We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe the best location in town”
Review of Marina All Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina All Suites
Ranked #90 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Maybe the best location in town”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Leblon is currently what Copacabana was 30 years ago. Marina Plaza faces the beautiful beach and is in the hub of the fanciest district of Rio de Janeiro. Close to some excellent restaurants and famous "botecos" (tapas bars) and good shopping places. The hotel itself is kind of, furniture not great, premisses in need of maintenance. Service is great, all personnel attentive, courteous and willing to help. There are only three suites per floor, all with good or not so good sea view. Make sure you book a suite with final number 1, preferably in a high floor. Run away from terribly expensive breakfast. There are several nice places around where you can have a sandwich and a wide array of fresh fruit juices.

Room Tip: As said above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAmemberSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Marina_BR, Gerente de relações com clientes at Marina All Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Marina All Suites. Indeed we are perfectly located in trendy Leblon and a few minutes from the best restaurant. I am very glad to read about your wonderful stay with us. Please rest assured that I will forward your compliments to my team. We were truly pleased to welcome you and look forward to your next stay at Marina All Suites.

Best regards,
Catarina Gonçalves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    167
    55
    18
    16
See reviews for
128
177
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, it's a pretty hotel (of course, when they say "boutique hotel" that's the least you can expect!)... But definitely overpriced!

We stayed at the "diamond suite", supposedly one of the best in the house. Don't make the same mistake - choose a different room! The bathroom is small and the plumbing in the shower was not 100% (it took 20 minutes for the water to get down the drain). There's a living room with a TV, which makes the suite more comfortable, but the bedroom itself is also small. And there's the restaurant and the bar at the 2nd floor, very loud and just one floor below...
Service is very friendly, but they lacked basic information (about restaurants, for instance). Breakfast is just OK, although the restaurant is charming.
Last but not least, the pool was "in maintenance" (I love the beach and don't care for pools anyway, but still...).

In summary: Marina All Suites is located in Leblon, at the seafront, and that's what you're being charged for - one of the best locations in Rio.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay at the diamond suite in 3rd. floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JSchlaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a true "boutique"-type hotel, meaning there is no grand lobby or concierge desk. The 1st room we were given was awful - it was large but smelled horribly musty & had a very dirty carpet. The furniture was worn & the shower just felt old. The bed, however, was comfortable, the air conditioning worked & we did face the beach. After we complained the next day, we were very graciously moved to a renovated & re-designed room that was actually very nice on a higher floor & again faced the beach. Everything about this room was great - comfortable king size bed, good air conditioning, large flat screen TV, the carpet had been replaced with hardwood floors, the bathroom area was fresh & new, etc. As one of the reviewers below suggested, request a room ending in 01 (to face the beach) & specifically request one of the re-designed rooms (for which you will pay more). The hotel appeared to be undergoing some upgrades with respect to both rooms & hallways The breakfast buffet ($30 US per person) looked very good (though we did not actually partake in it) & the upstairs dining room had a decent burger, good drinks & a busy atmosphere. The hotel is very well located - just across the street from LeBlon beach. The front desk staff was very courteous & helpful. They speak perfect English. Wifi is extra in the rooms. We were very happy once our room was changed, but frankly, had it not been changed, we would have switched to one of the larger hotels in Ipanema.

Room Tip: Request a room ending in 01 on a higher floor, & request one of the re-designed, renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun_ski33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

In the evening the restaurant on the second floor turns into a club. The music was loud enough that I could not sleep on the 12th floor. My travelling companion on the 3 rd floor could not hear the Tv on full volume from 5 feet away. When i complained i was told i would be anle to sleep after the club closed. The breakfast in the restaurant was very poor quality and overpriced. Rooms were adequate but not very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vaughn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Overpriced and underwhelming, even by the standards of Rio. Suite was adequate in size, but poorly equipped--drawers fell out of wardrobe and broke apart on the floor, the bathroom sink was not attached and slid around the counter, the toilet was completely unattached to the floor and literally fell over, dumping my wife on the ground. Chipping and wear on cabinets and fixtures was not really a problem--except they charge nearly US$500 a night, (no, the breakfast is not included). I give it a poor rating because of the price; again, the facilities are adequate, including the (small) pool and (tiny) lobby, and the location on Leblon beach is nice. But when you charge US$150 for a bag of laundry, you lose my business forever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank archive7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were apprehensive to stay here after reading other reviews, but we didn't have anything to complain about when staying here. The staff around the whole hotel were excellent. The pool was ok considering the space constraints, the rooms were great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
262 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Marina All Suites for two nights after getting rained out of our beach rental in Angra. Our room was facing the ocean and it was very well appointed and very modern. The bed was super comfortable. Our kids stayed in a triple. The bar was hopping at night, although the service there was terrible (never got our drinks after waiting for half hour); Bar do Lado. However, hotel staff was the highlight. Leo at the front desk took excellent care of us and the bell staff was super attentive. The place felt secure and the location was perfect; directly across the beach!

Room Tip: Definite street noise in lower level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sambachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
Hotel Marina Palace Rio Leblon
#95 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#36 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Leblon
Promenade Palladium
Promenade Palladium
#101 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leblon
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
#169 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#64 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina All Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina All Suites

Property: Marina All Suites
Address: Avenida Delfim Moreira 696 | Leblon Beach, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22441-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leblon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#48 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina All Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First boutique hotel and Rio de Janeiro design, the Marina All Suites have a proposal to offer a unique atmosphere with personality and style. Are 42 spacious guestrooms, 20 of them suites decorated in a unique way design by renowned designers in the country. The 18-storey building also has a beautiful glass roof overlooking the beach of Leblon, Ipanema and Corcovado. The roof top are located in the lounge, a bar and a charming pool in vidrotil and Carrara marble, overlooking the sea. Recently inaugurated, the Events Room of the Marina All Suites offers up to 40 people and includes all electronic media. Corporate environment, facing the sea, ideal for business meetings and social events. Gastronomy is also its high point, the award-winning Bar d'Hotel recently opened its new menu and cocktails card. On the ground floor of the hotel is the Bar do Lado, best point of the Rio de Janeiro coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina All Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina All Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Marina Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Marina All Suites Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing