We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise at night does not let anyone sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Rio Leme
Ranked #61 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Golden Tulip Continental does not respect the neighborhood. The residents complain, and rightly so, the noise that makes a huge generator installed on the first floor. On hot days, the noise is unbearable. Also people can´t sleep with the noise it makes, every night, the truck that picks up trash at dawn. In the same neighborhood, look for other lodging options.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank henrique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you are looking for location in Rio saving tons of time in traffic jam, this is good hotel. Otherwise, you are wasting your money. I was there in April 2012 and experienced poor service, rooms renovated but with poor taste. Indoor rooms have a poor view (unless you like to see buildings around). Noise all time and the cleaning service is terrible. Too bad for a hotel in Rio do Janeiro. Besides location, the restaurants nearby are the only thing worth.

Room Tip: Look for another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Awful smell in the corridor, bad smell in the room, very small room (room nr.14360), slow service in the dinning room. Try to avoid it!!

Room Tip: Try to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomi-Nahariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Let's start by saying that we arrived very late in the evening (transatlantic flight) and we were very tired after a 17 hours trip... we had already made the reservations for a double standard room and we were very eager to go to bed. When we arrived in the room we did not know whether to cry or to laugh... the bed was pretty small, the furniture was old and falling apart, the safe wouldn't close, the walls were dirty, the bathroom was very tiny and the water dripping from the ceiling , so when you went to the toilet you felt like sh...ing in the amazonian forrest, the air conditioning didn't have a remote control and you couldn't change the settings. We tried to change the room, but the only other available room was not much better. They promised to give us more options in the morning, so we had no other choice but to spend the night there. In the morning they changed the room, but we paid the upgrade from Standard to Deluxe ( the room is bigger, but still not a 4 stars room, maybe 3) and they extra charged us for the services. The breakfast was however delicious and the dining area looked very well, as well as the pool from the roof (which is however pretty small). The hotel provides for a shuttle to the airport and we've reserved our seats long in advance. Since the hotel does not provide late checkout services, we've spent the last day wondering in the city since we had a night flight. At the hour when we were supposed to be lifted by the shuttle, we found ourselves all dressed up and full of luggage in front of the hotel, waiting for the car. After a 15 minutes wait outside we went to the reception and found out with astonishment that the shuttle wasn't coming any more and that they would refund us the ticket money and told us to take a cab. The conclusion is that as far as i am concerned the hotel is deffinitelly not a 4 starts hotel...lousy rooms and lousy services.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

The recently renovated rooms are very comfortable. Wonderful swimming pool, in front of the Beach and mountains. Breakfast is Good but expensive. Close to a Nice shopping center with Good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmandelbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

In my opinion this is a pretty good hotel, for what you pay for. It's impossible to find an ocean-front hotel at less than 120$, and this hotel was only two blocks away from the beach, so it was a good compromise. The surrounding area seems safe; we never really had any issues in Sao Paulo were we felt unsafe.
Our flight arrived at around 9 in the morning, and check-in wasn't until 2:00 p.m. Our room was ready by 12 noon, and they allowed us to check in early.
The breakfast was really good and complete. They offered a great assortment of local fruit, pastries, breads, jams, hams, cheeses, and hot dishes, such as eggs and bacon. The coffee at the hotel was excellent!
The front desk attention was pretty good. They had an offer one day to go see a soccer game between the Rio de Janeiro team and the Sao Paolo team, which was reasonably priced. We loved the experience.
Our room and the bathroom was always clean. Nothing fancy, but comfortable enough. There are several ATMs a couple of blocks down, as well as convencience stores and pharmacies.
We tried several of the restaurants nearby, all of which had decent food. None were exceptionally excellent, and most were very pricey. Beware, eating in Brazil is expensive!
I would definitely recommend a caipirinha from any booths right in front of the ocean. The food that some of them serve there is also very good and with great prices.
To sum it up, the hotel is a good deal for the price they charge. if you plan on sightseeing all day, and just plan to use the hotel to sleep and eat breakfast, this is a great place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Overall hotel is ok. However considering the price (170€ a night prepaid) you would expect a lot more.
Room was very basic, no special furniture, old TV, bathroom was in almost decent conditions. Favela view not expected which made it pretty noisy!
Location: positive is the fact that you're close to Copacabana. However you're not on the seaside but a couple of streets inside so anywhere you have the room, view won't probably be good. Wouldn't recommend to ANYONE to return by foot after dark even though recent security empowerment Rio provided to the city.
For this kind of hotel I wouldn't have expected to pay more than 70-80€ (already pricey, but considering it's Rio...)
Didn't have the opportunity to test service level and additional features (e.g. restaurants etc...)

Room Tip: Wouldn't really know what is the less evil if the favela or the noisy street on the other side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreCdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BryanBarreto, Front Desk at Golden Tulip Rio Leme, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback!
It was a great pleasure having you with us !
We would like to inform you that our hotel had a renovation and we have modern and comfortable apartments .
We wait your visit to know the new Golden Tulip Rio Leme !

Sincerely,

Bryan Barreto Soares
Front Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leme
Windsor Leme Hotel
Windsor Leme Hotel
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
950 reviews
Arena Leme Hotel
#13 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
542 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#53 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#79 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,180 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
#57 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,030 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Rio Leme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Rio Leme

Address: Rua Gustavo Sampaio 320, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-010, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Continental)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#44 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $51 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Rio Leme 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Describing BHG Rio Leme as one of the most traditional hotels in Rio de Janeiro would be the least: the hotel occupies one of the most iconic buildings in the city, just one block from Leme beach. It´s a unique history: declared a historical heritage of the city, which today is represented by the architectural composition of the hotel, the reception is decorated with designs carved on the wall. By combining historical preservation with comfort, elegance and sophistication, the Golden Tulip Rio Leme is considered one of the most exclusive hotels in Rio de Janeiro. Staying here is a unique experience, because the excellent service and hotel structure; the rooms and social areas was recently reformed and now the Golden Tulip Rio Leme offers versatile options of lodging. The location is a strong point: the hotel occupies a prime space in the neighborhood of Leme, famous for quiet atmosphere of common neighborhood, but a few meters from Copacabana beach and the center of Rio de Janeiro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Tulip Rio Leme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Continental Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Golden Tulip Hotel Continental
Golden Tulip Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Golden Tulip
Luxor Continental
Golden Tulip Rio Leme Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing