We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms need updating but otherwise good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #28 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rooms need updating but otherwise good”
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at the Merlin Copacabana for a long weekend in March, The staff were lovely and very helpful and the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the beach and from the Rio Sul shopping centre. It's easy to get around on foot but busses are easy to find on the beachfront too. The rooftop pool was also great for a quick cool-off in the evening.

The rooms however could do with updating It was basic but clean. The restaurant menu was also pretty basic and we found that we ate out most of the time.

All in all, our trip was pleasant but not 5 stars.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    490
    177
    46
    18
See reviews for
316
398
47
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester,UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Just returned from a cruise holiday to Brazil,Uraguay and Argentina. We stayed at the Merlin for one night before the cruise and were very pleased with our stay there. The staff were all friendly and our room was ready on arrival although we arrived well before the usual check in time. We had a front room on the 8th floor and although you could hear the traffic a little it did not bother us at all.We were in walking distance of the beach and despite scary reports on the internet we felt very safe in the area. Good restaurant accross the road-Cervantes- great sandwiches. We booked an afternoon trip to Corcovado and on the saturday morning walked through the Botofago tunnel and around to Sugar Loaf mountain- about 30 min walk. Reports said that the tunnel is not safe but there appeared to be many people using it. Wouldn't recommend at night though. Rio Sull shopping centre just on the other side of the tunnel.
All in all if you are looking for a hotel near to the beach with a good buffet breakfast and convenient for reataurants and sightseeing then the Merlin is really good value for money

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Serdi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I had never gone to this hotel before, so I didn't know what to expect. It was a wonderful surprise. The place was so much better than any hotels I'd been to in the area before. (Even though there are others that are also very nice.)

The building is very beautiful all around and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. The service is perfect as well.
The pool and sauna on the top floor are wonderful, I was so delighted to discover they had that.
Having your lunch served under the carioca sun on the side of the pool is amazing, especially with the nice view and the delicious caipirinhas.

We walked down the beach of Copacabana after lunch, it's just steps away. There are some great restaurants along the beach also, you don't need to drive or anything if you feel like going there for dinner, it's really only steps away, you just stroll down and pick one. (I recommend Marius, their seafood is still one of the most remarkable in Rio, and out of this world delicious.)

Breakfast at the hotel was great as well, with a huge selection of foods, the more international kind as well as more traditional Brazilian things. Yummy!!

I'll happily go there again next time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soramimimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

I satyed here for 9 days, whilst on buisiness in Rio.
The staff are friendly enough, the breakfast is great, but the rooms are more hostel like.
I have stayed in much nicer Bed and Breakies.
The rooms are very basic. I stayed on both floor 9 and 7 and the rooms were exactly the same.
Small, dark and basic.
The bed was comfy enough, the sheets clean, but the overall cleanliness was lacking. The tiled floors, were feeling grubby and the bedside mats felt dirty and sticky, (yuck)! and I put these away soon after my arrival.
I'm 6'2" and the room felt small and dark. The bathroom was basic and lacked the feel of the 4 star expected.
Would I stay here again?
No! I found several holtels of a similar price, close by, but much much ncer.
The breakfast was great and the rooftop pool w.as okay, but cold.
If you are looking for a vacation hotel, don't bother here

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popplestones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

To make this review in all fairness, the hotel is well rennovated inside and well maintained.
The staff is polite and professional but just the strict necessary. Not everyone there speaks english, some of the staff speak no english at all, which can make things a bit harder to get information. To get information from the staff on the city and where to go etc, they only provide the necessary tourist standard data.
The internet cafe is several blocks away, which is quite an inconvenience.
The location is not the greatest, its far from the beach, a 10 minute walk, and the area is not safe to walk in after dark.
This means you have to spend a fortune to go around by taxis. It is quite a walk to the metro stop like 10-15 minutes, and the streets leading up to the metro can be quite sketchy even if you are walking in the morning and in broad day light.
The breakfast is definitely nothing to write home about.
Although our stay there was good, we would not return to that hotel.
Also it is the only hotel that charged us extra to use the safe, there was a daily charge to use the safe that was not included in the room rate. And this information was not divulged to us prior to arrival.
Safe travels!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montreal_Traveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Two nights in Merlin to visit Rio
Good location, walking distance from the beach
However, located on the main avenue between Copacabana and the Center, no isolation, so terrible traffic all day and night. Moreover, 11th floor is right under the machinery of the swimming pool, so terrible noise of the pump. Extremely noisy.
Breakfast average.
Staff very smart and reactive, but can do nothing about noise...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneFred92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herrenberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed from Easter Friday until Easter Monday 2010 in the hotel. I didn't feel as an honored guest. The hotel isn't well managed and maintained. The reception staff behaved unprofessional. In the room the cabinet wasn't cleaned and full with dust. The LCD TV was defect. The heavy mirror cabinet door was only fixed with one hinge and only after repeated complaints the hotel fixed it. When we returned to the hotel the room door was left open. Each morning started with construction noises from the floor above. I called several times the reception desk got the answer that "the hotel has to run reformings". Only after several complaints they stopped the reforming, but each day the same procedure. One of the elevators was out of use and the last day the other one too. I am travelling now for 15 years to Rio de Janeiro and it was my first and last stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StadlerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Best Western Plus Copacabana Design Hotel
Best Western Plus Copacabana Des...
#39 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Copacabana
Acapulco Copacabana
Acapulco Copacabana
#29 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#58 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#20 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin Copacabana Hotel

Property: Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel N0 392 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Merlin Copacabana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Merlin Copacabana Hotel! In the heart of Rio de Janeiro at the world-famous Copacabana Beach, the Merlin Copacabana Hotel is ideally placed just minutes away from Rio's business district, tourist attractions, leisure and shopping areas. On business or holiday, guests will enjoy all the amenities needed to make their trip a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merlin Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Merlin Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing