We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$84
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$144
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$236
$216
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$561
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
357
644
213
45
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
644
213
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdevassa restaurantattached restaurantgreat locationstreet noisefew blocksspoke good englishrooftop barbreakfast is servedhigher floorfelt very safechrist the redeemeripanemaumbrellasbrazilneighborhoodclosetmetro
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a great hotel with an awesome location in the middle of a very commercial road in Ipanema surrounded with stores, restaurants, one block away from the beach and very close to the Lagoa too.

The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel personal is very helpful and kind.

Breakfast at Devassa is very good, lots of fruits, bread, sucos (juices).

The only inconvenient is that as the road is very crowded you can hear the noises coming from the streer when you are staying in the lower floors but it does not give trouble to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FernandoNoboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2011

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing such encouraging feedback on your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel!

I am truly pleased to know we provided you with a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed the amazing breakfast buffet at Armazém Devassa. We do try to offer the best and most fresh fruits, juices, everything with a Brazilian twist. On your next trip to Rio, make sure to try our artisanal beer and finger foods, which are also delicious!

I am also glad you enjoyed our lively atmosphere. Since the Mar Ipanema Hotel offers a very privileged location, it could get noisy sometimes. That´s because everyone in town, including ourselves, the "cariocas" ( Rio de Janeiro´s citizens) enjoy a lot to walk, shop and dine around the hotel´s area.

I hope to welcome you back at Mar Ipanema Hotel in the near future and remain at your service.

Best wishes,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I were part of a group of twelve traveling through Brazil, and we stayed at Mar Ipanema for four nights. It's less than a five-minute walk to beautiful Ipanema Beach, and we actually preferred it to a beach hotel, since the Mar is right on a lively street with some great restaurants (try, for example, Via Stete and Bazzar, both within a block of the Mar), shopping (including a music store), and street life. It's a short walk to the Metro, and an even shorter walk to the legendary bossa nova club, Vicinius. Breakfast was a large buffet with eggs, a variety of meats and cheeses, tropical fruits, breads, and desserts. It's served until ten o'clock in the restaurant downstairs, and a late breakfast can carry you through to dinner. The staff at the desk were knowledgable and helpful: I needed to mail keys to a house in another city where I had stayed, and the manager took them to the post office for me, got them mailed, and charged me only the cost of the postage. The rooms are small but fine, with great showers and comfortable beds. I'd go back here anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingScholar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Dear guest,

Seems like you had a great time in Rio, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! Thank you for your comments and feedback. All of the staff had a great time taking care of you and making your stay the very best it could be! Thanks for staying with us, and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Like most of Rio, it's very expensive for what you get. It feels cramped overall, and seems not to have any views or much separation from the street. But it was clean and safe, so no major complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aw215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. Staying in Ipanema is indeed more expensive than other neighborhoods in Rio. It is the most sophisticated area in the city, with the best options of entertainment, dining and also, the beach is incomparable. Our hotel is located exactly on the most elegant quarter in town, called Charm Quarter. If one is looking for economic accomodations, we could suggest looking for hotels is Copacabana.

Since we are located 100 meters from the beach, we do not have oceanfront views, and that is clearly stated on our website. Actually, if you were looking for beachfront hotels, you would be looking at prices much higher than ours.

When you say that Rio is expensive, that is due to Brazil´s very strong economy, which provided a very solid currency in our country. One could consider Rio expensive, however many investments were made on the city, which were recognized worldwide for. For this reason, we were chosen host of the 2016´s Olympic Games, and 2014´s FIFA World Cup, host of the Rio+20 United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development, FIFA´s Confederations Cup, and many other events. Not to mention, that our city was made scneario of the recent movie Rio. Rio is in :)

We hope to see you soon in Rio,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Location is good, but it is still overpriced for what it is. I emailed the hotel before arrival to request a quiet room. Received a room on the 3rd floor right above the cross roads. The room was otherwise OK and nothing to complain about but for the money you pay you would expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyPavee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Indeed, Ipanema hotels are more expensive than others in Rio de Janeiro. Ipanema is the trendiest, safest and most exclusive neighborhood in town, and therefore, prices tend to be higher than areas like Copacabana, for instance. Our hotel is located at an area known as Charm Quarter, because of the high concentration of fine dining and shops. In fact, Mar Ipanema Hotel offers more economic rates than the oceanfront hotels, eventhough our property is located only 100 meters from the beach.

Concerning your request for a higher floor, we sadly we could not accommodate you at this occasion since we are a very small hotel, and we were fully booked for the period. However we do hope to welcome you in upcoming visits to Rio de Janeiro, it would be a pleasure once again.

Thanks again for your comments, and we wish you all the best,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Everything has been said in the prrevious comments: excellent choice

I booked the Hotel for a week in January. After reading the reviews I was worried about the noise in the rooms and sent an email to ask for a high floor. When we arrived, I mentionned it and Isadora, Nice and helpful staff at the reception, told us a that note had been made, and we were given a large room, 1006, on the 10th out of 11 floors.
Rooms on the aisle are slightly bigger than the ones on the frontside (1,2,5,6) and are not directly exposed to the sun.

Regarding the location it is perfect: bus connections to all parts of the city right at the hotel's doorstep, taxis, of course, shopping area, supermarkets, food stalls, restaurants (budget or
not) and above all 200 meters from the beach (posto 10). I would like to come back on a comment made by a guest complaining about the fact that the hotel is far from the gay life: firstly, one cannot blaim the hotel for one's choices as one should have made a proper research before booking, which I did. Secondly, the gay beach is before Posto 8 , some 800 meters from the hotel, right down the gay street. Of course there are other spots but, then again, Rio is quite a big city...

Which leads me to another point of satisfaction: on the first day, I asked for a couple of towels for the beach. We were immediatly asked by the bellboy if we required chairs and parasol. At first we declined but upon arriving at the beach, we realised that most of the people had chairs. We walked back to the hotel and took two complimentary chairs.

Although we didn't need it, I asked for the exchange rate against € &. $ to compare it to other bureau: we were suite surprised that the rate was almost the same, which is suite seldom for a hotel (frequent travellers know what I am talking about regarding outrageous rates)
The room was cleaned up by efficient maids as soon as we had left the room in Time for our return from the breakfast.
Of course, the highlight of the hotel is its pantagruelic breakfast buffet: excellent choice of cakes, fruits, drinks, hot and cold food.
We also had the opportunity to brunch there last Sunday and it was excellent. The price is the same as in other restaurants offering the same (we did not have lunch nor dinner a la carte there)
Regarding the safety we felt completly at ease and safer than in most european cities ( I must say that, as first timers, we were quite paranoïd and expected crime at every corner). During our stay we took different buses, metro, taxis at different time of the day until late in the evening and we always felt ok and greeted by nice , smilling and helpful Brazilians
To sum it up: excellent three stars, excellent staff, excellent food, excellent location
We highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Albkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. Our entire staff was overwhelmed to hear about your great experience at our property. We hope to welcome you in upcoming visits to Rio de Janeiro, it would be a pleasure once again.

Best wishes,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews