious. However, the bathroom smelled like urine and our shower leaked onto the floor so there was a huge puddle of water when you got out. Valeria, a receptionist, spoke excellent English and was very helpful. The other receptionists, not so much. Wifi is NOT free. The breakfast which was included had variety and was good. However, the waiters seemed in a hurry for us to leave and would not let us take any food to our rooms.
The room service was fast but the soup tasted weird one time....
I personally would go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jopasto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my wife whilst she was on a business trip in July 2013. The hotel lobby is very posh and one gets the impression of a 4+ star hotel. Yet the room is quite ordinary, with somewhat shabby furniture and not particularly good views (as compared to another stay at another hotel further south in Copacabana, where we could lie on our beds in the room looking straight at the Christ the Redeemer statue!).

The shower/bathroom was not of a very good standard, either.

The breakfast, though, was quite good for Brazil (although we have had much better breakfasts on other trips around the world).

All in all this hotel deserves little more than a 3/5.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axeforro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was a rather shabby hotel in a part of town that's seen better days. Rooms were dark with worn out fixtures and fittings. While only a few blocks walk to the beach, it's along a busy road and not an area that very welcoming, especially at night. Checked out early & moved to a hotel in Ipenema beach. For the same money, a much better place to stay with a better quality hotel and a much better atmosphere around it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingston-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews