We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mar Ipanema Hotel-Review”
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #80 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mar Ipanema Hotel-Review”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel in late April 2013.
Hotel staff was very friendly. Knowledgeable of surrounding area, tourist sites etc. Hotel was literally 2 blocks from the beach ! very nice, and right in the heart of the Ipanema shopping area , also very nice and convenient to walking to the beautiful neihborhing Leblon area, but a little bit of a hike if you wanted to walk to Copacabana.
Room was ok, barewood floor could have used a nice rug to soften it up , bathroom was VERY small, I literally had to step out from the bathroom to dry myself off. ( my friends bathroom was much larger)
Would have been nice if they provided face/wash clothes, as it was they only provided hand towels and the larger towels. It did have a nice bidet hose next to the toilet for your cleaning pleasure.
Room could definitely used more AC outlets to charge your devices. As it was, I had to charge one of my 2 phones, in the bathroom ( not ideal)
Hotel / room had free wifi-big plus , and a nice ipod docking station/clock radio /speakers, to listen to your tunes.
Complimentary breakfast was provided by the hotel in the adjoining hotel next door.
Complimentary beach towels, and chairs etc. was a nice touch .
All in all...pretty good hotel, for the price. Bare bones, no frills but very close to the beach and restaurants/ shopping area.
I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel has " city " views and no swimming pool or fitness area . but comp wifi and is 2 blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farfrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest;

We couldn't be happier about your review! Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services and our prime location!

Nonetheless, please accept our apologies for any inconviniences you might have had with the size of the bathroom and charging your electrical equipments. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive from our guests as it helps us in improving the service that we can give our future guests.

Thank you once again for taking your time to send us your feedback on your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Rio de Janeiro!

Kind regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    596
    198
    39
    28
See reviews for
191
490
92
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A short stay in Rio before travelling to Sao Paolo for a friends wedding and this was a great little find. Rooms are pretty basic but fine for a short stay, good size bathroom and everything was clean. Staff on the desk were helpful and the Devassa bar attached to the hotel was good for food and drinks. This was also where we had breakfast which was nice - enough to set you up for the day! I would recommend this for a stay in Rio and was actually one of the cheapest in the city ( where everything is expensive by the way!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giraffeeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and compliments. I’m glad to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel.
Nice to know that our front desk staff was helpful. I’ll congratulate them personally!
I’m really glad you enjoyed our Armazém Devassa restaurant, where breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks, including beers from the Devassa microbrewery are served. Did you have any of those?
Concerning our prices, please note that although our property is 100% renovated and located in an exclusive residential area of Rio de Janeiro, our prices are usually 20-30% lower than beachfront hotels.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you soon!
Best wishes,
Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Mar Ipanema. Good location, walking distance to beach. Clean. Our room must have been one that was remodeled as clean, modern, and well kept. Front desk was extremely helpful in securing reservations for handglidding! Which was great I must say! Would recommend and stay again.
DeVassa resturaunt attached....has excellent food!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much in consideration our guests’ reviews in order to improve our services.
Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.
I’m glad you liked our rooms as well. We are glad to say that Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only entirely refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. All rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Ipod Docks, and may other amenities to provide our guests a comfortable stay.
I would like to thank you very much for your compliments on our staff, glad to know they helped you out efficiently. I’ll make sure to personally congratulate them!
Best regards,
Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

very good hotel in great location. rooms were a good size and very comfortable. staff were helpful and attanded to any queries very promptly. great breakfast in the devassa cafe next door.
easy walk to the beach and the hotel provide parasols and towells etc if requested
we felt very safe in ipanema and would receommend this area and hotel to anyone planning a trip to rio

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It is a great pleasure to know you have enjoyed the services we provide! We are delighted you really appreciated the comfort of the room, as well as our great location! We're also glad you have enjoyed our breakfast at Armazém Devassa; it is actually a chance guests have to try typical Brazilian dishes such as tapioca, rabanada, pão de queijo, coconut bread, queijo de minas and tropical fruits!

We thank you once again for taking your time to give us a such a great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the Mar Ipanema Hotel anytime soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just checked into the Mar Ipanema Hotel. Was absolutely lured by the nice pictures in the website, but reality is very bad. The hotel is old and not well cared for. Also the price is totally over rated: us$270!! For this price, in many other places you can stay in very good hotels. A total disappointment!!!

Room Tip: Ask which is the room that appears in the website pictures ... those might be the only ones a bit ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Paula,

It is with great surprise that we read your comments on Mar Ipanema Hotel. As in our neighborhood most hotels are named after "Ipanema", we truly believe that ours was not the hotel you meant to rate here on Trip Advisor. We are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon, and all of our rooms are equipped with 32" LCD TVs, iPod docks, free complimentary wi-fi internet access, and many other amenities. We understand that sometimes it could be difficult to find a brand new hotel in Rio de Janeiro, but that is honestly not our case and we take pride on that.

Regarding our rates, we are located only two short blocks away from Ipanema beach, in a really up-scale residential area of Rio de Janeiro, and still we are roughly 20-30% cheaper than other hotels in the same area.

Confident that this was an honest mistake, we send you our best regards and invite you to stay with us next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this hotel which we chose based on reviews, price and location.

Our room (#705), though not huge, was well-designed, extremely functional and very comfortable.

There was plenty of room for our suitcases (which were out of the way so we weren’t tripping over them), a great king-size bed, nice compact bathroom and a powerful, hot shower.

Our room had a small “entry” with a desk, refrigerator and closet. The bed was extremely comfortable with very fine cotton sheets and wonderful duvets that were light yet warm. Also, the air-conditioning, which was needed, worked great.

The location in Ipanema was perfect – on a main street with a corner restaurant/bar where we enjoyed our nightly caiprihna. (This is also where the delicious breakfast is served.)

Some people mentioned street noise – this did not bother us at all – we were so exhausted from the day that we slept like babies.

Finally, the staff were very friendly – especially Emerson and Giorgio who greeted us every night with a smile!

We’d highly recommend the Mar Ipanema when in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 122793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services and our prime location! In fact, a review like this is a motivation for us to keep on giving our best everyday, making our guests feel welcome and at home! We especially thank you therefore for your kind words about some of our staff members. In fact, we could not be happier about having such precious people like Emerson and Jorge in our staff, they're truly unique!

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Couldn't have picked a better hotel for a week in Rio de Janeiro! Location is great; very safe area, a minute walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping all around, close to all tourists sites. The hotel was very clean and comforting; they offered beach chairs and towels for all guests, breakfast and lunch selection was delicious, rooms were nicely decorated and well kept with very clean bathrooms, ac worked great. Customer service exceeded expectations; all staff was very friendly and polite, security is in place all day and night, the young receptionist behind the desk was very sweet and helpful with day/night time activities and she made our stay very enjoyable! I would highly recommend anyone visiting Rio de Janeiro for business or pleasure, with family or friends, to stay at Mar Ipanema!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor; can use stairs or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on Mar Ipanema Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience here on Trip Advisor! It makes us extremely happy that you were pleased with our hotel and services! We would like to especially thank you for your kind words on our staff. They are all very dedicated, serving our guests with passion and enthusiasm and a review like this is a motivation for us to keep on giving our best everyday!

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,366 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#66 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,127 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#55 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,473 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#117 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,209 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#96 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Property: Mar Ipanema Hotel
Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing