We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for something better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
Ranked #141 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This hotel is quite expensive for what if offers. The reception staff is horrible, not nice or efficient. The rooms and location are OK, but the most of the hotel is abandoned, like the swimming pool (dirty and tiny) or the gym. There are a lot of better places to stay nearby, for better prices.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio_Duarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 572 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2010

Event though the location is excellent, only a few blocks from Copacabana beach, and breakfast is very good, the hotel is too expensive for the service offered.
I travelled with my boyfriend and stayed there for one night only. We were not able to sleep because of a terrible noise caused by one room jacuzzi. When this noise ended, another noise,caused this time by an air conditioning of the room downstairs, prevented us from sleeping. We complaint and they changed us to a single room, without jacuzzi and of course, two beds. They did not apologize and they did not offer any compensation because, they say, we only stayed in the hotel for one night.
The view is terrible, you feel you are inside a box. If you open the window you can see other houses roofs and a hill (morro) that is very closed to the hotel which makes you feel you are trapped.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vicky10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the Majestic during the carnival 2010. Hotel service was great, superb breakfast buffet and facilities were exellent. There was a bar, swimmingpool and traning room at the top floor , and the staff were polite and very available. The rooms were cleand at our request every day, with new towls . cable tv om the room as well...
We definetly would stay at this hotel again, if we ever were to come back to Rio...

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariabjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

The hotel was recently remodelled and clean. It was comfortable. The room was quite small but a good value for the price. It is a few blocks from the beach and on a quiet street with trees . The service was good. I think its a good value for Rio and have been to Rio many times.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wgafster09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

If you want to have a good time in Rio, please do not spoil your trip staying in this hotel!!
Myself and my family stayed at Majestic Hotel during the new years eve and we got ROBED inside our room!!! Even worst, by the very own hotel staff!!! They took a considerable ammount of cash, my watch, camera and even clothes!!
The manager did not care a bit about the case and it made it seems that we were the liars... The worst experience we ever had! The hotel has cameras all over and we could see the staff entering our room and even knowing the burglars we were treated like scum.
Terrible, horrible, filthy!!!
We went o to the police, and they did not recover our money, neighter our goods.
Never will stay at this hotel again. Definitely not recommended!!
Will post the police registration at Tripadvisor to prove waht I said.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank viniciusfmonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

This hotel is about 10 minutes/3 blocks from the beach of Copacabana. We actually booked a room at the Hotel Bandeirantes but were transferred to Majestic Palace Hotel because of a "water intrusion" (which probably means overbooking). Independent from any "official" rating, the hotel is about 3 stars standard. It is clean, staff is friendly and the rooms are ok but nothing special. The rooms are not much behind the rooms of the Pestana Hotel (the cheaper ones) which, however, charges about twice or three time as much (probably for the pool, the view and the location at the beach).
There is a pool which we have never visited (we preferred the beach). The breakfast buffet is quite rich.

I cannot tell much about the prices as we paid the price agreed with the Hotel Bandeirantes.

You might want to book a room in this hotel if you are in Rio for business or if you do not have a lot of spare money. Many of the guests were Brasilians, seemingly for business.

To sum it up, the hotel rating should be about 3.5. As there are no half points, I give 4.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bleichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Stayed here for 6 nights during Rio Carnival 2009. The hotel was everything it promised. Comfortable and quiet in a good neighbourhood and a short stroll to the beach and the metro. Taxis are cheap but some of the drivers struggled to find the street entrance to the hotel. Best to mention that it is on/near the junction with Rua Santa Clara and Rua Barrata Ribeiro or you could end up going around in circles for a while.

Rates were high / expensive for the Carnivale but extras such as mini-bar / fridge and phonecalls were very reasonable. The breakfast was the best I had during 4 weeks in South America. Excellent selection of fruits, meats, eggs, sweet breads, etc, and as much coffee as you could drink.

My room was more than adequate with a nice en suite, cable tv, personal safe and a (somewhat noisy) AirCon unit.

Staff were mostly friendly and helpful but one or two guys on reception were a bit aloof. The late night porter was most friendly / helpful as were the doormen.

Checkout was a very reasonable 2 p.m. that allowed my plenty of flexibility to go to the beach on my final day.

Overall a nice mid-range hotel that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinVinnieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Bandeirantes
Hotel Bandeirantes
#122 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,016 reviews
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#91 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
640 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Vilamar
Hotel Vilamar
#112 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#97 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
771 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#146 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
490 reviews
Copacabana
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Hotel
#115 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Rio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Rio Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Cinco de Julho 195, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22051-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $52 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Rio Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Majestic Rio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing