We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative for weary travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Aeroporto Hotel
Ranked #223 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Pros: We had read extremely negative reviews but were pleasantly surprised. Our reservation was honored without problems. The front desk staff , especially the manager Rafael, offered fast and polite service. The room was large and clean, the bathroom was in good shape, with plenty of toiletries and a good shower. Breakfast was abundant, we loved the pineapple and papaya. We heard the hotel recently changed hands and hope that new management will improve on what is, in our opinion, a great alternative if you arrive late and are reluctant to risk driving at night. Cons: It is on the expensive side and somewhat claustrophobic because of the lack of windows.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotchilepepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 458 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I arrived late after 20 hours of flying. Checking staff were helpful, but initially booked me into an occupied room (grrr). The replacement room was basic but fine. The toilet took many minutes to slowly flush the waste away and clearly had a blockage problem. Breakfast was good. The hotel is simply showing its age and badly needs renovation - hopefully before the 2016 Olympic games.

Room Tip: Ask for a description of the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here twice when I have flown to Rio and did not want to take a late night taxi.
The rooms have no windows and are basic but functional.
Stayed in family room and all of us got a good night sleep.
Would stay there again as it removes the headache of getting a cab and late and getting into the centre of Rio.
Best food is in the airport complex, but the breakfasts were good.
Room was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The luxor is very dated with the likes of stained old toilets in the shower room and mould on the tiles in the shower .The room smelt of smoke and as stated in other reviews sparse inside.There are no windows in the room so the air flow though the room is poor the whole place is in need of a refit badly .Would i stay there again ? well there isn't any other choise at the airport.I tend to use it as a place to store my luggage and then go and get something to eat in the airport , thank god i only have a day room and don't have to overnite before my outbound flight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

When I came to the room it smeeled solvents. After 10 minutes they started to use a hammer at the room beside. I went to the reception to get a new room but they denied. They told me they should stop the work. But it was still smelling like hell there from solvents so I decided to leave the hotel. But then they came up with a new room at the other side of the hotel. Slept there for 3 hours before I left to the flight check in.

I have been sleeping at this hotel more times and it is always the same. THe employes stands in the corridor talking with each other. It is hard to sleep on this hotel if it is not night.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Rago_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Yes, I booked the room for the convenience/safety of having the airport hotel in Rio when I arrived after midnight. Yes, I have to say I would book this hotel again in the similar circumstances!
I checked the reviews before booking, and it was well documented the lack of windows and what to expect. As such this is not a 'complaint' review, but just another notice to fellow intrepid travelers so they can make informed decisions!

The hotel lobby is fine, and the 'professional photos' make it look glamorous! The staff at the front desk was very friendly and checked me in quickly upon my arrival late.

The room was dingy, and the carpeted floor had clearly not been vacuumed any time recently. I checked both the sheets (clean!) and the matress (new!), so I slept well and was reliably awakened by the front desk wakeup call.
the bathroom sink was dingy also, but the shower was comfortable, marble floor, roomy, and also the 'rain head' style shower.
The breakfast was included in the rate, and was similar to other buffets I had in Brazil.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81globetrotter81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel was suppose to be 4 stars. I would rate it 2 stars or less. The carpeting in the room was dirty and shabby. The room smelled od mildew and the bedspreads were stained. The room was sparse to say the least and there was no internet. All in all this hotel looks like sombody paid off the agency who rated it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
3  Thank BARRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio de Janeiro
Galeão
Linx Hotel International Airport Galeao
Linx Hotel International Airport...
#139 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
687 reviews
Hotel ibis budget RJ Nova Americ...
#101 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
433 reviews
Hotel Pousada Guanabara Garden
#236 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Nova America
#72 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
555 reviews
BEST WESTERN Multi Suites
#2 of 5 in Duque de Caxias
36 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#42 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Aeroporto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Aeroporto Hotel

Address: Avenida Vinte de Janeiro | Terminal 1 - 3º Floor, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 21941-570, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Galeão
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $87 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rio Aeroporto Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out hotel is located inside the terminal 1, on the 3rd floor of the Rio International airport. this is very conveniente hotel with 97 rooms, with private bathroom, minibar, flat screen TV with international channels, restaurante open daily from 6am to 11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Aeroporto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxor Aeroporto Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Aeroporto Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing