We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel in Ipanema”
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ipanema Inn
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel in Ipanema”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

For the first half of our trip, a group of friends and I stayed at the Ipanema Inn. We booked it based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We were greeted every day at the front and people were very pleasant. The restaurant was under construction but that didn't matter as they were serving breakfast in your rooms. We chose to have it sent to the lobby and we ate there as we enjoyed eating downstairs together. They provided towels for the beach every day. One of our rooms the AC was leaking, they fixed it right away. The rooms and beds are small, but renovated and perfect for two people. All in all, it was a great stay, I would definitely stay here again if I was in Rio and wanted to stay in Ipanema. Make sure you go to the Leblon area close by, great bars and restaurants all walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms looking into the courtyard didn't give you a great view but don't worry, it takes two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xandhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review about your recent stay with us, at the IPANEMA INN.

We are delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed our unique location, in the very heart of the Ipanema area, a few steps from the beach and from the great shops and restaurants around us.

Thank you also for the rich description of our interiors, housekeeping and concierge services. The recent renovation undergone at the IPANEMA INN by Bel Lobo, the most 'carioca' architect of them all, has been generating so many great reviews. It makes us so happy!

The great news are that the lobby was recently renovated and now is larger and counts with even more seats than before. It is very pleasant, as are the Superior rooms, facing the tree-lined street, which, as you said, are bright and airy.

We hope to count on your visit again soon next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    523
    116
    24
    11
See reviews for
250
559
95
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a newly-refurbished hotel less than a block from Ipanema Beach. It is in a very safe area close to cafes, restaurants and shops - not to mention the beach.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Most spoke good English. When I mentioned I couldn't charge my phone as I had the wrong plug for Brazil, they immediately brought a plug to my room.

Rooms were of a reasonable size, spotlessly clean and comfortable. We had a room at the front of the hotel facing the street. It was very light and bright and surprisingly quiet (even though there was building work being carried out on the ground floor). Because of this work, breakfast was served in our room which was not a problem.

The hotel was very reasonably priced for the area and I have no hesitation recommending it to anyone visiting the Ipanema/Copacabana area wanting comfortable, modern accommodation in an excellent location.

As mentioned in an earlier review, the lobby area is plain and very small but who wants to spend time in a lobby other than to check in and out.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building were bright and airy with a view of the street. We had no proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austravel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review about your recent stay with us, at the IPANEMA INN.

We are delighted to hear how much you have enjoyed our unique location, in the very heart of the Ipanema area, a few steps from the beach and from the great shops and restaurants around us.

Thank you also for the rich description of our interiors, housekeeping and concierge services. The recent renovation undergone at the IPANEMA INN by Bel Lobo, the most 'carioca' architect of them all, has been generating so many great reviews. It makes us so happy!

The great news are that the lobby was recently renovated and now is larger and counts with even more seats than before. It is very pleasant, as are the Superior rooms, facing the tree-lined street, which, as you said, are bright and airy.

We hope to count on your visit again soon next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night . The hotel is in a great location just one block from Ipanema beach. It was very clean and pleasant. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.. For me the room was very small and the hotel did not have much of a lobby. This lead me to feel a little boxed in with no where to go in the hotel except our room. While it was a lovely place to stay for just one night, I prefer a hotel with sitting areas in the lobby. The best part of the hotel was the warm and engaging staff

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIORAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your message.

We are very pleased by your review and preference while choosing your host in Rio de Janeiro.
There are fantastic news to you: our new lobby, fully renovated with brazilian furniture, is reopening next month, with plenty of seating areas, as is our new restaurant and terrace.

We will be extremely happy to be able to host you again, when I will personally show you all the renovation we have through in the second half of this year.
Looking forward to seeing you again at the IPANEMA INN.

Kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a booked a standard room at the Ipanema Inn and were not expecting too much, so we were pleasantly surprised to be given a completely renovated new room on the front side of the hotel with a good sea view. The room was basically as new and everything (apart from the wifi) was working fine.

The room was reasonably spacious (comparable to typical hotel rooms in Europe) and spotless clean. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was also quite well sound-insulated (no street noise). The airco worked well and also the bathroom was very good and spotless clean. The water pressure in the shower was great!

As the hotel was still being refurbished while we were staying there, the hotel restaurant was closed but that was no problem as breakfast was served as room-service at no extra cost. Breakfast itself was good and delivery was fast and friendly.

The only thing that did not work well was the wifi as it kept on disconnecting, but hopefully that is something that will also be fixed once the full hotel renovation is complete.

The best things about this hotel are the staff (all very professional, friendly and helpful, and also all speaking at least a reasonable level of English) and the location (less than one block away from Ipanema beach).

The price of the hotel is quite high (compared to European standards), but accommodation in general appears to be very expensive in Rio and especially in Ipanema, Leblon and Copacabana.

We would certainly consider staying here again when in Ipanema next.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel if you want to have a good street view and good natura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for the amazing review regarding your recent with us at the IPANEMA INN.

I am personally glad that you enjoyed Ipanema as much as you describe, with its various attractions, such as bars, restaurants and a buzzing cultural life. Thank you very much for the rich description of our rooms. It is fantastic to hear how much you have enjoyed the water pressure in the bathroom and the double glazed windows at a Superior room.

We hope to welcome you back in Rio de Janeiro soon, when you will be able to enjoy our new restaurant, named QUITÉRIA, specialised in Brazilian contemporary dishes.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a group of 28 missionaries stay at the Hotel Ipanema Inn in March 2014. We stayed there for two days of excursion in Rio after our mission trip. The hotel itself is very nice and located in a GREAT area of Ipanema and is less than one block from Ipanema beach and very close to restaurants and other food.

I spent months working with the reservation staff for our stay and to make sure everything worked correctly in advance. Unfortunately, it all fell apart as soon as we arrived.
- we had sent all of our information in advance as to who was staying in what rooms AND how many beds we needed per room. I confirmed this the day before as well and was assured all was in order. However, five out of our 14 rooms only had one bed when we had specifically requested two beds per room. All of those had to be changed to two beds. this process took till 1:15 AM in the morning to complete.
- we had specifically requested the triple room that had two levels so we could have our meetings in the room. We knew they didn’t have a meeting space for us, so we paid handsomely for that room to use for our meetings AND to store our luggage on Monday as our flight wasn’t till 9 pm that night. However, upon arrival our “triple” room was simply a regular room - not what we had requested. Quite upsetting.
- one of the elevators broke while we were getting bags up to the room - stranding two of our volunteers. they called the elevator company. we requested the elevator key and proceeded to extract our people, only with prodding of the front desk personnel.
- the breakfast buffet was not available as they have the room under construction. everyone had to order their food and have it delivered to the room.

Each of these items individually would not have been terribly problematic; however, all piled on together in a 20 minute period was quite upsetting. The staff worked diligently to resolve, but didn’t take the sting out of it. I requested a meeting with the manager in the morning.

I met with the front desk supervisor in the morning (not the manager) and he was sympathetic to our plight and apologized for the mixups. We came to a compromise and were allowed to keep half of the rooms throughout the next day to keep our bags and allow our group to freshen up before our night flight back to Houston. He also promised a refund of the “triple” room we never received. Still waiting on the refund however, which is very frustrating.

Great hotel location, just make double and triple sure to confirm your room - especially if you have a large group.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonMissionTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your preferrence and for choosing the IPANEMA INN for your group.

We are happy to say that our Reservation team have been changed and received constant training. We are now offering a great level of services and I can assure you that we are ready to receive requests from groups, companies and individuals and that all these reservations will run smoothly.

Please have our contact details so that we can be contacted by you and your group next time you are planning to come to Rio de Janeiro:

GRUPO ARPOADOR
+55 (21) 2529 1000
reservas@ipanemainn.com.br

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koeniz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ipanema Inn features a good location, close to Ipanema beach and a few blocks from an area with good restaurants and lively bars. Staff at the reception and breakfast buffet are very friendly, always professional and helpful. Also breakfast is excellent. The rooms are clean and modern but unfortunately also very small and quite dark (on the back side of the hotel) and thus a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for the great comments regarding our delicious breakfast, housekeeping services and interiors.

On your next visit to Rio de Janeiro, we would recommend one of the categories of larger rooms, such as the Superior or the Duplex Suite, the latter spread over two floor. These are both airy and bright, on top of being spacious and comfortable.

Hope to see you again soon at the IPANEMA INN.

Kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The main value of this hotel is the location - just a stone throw away from Ipanema beach, good neighborhood with the bars and restaurants. What amazed me was the fact that hotel staff really struggles with language skills I tried English and Spanish and can't say it was smooth and easy conversation indeed. Well, later I realized that is is pretty common thing in Brazil in the hotels. Considering the price hotel charges and the quality of the room well there is no match at all. It is very basic accommodation. Breakfast is not bad, not super rich selection but definitely local touch. So if you look for perfect location I recommend, the rest is average quality for non-standard price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for kindly reviewing the IPANEMA INN here.

We are very happy with the compliments and would like to announce that we now count with fluent concierge and receptionists, as waiting staff, that speak fluent English among other languages.

We hope you can be back at the IPANEMA INN soon, in order to experience all the renovations we have been implementing.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,674 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,359 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#62 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#7 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
234 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#23 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
794 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#84 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Property: Ipanema Inn
Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IPANEMA INN is a family-run boutique hotel located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing