We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a lot to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
Ranked #68 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still a lot to improve”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is classified as a 4-star superior hotel.

I believe that, compared to previous reviews, rooms have been finally renovated, so furniture and appearance are good. No complaints. What was NOT renovated, though, is the windows, maybe because Brazilians are used to a high level of noise: people are loud, traffic is loud, ... I've been staying both at the 6th and 15th floor, and the noise from outside was for me unbearable (I'm a light sleeper, though).

Also, BOTH rooms were afflicted by tiny ants (and my colleague confirmed he had the same problem in his room). Now, although I personally don't care about a few ants around, we all know what happens if the tiniest amount of food is left unchecked with them around: they actually managed to enter into the blister of my sugar-coated pills! Plus, ants, in a ****-superior hotel?? At the 15th floor??

Staff at reception barely friendly.

One morning, I told the cleaning lady to delay her service by just an hour, but she never came back, so room was left undone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauriziom569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this review, September 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    447
    233
    84
    38
See reviews for
226
279
58
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Terrible room.. dark, dirty and ugly. bathroom reminded me of a slum, with a dirty sensation.
I couldn't sleep in that place and paid for an upgrade.
This second room was classified as 2 levels above the first, and still was bad. At midnight another guest, somehow opened my room's door. The reception did his check-in into the same room as mine!
That was absolutely awful! When I rang the reception the said "Ops.. sorry". For God's sake...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 778James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this review, September 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

just not a good safe place unfriendly employees and dirty all over old hotel to bad location is good ps spent there 15days are not very safe either an no transportation you're better off at the sheraton down the street just a little better.

Room Tip: all rooms are bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igr2271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this review, September 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

An amazing hotel. Perfectly situated, within walking distance to Copacabana beach. Stunning views of the beach especially from the pool area which is situated on the 24th floor (I think). Buffet breakfasts were amazing with much to chose from, staff were warm & friendly. Hotel rooms were good however the "ceiling" of our bathroom was a mesh ceiling and I expected something to come crawling or slithering out of that dark space! Staff were very professional, helpful with relatively good English.

Room Tip: The higher up your are the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalan Africa T... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this review, September 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

the entrance lobby to the hotel is nice .. and that is it.

i had a deluxe room - the best category possible. the furniture was old and not stable. the cupboards hardly openend - the glass was single glazing. the AC was noisy - the shower. there ws NO WATER pressure whatsoever.

the breakfast was crowded - dirty tables and the nothing appealing.

The only plus point was the rooftop pool where i had lunch the burger was good but took an agonizing 30 minutes to arrive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddecourcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this review, September 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Hotels in Rio are expensive, this one balances comfort and cost pretty well. Its not the nicest, but for the money, my view its the best you can buy in Rio.

The have rubbish collection at around 4:30am every morning, if you are a light sleeper ask for a room up high, or at the back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this review, September 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
185 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the LAAD Expo in April 2013. Hotel rates generally climb during big events, and rates at western hotel chains were outrageous. Rates at most Brazilian hotels were also quite high. Golden Tulip Continental provided a very affordable rate, which is the primary reason that I booked the hotel. My stay here was a mixed bag. I booked a standard room with a double bed. I arrived early and the hotel assigned me a room with two twin beds on the 15 floor looking out on the street.

The room itself was not bad. With a trade show to attend and the attractions of Rio outside my door, I did not spend a lot of time in my room. The room was clean, and the work desk allowed me to get some work done. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of hot water. On a negative note, the walls must be paper thin because I heard every noise whether coming from another room or hallway or coming from outside. I was 15 floors up, and I could hear delivery trucks and honking cars very loudly in my room with my windows closed and curtains drawn. Nothing seemed to keep the noise out. In addition, the internet access is terrible. My stay included breakfast and complimentary internet access. The hotel offers free internet and a paid internet service. I did not try the paid service, but the free service was not only slow but terribly unreliable. The internet kept dropping out.

On a positive note, the breakfast buffet was very good. They had plenty of fresh fruit, breads, and scrambled and boiled eggs. I am not sure why, but their scrambled eggs had the consistency of soup. I don't want my eggs cooked so hard that they taste like rubber, but these eggs simply were not done. I had a similar problem with the boiled eggs. Some of them were barely cooked with not only runny yolks but also runny whites. If you like raw eggs, this is the place for you. Otherwise, I would stay away from the eggs and enjoy the other breakfast items.

This hotel attracted me because of its price. If necessary, I would stay here again without hesitation. At the same time, this would not be my first choice. If I could find another hotel in a similar price range, I would probably try out the other hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this review, September 15, 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Arena Leme Hotel
#8 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Leme
Windsor Leme Hotel
Windsor Leme Hotel
#42 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#54 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#72 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#92 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Royal Tulip Rio Sao Conrado
#48 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Rio Leme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Rio Leme

Property: Golden Tulip Rio Leme
Address: Rua Gustavo Sampaio 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-010, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Continental)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Rio Leme 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Describing Golden Tulip Rio Leme as one of the most traditional hotels in Rio de Janeiro would be the least: the hotel occupies one of the most iconic buildings in the city, just one block from Leme beach. It´s a unique history: declared a historical heritage of the city, which today is represented by the architectural composition of the hotel, the reception is decorated with designs carved on the wall. By combining historical preservation with comfort, elegance and sophistication, the Golden Tulip Rio Leme is considered one of the most exclusive hotels in Rio de Janeiro. Staying here is a unique experience, because the excellent service and hotel structure; the rooms and social areas was recently reformed and now the Golden Tulip Rio Leme offers versatile options of lodging. The location is a strong point: the hotel occupies a prime space in the neighborhood of Leme, famous for quiet atmosphere of common neighborhood, but a few meters from Copacabana beach and the center of Rio de Janeiro. No doubt, a great option for the business audience that wants to be close to work and enjoy the atmosphere of Rio de Janeiro Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Rio Leme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Continental Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Hotel Continental
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Luxor Continental
Golden Tulip Rio Leme Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing