We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$258
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$106
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$130
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
$146
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$563
$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
$547
$488
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
357
644
213
45
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
644
213
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdevassa restaurantattached restaurantgreat locationstreet noisefew blocksspoke good englishrooftop barbreakfast is servedhigher floorfelt very safechrist the redeemeripanemaumbrellasbrazilneighborhoodclosetmetro
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel doesn't look like much from the street but as you step through the entrance you will realise your stay here is going to be comfortable and relaxing. It's very clean, the staff are friendly and helpful (and speak good English), it's situated right in the centre of the main shopping street of Ipanema and is also a mere 300m walk from the beach.

Your breakfast is served in a very popular restaurant which opens out onto the street so if you're stuck on ideas of where to eat lunch or dinner, just take a walk downstairs and eat there. It's also a nice place to have a few drinks before going out for a night on the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a 1st floor room, elevators can take long.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav_Will_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloMarch, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Dear honored guest,

We are very grateful for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are glad we could offer you a great experience at the Mar Ipanema Hotel. It is rewarding to our staff to have such a good feedback like yours. The hotel is located in a great spot of the city and we are sure this helped a lot during your stay.

Regarding to the elevators, perhaps during peak hours in the day they may take a little longer than usual. Both have been recently renovated and its operation presents no problems.

We hope to see you back.

Best regards,

Paulo March

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had booked for 6 nights and they give us a room with no windows!
The second day we got a smoking room ( even though our reservation had
a special request no smoking room please) and because the hotel was
over booked we had to fight with them to get a normal room that we had
already payed for!
Most of the staff members are rude and not helpful at all except
Izadora at the front desk!
For the gay traveler its too far from the clubs, bars and the gay
beach! At least 30-40 min walk!
And the hotel doesn't allow visitors in your room! Overall
disappointed in our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pillango82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloMarch, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor.

On April 21st, you have arrived around 10:30 at night and the front desk checked you in room 207. Although the room has no windows, we believed that the up-grade to a higher category would be pleasing to you.

On the following morning, we offered two choices of rooms – 505 and 404, both non smokers, and you opted for room 404. Despite being a non-smoker floor, some guests do not respect this rule causing disturbing other guests. We are very sorry for what happened in relation to cigarette smell.

Contrary to what you mentioned, our staff provides great service and customer care. As you can see below, the front desk is always praised on Trip Advisor.

In order to preserve the security of the guests, the vast majority of the hotels in Rio de Janeiro do not accept visits in the hotel rooms. Please, note that you have booked a double room and there were already two guests registred.

The Mar Ipanema Hotel is located in the most fashionable and trendy area of Ipanema, near the best options of restaurants, bars and shops. Perhaps the places you were willing to visit were not very close to the hotel.

We believe there was a misunderstanding during your stay. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again!

Sincerely,
Paulo March

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The hotel is what you would expect for the price you pay. The staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The location is good and it’s on one of the major bus routes which means its very easy to get to Sugar Loaf and Christ the Redeemer without using the tours on offer. (These tours are, like most of the hotels to be fair, well over priced. Avoid them.)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluearmyMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comment on your stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel!
Indeed, the hotel´s location is unbeatable. Ipanema is the most sophisticated and trendiest district in Rio.
Our staff is very pleased that you enjoyed your experience in Rio, and we wish to see you again soon!
Best wishes,
Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I had a wonderful time at Mar Ipanema Hotel. The location is great and so are the accommodations and the friendly staff. You're near to the beach, to several stores and you have a devassa around the corner. I'm sad I don't have pictures to show but this is a hotel I would recommend to anyone and come back anytime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatirlima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloMarch, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Dear honored guest,

Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It is a great pleasure to have feedback highlighting the quality of our service.

We hope to see you again with us!

Best regards,

Paulo March

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

We had a great 4 day stay at the Mar Ipanema Hotel. The hotel is located in a great spot on Rua Visconde de Piraja. The location is ideal because it is near shopping in Ipanema, Leblon malls, great food, bar/nightlife scene, and Ipanema beach. The breakfast is so-so, but did have reasonable coffee and fresh fruits. Breakfast is located in the Devassa lounge restaurant downstairs, which is a pretty happening bar at night also. We often skipped breakfast and went 3 blocks east on R. Visconde de Piraja to the famous Polis Sucos for juice, acai with granola, and tuna or egg/bacon sandwiches which was a far better and inexpensive meal. The hotel has been renovated and the interiors of the rooms are modern. The rooms are a bit small, but are comfortable. The beds are firm (which is what I prefer), and the sheets are clean without any trace of stains or bed bugs. The bathrooms are good sized with modern fixtures with good enough amenities. We initially started off in a superior 1st floor room, which was unacceptable because of the noise from the street and they kindly moved us up to a more spacious room on the top floor with a view. We could see the Christ the Redeemer statue far off in the distance from the room. The staff were pleasant and spoke english. They provided umbrellas for the rain, and beach towels -- all free of cost. They arranged for private taxi's to certain locations for us (Lapa, airport), and gave us lower rates than what we would've been charged by going by meter. You can try bargaining the rate also, and the private driver will decide on it . We booked a full day Rio tour with the hotel which was somewhat pricey -- 210 R, but was fair considering all the places you are taken (Corcavado, Sugar loaf, around the city, and an included lunch. Lastly the wi-fi was free and was a tad slow in some areas, but best on the 11th floor and the lobby.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
Thank bariume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PauloMarch, Guest Relations Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We always emphasize the importance of those reviews in travel planning of other travellers.

The hotel is located in the most fashionable and busy area of Ipanema. Unfortunately, sometimes the noise of traffic jam at peak times upset few of our guests. But as you said, we are close to the best options of shopping, restaurants and bars, right in the heart of the neighborhood.

The hotel was recently renovated and we are happy to be providing better comfort and service for our customers. Currently, we are the only hotel in Ipanema which is fully renovated.

Regarding wireless internet, since it is a free service, sometimes the connection is congested due to the access of many guests at the same time. Often, we are checking the operation of routers and connection speed.

The Mar Ipanema Hotel staff is very glad to hear about your experience with us. We hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Paulo March

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews