We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect hotel and location. Ipanema and Lagoa.”
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #82 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

A small boutique hotel with perfect location. Has free and powerful wifi, modern, sleek, and confortable rooms, and the best location in Rio: two short blocks away from a beautiful Ipanema beach.
I loved!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luci912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your complete review and for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your recent stay in Rio de Janeiro.

I’m glad you enjoyed our updated rooms. We refurbished all rooms and we are proud to let you know that we are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Leblon/Ipanema districts. Our rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, split A/Cs, Ipod docks and many other items so as to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay.

Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.

In regard of the complimentary wifi access, I would like to add that few hotels in Rio offer this amenity to guests. Wifi access may cost up to R$ 60,00 per day at hotels in Rio.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,190)
There are newer reviews for Mar Ipanema Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 1,190 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

We only stayed 3 nights and eventually moved to the Everest Rio Hotel. The room was just too small for a couple. The air conditioner was a split-type but the compressor was on the wall right next to the bed so it woke me up every time the compressor kicked in. The hotel does have a nice, private roof deck bar which is usually empty so a nice spot for an evening drink although the cocktails are expensive. Breakfast in the attached restaurant was OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room type.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on Mar Ipanema Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience here on Trip Advisor!

I’m disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our room. But I do believe that you found it cozy, at least, since our rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Split A/Cs, complimentary wi-fi and many other items to provide our guests a comfortable stay.

It’s nice to read that you enjoyed our rooftop, which we inaugurated just after carnival, together with our gym and sauna! Did you enjoy the view to Lagoa?

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We are a family of 7 adults stayed in Mar Ipanema hotel in 4 rooms for 5 nights during the latter part of the World Cup. This a simple but clean and affordable hotel with an extremely convenient location two short blocks away from a beautiful beach. Their English speaking staff were very helpful and friendly. Ipanema is where you want to be when in Rio. We visited Copacabana few times. There is no comparison; Ipanema is considerably more upscale. There are plenty of very nice restaurants within walking distance. A very hip restaurant shares the building with the hotel which makes a late night snack or drink very convenient. Breakfast is average. The rooftop bar has a fantastic view of the lake. We will back for the Olympics and will reserve rooms early at the Mar Ipanema hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much in consideration our guests’ reviews in order to improve our services. Complete reviews like yours’ are just fantastic for us to do so.

I’m glad you had a great time at our property during the World Cup. It sure was an exciting period to be in Rio de Janeiro. Did you get to see any games at the Maracanã stadium?

Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town. Also, I couldn’t agree more with concerning the differences between Ipanema and Copacabana.

In regard of our staff, please be sure that all congratulate all of our front desk staff personally! I’m happy to know that they were efficient and helpful as always.

Concerning our prices, please note that although our property is 100% renovated and located in an exclusive residential area of Rio de Janeiro, our prices are usually 20-30% lower than beachfront hotels.

I’m thrilled to read that you enjoyed our rooftop, which we inaugurated just after carnival, together with our gym and sauna!

Once again, I would like to thank you very much for your complete and amazing review. We look forward for having you and your family again with us during the Olympic Games!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the World Cup and we loved it! Service was incredibly friendly, the hearty breakfast kept us going all day long, free and powerful wifi, modern, sleek, and confortable rooms, and the best location in Rio! Would definitely return!!! Loved it!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave an evaluation of your recent stay at the Mar Ipanema Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We were happy to learn, that you found our hotel modern and comfortable and that especially the central location in Ipanema was to your liking.

We would be grateful to welcome you back to Mar Ipanema Hotel if you come to visit Rio de Janeiro again.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

A small boutique hotel on a busy street. Beach is only 2 blocks away. Same breakfast menu daily. Ask for a higher room to avoid noise from the street though the room facing the street is better view. A bit overpriced for the room but in ipanema you dont have many choice for accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaChanddra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel your stay in Rio de Janeiro. I hope you had a great time.

Our location is no less than unbeatable. Two short blocks away from the marvelous Ipanema beach and surrounded by Rio’s best restaurants and finest shops, Mar Ipanema Hotel offers its guest the perfect location to discover what the city has best.

About the noise, please notice that we are also currently replacing all of the rooms’ windows to soundproof windows, in order to provide our guests an even better night's sleep.

Once again, I would like to thank you very much for your review. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much our guests’ feedback in consideration in order to improve our services and receiving complete reviews like yours is really helpful. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The only good thing about this place is the location. A couple minutes walking distance from the beach. We stayed here during the world cup. The prices were ridiculously high. Rooms were dated. The towels were terrible quality. Beds were uncomfortable. The breakfast was disappointing. They had the windows open in our room when we checked in so there were mosquitos! At least they got us some mosquito repellant plug ins, but still.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svpepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. I hope you had a great time.

Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.

I’m disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our room. But I do believe that you found it cozy since our rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Split A/Cs, complimentary wi-fi and many other items to provide our guests a comfortable stay.

Concerning our prices, I kindly add that the World Cup Rates were exceptionally high due to over the roof demand. Also, it is worth mentioning that our rates are usually 20-30% smaller than the beachfront hotels, even though our hotel is entirely refurbished.

We hope to see you again soon and provide a better experience!

Best regards,
Henrique de Abreu

Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am not saying do not stay here. If you have never been to Rio, just know that you are paying a lot more here and getting less. This $220 dollar room would go for $100 in most other Brazil cities.
Location is fabulous, just blocks from the beach (post 10, perfect) and blocks to the lagoon. 7 blocks to the metro, so you will be mobile. Nice restaurants and shops abound, supermarket one block away. Great breakfast with juices, fruits, eggs, breads, etc..
My room with a queen bed was small, basic, with a small functional bathroom with a killer shower. Overall average room in fabulous location. Do not ignore the lagoon, a 4 ish mile walk, or rent a bike and circle the lagoon, then head out to beach. We liked the place

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jengel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. I hope you had a great time.

Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.

I’m happy to know you found our breakfast delicious. Did you try the Brazilian delicacies that are served there, such as pão-de-queijo, matte as well as tropical fruits?

Concerning our prices, please note that although our property is 100% renovated and located in an exclusive residential area of Rio de Janeiro, our prices are usually 20-30% lower than beachfront hotels.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#87 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,533 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,418 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#77 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#41 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,726 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#24 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
272 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $112 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing