We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #75 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed 3 times in the hotel during September. We booked this hotel mainly because it is located in a safe area near the Ipanema beach and we were pleasantly surprised.
Rio was our base from which we traveled to north and southern Brazil and we were always happy to come back to this hotel.
The location is indeed perfect, just 2 blocks (2 min) from the beach and on a central street with lots of shops and restaurants. Also there is a big supermarket right across the street.
The hotel restaurant served excellent breakfasts. We also ate lunch there which was also good – you could choose to eat from their buffet for 25 Real per person. In lunch and dinner the restaurant was almost full.
After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we asked in advance to be given a room on a higher floor and they accepted our requests. We stayed one time on the 10th floor and one time on the 11th floor from which we had some view of the bay and the Corcovado. I must say that even on these floors there is still some noise from the busy street during the day but nothing that bothered us and at night it was very quite.
There are two types of rooms: standard and superior, which were very clean and comfortable, and we stayed in both of them. There is no actual difference between them except the price… We even more liked the standard room.
Front desk staff was professional and spoke fluent English. They were happy to answer any question we had.
The hotel has a computer station near the front desk and also free Wi-Fi connectivity which we used in the room.
Our comments are regarding the hotel concierge service: at first we ordered our taxis from them. They were calling drivers they knew and gave us a fix price. One time we took this taxi to the Corcovado and although were given a fix price the meter was running (the meter was running also during our 1 hour tour there). When we returned to the hotel the meter showed much less amount than the fixed price and the driver was exchanging money with the concierge… Since then we just took our taxies from the street and our advice to you is to do the same.
To conclude – we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel and considering its rate and other hotels in the area we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveler_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    590
    193
    38
    28
See reviews for
181
488
91
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Having stayed in many other places in Rio, it's hard to criticize Mar Ipanema. It's not a fancy hotel, but the service is OK, the location is among the best in Rio and it's cheaper than many older hotels. Disclaimer: I stayed there on a short business trip, so I was more focused on having a reasonable place to stay than actually enjoying the hotel facilities.

I got a room with two single beds, the beds were quite narrow but not particularly uncomfortable. Being on the 7th floor, I was not bothered by noise, despite the hotel location in front of a busy avenue. The room was simple, functional, not very big. It had a useful desk, but the space between the bed and the desk was just enough for the chair. Mini-bar is under the desk. Wireless Internet access was already included in the rate and it worked fine.

The bathroom was simple, clean and uncluttered, but the towel rail should be closer to the shower.

Nothing remarkable about the service, although I was called on the last evening to be reminded to check-out at noon...

You have Devassa Bar & Restaurant – a well-known local brewery – just in front of the reception. I had breakfast and buffet lunch there, both were good. In the streets near the hotel you'll find the trendiest shops and restaurants in Rio. You will not get ocean view to the gorgeous Ipanema beach, but a short 200-metres walk will take you there.

This is not a hotel to impress your customers, but if you do business either in Leblon or Ipanema, it's unlikely you will find a more conveniently placed hotel on the same price range.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlavioCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

The Mar Ipanema Hotel was a lovely hotel in a good location in Ipanema. It's situated on the shopping street about 2 blocks from the beach. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. There was free w-fi in all rooms or free computer access in reception. Breakfast was included in the rate and the selection was very good. The staff were friendly too. Would totally recommend this hotel for a visit to Rio. Good value for money for Ipanema!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2009

The hotel is ideally located in the heart of Ipanema, between the Lagoon and the beach, on a very busy street. It feels safe to walk around to either side, Leblon or Copacabana, and it is a really nice neighborhood with lots of restaurants, bars, stores, etc. The rooms are on the small side but clean and well appointed with tv, radio, minibar, internet, safe, and toiletries. The staff is nice and efficient. The only negative about this place is the noise. We were on the 9th floor and you could still hear the street noise. Also, our bathroom window was connected to the room next door so again that was loud as you could hear everything in the other bathroom. Otherwise it's a great place with a fantastic restaurant (Devassa) downstairs and their breakfast buffet was also really good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed at the Mar Ipanema as part of a Rio Stopover tour that I booked with a company I found online called Chimu Adventures. I really liked the hotel as it was a perfect location right near the beach and felt like a nice and safe neighbourhood. The staff were pleasant as well and breakfast was plentiful. The tours we went on as part of our stopover were very nice as well and was great not to worry about using the public transport or trying to navigate to Sugar Loaf by ourselves. All in all stay at the Mar Ipanema for good value and location.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maggie457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

Small but adequate rooms. Clean. Helpful front desk staff. Good breakfast. Room fridge.
Lots of bad hotels in Rio but this one is OK.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mullaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for five nights in November 2008. We had a regular double room. The room was OK, nice and clean, but we would loved to have a balcony.

The hotel is located in one of the best and safest areas in Rio de Janeiro, close to Ipanema Beach - only a two minute walk. It is also excellent shopping possibillities right outside the door.

We enjoyed the free wireless internet in the room. The staff was friendly and helpfull with tour bookings.

The hotel was maybe a little overpriced, but accomodation is not very cheap in Rio de Janeiro anyway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hblil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#10 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#43 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#113 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#18 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Property: Mar Ipanema Hotel
Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing