We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mar Ipanema”
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #84 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Mar Ipanema”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

very good hotel in great location. rooms were a good size and very comfortable. staff were helpful and attanded to any queries very promptly. great breakfast in the devassa cafe next door.
easy walk to the beach and the hotel provide parasols and towells etc if requested
we felt very safe in ipanema and would receommend this area and hotel to anyone planning a trip to rio

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It is a great pleasure to know you have enjoyed the services we provide! We are delighted you really appreciated the comfort of the room, as well as our great location! We're also glad you have enjoyed our breakfast at Armazém Devassa; it is actually a chance guests have to try typical Brazilian dishes such as tapioca, rabanada, pão de queijo, coconut bread, queijo de minas and tropical fruits!

We thank you once again for taking your time to give us a such a great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the Mar Ipanema Hotel anytime soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    599
    199
    39
    29
See reviews for
193
493
93
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just checked into the Mar Ipanema Hotel. Was absolutely lured by the nice pictures in the website, but reality is very bad. The hotel is old and not well cared for. Also the price is totally over rated: us$270!! For this price, in many other places you can stay in very good hotels. A total disappointment!!!

Room Tip: Ask which is the room that appears in the website pictures ... those might be the only ones a bit ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Paula,

It is with great surprise that we read your comments on Mar Ipanema Hotel. As in our neighborhood most hotels are named after "Ipanema", we truly believe that ours was not the hotel you meant to rate here on Trip Advisor. We are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon, and all of our rooms are equipped with 32" LCD TVs, iPod docks, free complimentary wi-fi internet access, and many other amenities. We understand that sometimes it could be difficult to find a brand new hotel in Rio de Janeiro, but that is honestly not our case and we take pride on that.

Regarding our rates, we are located only two short blocks away from Ipanema beach, in a really up-scale residential area of Rio de Janeiro, and still we are roughly 20-30% cheaper than other hotels in the same area.

Confident that this was an honest mistake, we send you our best regards and invite you to stay with us next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We loved this hotel which we chose based on reviews, price and location.

Our room (#705), though not huge, was well-designed, extremely functional and very comfortable.

There was plenty of room for our suitcases (which were out of the way so we weren’t tripping over them), a great king-size bed, nice compact bathroom and a powerful, hot shower.

Our room had a small “entry” with a desk, refrigerator and closet. The bed was extremely comfortable with very fine cotton sheets and wonderful duvets that were light yet warm. Also, the air-conditioning, which was needed, worked great.

The location in Ipanema was perfect – on a main street with a corner restaurant/bar where we enjoyed our nightly caiprihna. (This is also where the delicious breakfast is served.)

Some people mentioned street noise – this did not bother us at all – we were so exhausted from the day that we slept like babies.

Finally, the staff were very friendly – especially Emerson and Giorgio who greeted us every night with a smile!

We’d highly recommend the Mar Ipanema when in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 122793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services and our prime location! In fact, a review like this is a motivation for us to keep on giving our best everyday, making our guests feel welcome and at home! We especially thank you therefore for your kind words about some of our staff members. In fact, we could not be happier about having such precious people like Emerson and Jorge in our staff, they're truly unique!

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Couldn't have picked a better hotel for a week in Rio de Janeiro! Location is great; very safe area, a minute walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping all around, close to all tourists sites. The hotel was very clean and comforting; they offered beach chairs and towels for all guests, breakfast and lunch selection was delicious, rooms were nicely decorated and well kept with very clean bathrooms, ac worked great. Customer service exceeded expectations; all staff was very friendly and polite, security is in place all day and night, the young receptionist behind the desk was very sweet and helpful with day/night time activities and she made our stay very enjoyable! I would highly recommend anyone visiting Rio de Janeiro for business or pleasure, with family or friends, to stay at Mar Ipanema!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor; can use stairs or elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on Mar Ipanema Hotel and for sharing your holiday experience here on Trip Advisor! It makes us extremely happy that you were pleased with our hotel and services! We would like to especially thank you for your kind words on our staff. They are all very dedicated, serving our guests with passion and enthusiasm and a review like this is a motivation for us to keep on giving our best everyday!

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in Rio de Janeiro soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is a good simple hotel. Clean modern rooms, tastefully furnished, decent shower, decent restaurant. Staff are more perfunctory than gushing. By Rio standards, not over-priced

A reliable bet for Rio/Ipanema

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank other1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel. Guests’ comments are really important in order for us to keep always improving our services.
I’m glad you found our hotel tasteful. We are actually the only 100% refurbished hotel in the Leblon/Ipanema districts and we are really proud of it. Our hotel is decorated by prestigious local designers having our Marvelous City as inspiration and theme.
Thank you once again for your review! We hope to have you here again with us sooner than soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Clean hotel, with shopping outside the door! 2 min walk to the beach, And the hotel offers free towels And beach chairs :) the straff were polite And very service minded. I arrived at 11am And they let me Check in early. Normal Check in is 2 pm. I would stay here next time too :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liljapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services and our prime location!.

We thank you once again for taking the time to give us a feedback on your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As Americans traveling to Brazil for the first time, we were looking for a clean, service-oriented 4+ star hotel in a SAFE area. We scoured TAdvisor as well as a few other sites and booked the Mar Ipanema. I will say that I think the consensus of the reviews was right on.

You are just a few blocks from the beach (Posto Novo, if I recall correctly); easy walk. This was a huge plus for us as we wanted to spend several days relaxing with caipirinhas in hand. The beaches really ARE phenomenal, just like they say!

The hotel is in a fabulous location for shopping, dining, etc. You're not far from Leblon, which sadly we only discovered on our last day in Rio. Wonderful shopping malls, eateries, etc. Felt more upscale than Ipanema.

Taxis are easy to come by, and the hotel staff was always helpful on this front. We really didn't have much planned upon arrival, so while some of the tours/attractions on the hotel's activities sheet seemed a bit overpriced, we booked several of them as we had confidence that at least they would be safe and directed; they were!

Service: The staff is very kind & friendly! We were first put in a room where you could hear a banging sound, repeatedly, and I knew immediately we had to move rooms. They gladly helped us to a new room and the noise was much more muted. There is some road noise (we were up on a higher floor), but it's really not that bad. You are in the middle of Ipanema!

The breakfast was fabulous! Rich, delicious coffee, brazilian breakfast cakes, meats, cheeses, etc. A great perk! At night the restaurant is called "Devassa" and while the service left something to be desired, the drinks were strong & delicious!

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers -- Great value, lovely staff, convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor; less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitty2898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your complete review! Guest’s reviews are incredibly important not only for us so as to improve our services but also to help future guests to make the best decisions on choosing the hotel for their vacations at Rio de Janeiro.
I’m glad you found our prime location amusing. You could not have described better how convenient our location is. 100 meters from Posto 10 and a short walk to Posto Nove, which stands for Outpost 9 (good memory!).
Good to know our staff was friendly as was able to help you out with the tours. I just hope you mad enough tours to know all that Rio has to offer!
Moreover, I’m really sorry for the inconvenience caused by the banging sound. We are finalizing the construction of a gym, bar and sauna at our rooftop and we just can’t wait for it to get ready!
Great to know you found the breakfast delightful! Were you able to taste all of the Brazilian delicacies, such as pão de queijo, tapioca, matte tea, minas cheese and fruits? Hope you did!
Once again, thank you very much for your review! The best compliment we could receive is that you would like to return! We hope to see you soon again!
Best regards,
Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,381 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,493 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#44 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
215 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#35 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,689 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#116 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Property: Mar Ipanema Hotel
Address: Rua Visconde de Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema , Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#43 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#51 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing