We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Windsor California Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grande Hotel Canada(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sesc Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Angrense(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Olinda Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Oceano Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Benidorm Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,251)
Filter reviews
1,251 results
Traveler rating
387
499
233
77
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
499
233
77
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstulip innwifi connectionbeach towelsrooms are smallperfect locationgreat view of the beachan upgradehotel is locatedbusiness tripfresh fruitcopacabanatulipsriomarianabrazilratestaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 1,251 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice location in the middle of Copacabana Beach. Friendly staff.
Few concerns about:
- Room size.
- Lack of parking lot.

Another point that annoyed me is the taxi drivers in front of the Hotel. They choose the trip and refuse it if is not good for them.

Room Tip: Ask for high floors and in front of the beach. There are some floors that are refurbished, ask them.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sigven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG_TICopabana, Gerente geral at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about Tulip Inn Copacabana Hotel and the evolution of our services, which is fundamental for our perfection and the best opportunity to know your necessities, with the compromise to serve you better.

Hope to see you on your next visits.

Best Regards,

Thaís Mesquita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This property is a very good place to stay. It is in front of Copacabana beach, near Santos Dumont airport. You have a beautiful view and it is a good place to walk or running. Our room was clean and restored.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GeorgianaAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG_TICopabana, Gerente geral at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Mrs. Georgiana,

Thank you for your comments about Tulip Inn Copacabana Hotel and the evolution of our services.

Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Thaís Mesquita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

A friend and I stayed at the Tulip Copacabana for the weekend recently. It was a perfect choice. For the price, you can't beat the the beachfront / central location!! I also enjoyed the style of the hotel, both outside and inside, and the service. The location is central to Copa and not far from Ipanema. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic - a very classy patio out front to enjoy fresh fruit and coffee. The room was small, but plenty big for 1 man who was only using it for sleep and shower! The bathroom was big and modern. And the A/C worked fine. Wifi worked well. One complaint: no outlets in the room geared towards a slightly unprepared American traveler (just one universal outlet, please :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SDChciago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG_TICopabana, Gerente geral at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very happy about your comments.

Thanks for choosing Tulip Inn Copacabana Hotel.

Hope to see you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Thaís Mesquita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The best hotel experience in the least likely place and time. I never expected a trendy hotel in party-central Copacabana beach, during the World Cup championship, to be so incredibly accommodating and family-friendly. My husband and I stayed one week with our 3-year old and 5 month old baby. We were the only family with kids there, but they have 'gone the extra mile' for us: they arranged a cot and a junior bed on a moment's notice. They had done extra thorough cleaning (even though it was spotless - the hygiene freak that I am asked for extra sweeps and they were done without a question) The waiters have helped at breakfast when it was mostly self-service buffet - oh and breakfast deserves a special notice- the best food we've had in Brazil. One morning my daughter has asked me if there were any croissants she had a day earlier, and although there was an abundance of other pastries, she got a special delivery from the manager of freshly baked croissants 10 minutes later at the table. One night we watched a football match in the restaurant downstairs (i mean myself with two tired fussy children) - the restaurant was fully booked but they have found us a table and served us with extras for the kids (cakes etc) and made a special pasta with cheese for my daughter completely free of charge. I have never expected that from any hotel, it was if they knew how stressful 'vacations' with kids can be and want dot make it easy for us. Finally, as we were leaving I have realised i have lost my husband's special football T-shirt on the balcony. I made a discrete request to find it with one of the staff - and left my email address - without my husband having a clue (thankfully). Guess what, upon landing back in the UK I got an email from her that they have manage to rescue the T-shirt from the back yard of the neighbouring residential building and were ready to send it back to us!
The hotel was beautiful and well located, but it was the staff that deserves a real trophy, they have made our vacation an easy and enjoyable one, brilliantly exceeding our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG_TICopabana, Gerente geral at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Mrs. Anastasia,

No words to describe how happy we are with your comments.

Our goal is to make all guests feel at home and I think we did it!

Please, when you come to Rio, let us know.

Thank you for choosing Tulip Inn Copacabana and sure we will share your compliments with our team.

Hope to see you on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Thaís Mesquita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We visited the Tulip Inn during the World Cup in June 2014 and expected and encountered inflated prices for all hotels - no surprises there.

The Tulip Inn is a small hotel, well located opposite Copacabana Beach, and between the big name hotels such as the Copacabana Palace and the Marriott. The rooms are pleasant but quite small and not sound proofed. Many have side balconies and views of the beach. The hotel provides the usual room facilities - including safe and mini-bar - and towels and sun umbrellas for those visiting the beach.

The breakfast buffet is good and varied with something for everyone.

The staff are friendly though lines for check-in / inquiries could be long at times.

Definitely a good alternative to the other Copacabana hotels.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony view over the beach.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank frankmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG_TICopabana, Gerente geral at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Mr. Frank,

Thank you for your comments about Tulip Inn Copacabana Hotel and the evolution of our services, which is fundamental for our perfection and the best opportunity to know your necessities, with the compromise to serve you better.

We hope to serve you again on your next visit.

Sincerely Yours,

Thaís Mesquita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews