We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ipanema Inn
Ranked #9 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

A small hotel in a great neighborhood, just 1/2 a block off Ipanema Beach and close to shopping, public transportation, and restaurants too. The staff was always friendly and helpful and a terrific breakfast is included in the room rate--nothing like starting the day with watermelon juice, fresh breads, and made to order eggs. Our room was very small with no view, but quiet, recently renovated, quite functional and comfortable--after all, we didn't come to Rio to hang out in a hotel room!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic comments to IPANEMA INN's location, breakfast and staff.

Thank you so much for the rich description of the daily breakfast developed by our Chef Christian Garcia and which includes a myriad of options of locally sourced products. Most of these are produced by our bakers and cooks, such as the breads, jams and compotes.

I am particularly happy by your comments to the Standard room you stayed in and would love you to see our spacious Superior and Duplex Suite categories.

My very best wishes,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    486
    110
    21
    11
See reviews for
223
494
85
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great place to stay if you want to be near Ipanema beach - which is simply fabulous. Sunsets here are spectacular and it's great to walk to Aproador and enjoy the views. We had the deluxe suite which was fantastic and very spacious with a lovely balcony. Views of the city and the beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only negative is that the free wifi was barely functional.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us at the IPANEMA INN.

We are very happy to hear how joyful staying at the Duplex Suite at the IPANEMA INN has been, with its terrace with lateral view of the beach and the mountains of Rio, two spacious bathrooms and luxury amenities. The internet signal, which is a courtesy by the hotel, has now been strengthened by the provider, so thank you very much for raising that.

We hope to welcome you back here soon.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a small hotel in the heart of Ipanema Beach.
It has recently been renovated and the rooms are small yet very clean and confortable.
The service is impecable with a friendly staff. I stayed there with my wife and baby and they did the best to please us.
The restaurant is in the lobby and the breakfast in excellent too, with fresh fruit juices everyday, fruits, cereal and home made bread - they also offer "pão de queijo".
The bed sheets, pillows and towels are of high quality, and the shower is very good too.
Just one block from the Beach and another block from the main street of Ipanema - it is also walking distance from Leblon Beach or Arpoador (in the intersection from Copacabana).
I highly recommend this hotel for people that like simplicity, location and service!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TOMAS-SP-BRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We are flattered by the incredible comments regarding your recent stay with us at the IPANEMA INN.

I am particularly glad that you noticed the high level of services in our boutique hotel. We constantly run training on excellency services with the various teams of the hotel, so it is rewarding to see that this has transpired during your stay in RIo de Janeiro.

We hope to see you back soon at the IPANEMA INN, when you will be able to enjoy the nicely decorated rooms (do request one of our spacious Duplex Suites next time - I would love to hear your thoughts on this), in addition to the specialty breakfast and wonderful location.

As you said: simplicity, location and service is what you will find at the IPANEMA INN.

My kindest regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wonderful, nice people from the front desk to the waiters to the chef to the bellman. clean room and all areas.Good value for the money.
People take good care of customers
good breakfast with wide range of option

Room Tip: high floors and in the back will have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending the Standard rooms at the IPANEMA INN for guests all around the world. It is in fact a fantastic good value for money and a very comfortable option.

Your compliments were transmitted to our teams. We hope to you back at the IPANEMA INN soon.

My very best wishes,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Loved this little hotel right off Ipanema Beach. Newly renovated rooms, good internet connection, great breakfast and helpful staff. Much better than the other, much more expensive, hotels we stayed in. 1 minute walk to the beach, what else can you ask for :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonje K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about you stay at the IPANEMA INN.

We are thankful for your preference and compliments and hope to welcome you back again, when you will be able to also experience our new restaurant with a selection of local dishes prepared in a Contemporary way by our chef Christian Garcia.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Having stayed previously in Copacabana this time I chose to try the nicer Arab of Ipanema and didn't leave at all disappointed.

The location of this hotel is ideal. Literally 2-mins walk from the front door to touching the gorgeous white sand of the beach. In the opposite direction all the bars and restaurants are in easy walking distance and these streets are more than safe walking around.

We shared a twin room that was fairly modern if lacking some room for the cases but it suited our needs altho the bathroom was rather too close to one of the beds.

Breakfast was ok and pretty standard as Brazilian breakfasts go although you do at least get the option to have eggs etc cooked for you.

Staff are very friendly. The hotel arranges all the usual sight seeing trips and complimentary beach towels are available for your must do trip to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic rating to the IPANEMA INN.

We hope to welcome you back here soon, when you will be able the great variety of new services and amenities being offered by the hotel.

Thank you also for your compliments to our high level of services and location. We hope to see you again here at the IPANEMA INN.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Really Nice location, nice people and really close to the beach. The staff was very helpful with any queries we had and we really liked the rooms, they were very clean an spacious with air conditioning, It was a great experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your custom and preference.

Your compliments to our staff, interiors and location has been transmitted to the various teams at the IPANEMA INN.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#33 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#26 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#65 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#12 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Property: Ipanema Inn
Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IPANEMA INN is a boutique hotel located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing