We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, very very friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ipanema Inn
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, very very friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Ipanema Inn is perfectly located in the heart of Ipanema. The hotel is clean, the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent and the girls take good care of the guests.

The reception staff is very friendly and helpful and Almir will help you for all your request. I definetely will recommend this hotel and will be my choiche for my next trip to Rio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snencioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Gerente at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such an enthusiastic review about your recent stay with us.

It is very rewarding for all our teams to know that our excellent location is as much appreciated as it is our level of services. We have undergone some staff training throughout the year, which has generated amazing results, so I am personally glad that you have enjoyed it.
Your compliments have been passed along to the staff, who is very pleased by your words.

Let me thank you for also recommending our high level of services to other travellers.
We hope to see you soon back in Rio.

Our very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    523
    116
    24
    11
See reviews for
250
559
95
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

ups:
- location: this hotel is located smack in the middle of Ipanema and less than a block from the sea.
- service: outstanding! these people really do the effort to make a difference. and believe me I've stayed at Everest Park next door... this is so much better, staff are extremely helpful and always smiling. lgtb friendly too i may add, although that should be standard in this area it is not always a given.
- breakfast: excellent, eg they have not 1 but 3 kinds of wholesome breakfast cereals. they have not just the normal juices (natural not from cartons) but even açaí smoothie. 5+ kinds of fresh fruits... etc

ok's:
- the room is not refurbished but the sheets are clean and the cleaning personnel are always meticulous, so you do stay in a neat and clean environment.
- the design is not jet set but think what they would have to charge more if they needed to redo the hotel with designer rooms.
- the price is on the high side (although you can find discounts on the web) but this is what you get for staying in the best location in ipanema (I guess they have to pay the rent too...). honestly if you want to pay less you should stay away from this area. but: I do hope they donot raise price further as it would not be worth it.

overall: a positive experience value/money-wise, and definitely worth staying again next time!

Room Tip: street side rooms at least have a tiny sideview towards the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dirkdewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us, at IPANEMA INN, to be your host in Rio de Janeiro.

We would also like to thank you for highlighting the best of us by reviewing us here, as it is very pleasing to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us, in one of the best blocks of Ipanema, a stone's throw from the beach, but also next to the nicest restaurants and boutiques in town.

It is great to learn that guests have been enjoying the courtesy breakfast served daily, with seasonal and locally produced items: plenty of fresh fruits and freshly squeezed juices being some of those items, as you noticed, along with a large selection of bread, eggs of your choice and brazilian delicacies, such as the tapioca.

The refurbishment of the rooms at IPANEMA INN starts in beginning of the new year and will be done by mid-2013. As the hotel will keep open for the whole period, we hope you can follow the improvements being done.

Once again, thank you very much for such great review and for suggesting our hotel to other customers and we hope to see you soon.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the end of an action packed Contiki trip. The location is great, steps from Ipanema beach and close to lovely shops, bars and places to eat in this part of town which feels very safe. Staff were friendly and helpful though not all had good English. Free wifi throughout, very handy. Our room was a little dated but very clean and the shower was excellent, showers were the talk of this group of weary travellers!! Bathroom had sockets at both 110 and 220 volts meaning I could use both their provided hair dryer and my own European one: appreciated. This is not a fancy hotel but they are doing a lot right, you'll feel safe and comfortable here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leelaw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us, at IPANEMA INN.

I am glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location, a stone's throw from the best spot on Ipanema beach and the great shower.

We appreciate you reviewing us here and hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Our very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

A good hotel - nothing outstanding decor wise!!! Delicious breakfasts!! Very helpful staff!!! Again you are paying for location location location!!! Half a block from Ipanema Beach!!! Perfect!!! Was ok for us at last minute!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThursoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your preference while choosing IPANEMA INN.

Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices. I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart of Ipanema, 50 metres from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the area, as much as you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.

I hope to see you soon back at IPANEMA INN, when all our apartments will have been refurbished.

Kind regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ipanema Inn is too expensive for its level. Rates should be significantly lower, but unfortunately that is just an unreal desire when you are in Rio de Janeiro, when you are in Ipanema.

Hotels with ultrageous rates are a reality in Rio, mainly in the Ipanema/Leblon area. You have to accept that, otherwise you won't visit Rio. You must know you are going to pay a lot of money for hotels that simply don't deserve it. Live with that and enjoy Rio!

I paid 415 reais (202 US Dollars) per day for a double front room at Ipanema Inn. That was a lot of money if you consider only the hotel's quality by itself (forgetting this is Rio, Ipanema etc.).

Ipanema Inn is a simple hotel but you will be OK if you stay there. Don't worry.

Pros: very clean, location (half a block from Ipanema beach and near lots of shops, bars and restaurants), service (all employees are very gentle and helpful), breakfast (everthing is well prepared and tasty), umbrellas for rainy days, beach towels and umbrellas for sunny days, good bed, LCD TV with cable, in room safe.

Cons: decor (tired simple furniture), no charm at all, cheap look, small rooms, no hair drier in room (although there are a few at the reception desk), aircon (old, noisy and installed in an ugly way), courtains (vey old, ugly and moldy).

Conclusion: Ipanema Inn would be kidding if it were in a "normal" city and charging those high rates. But it is in Rio and it makes its rates be "normal" for the city's reality. It is a simple but decent hotel where you can stay with no worries.

But I can't forget that it would be a 150 reais (73 US dollars) hotel in my hometown...

Room Tip: Ask for a front room because there are some internal rooms that are not that nice. High floors are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DioPortoAlegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Gerente at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing IPANEMA INN.

It is great to hear how satisfied you were with most services in our hotel.
Our newly updated breakfast with a great diversity of fresh fruits and natural juices, freshly baked breads and a daily option, such as tapioca (the brazilian pancake), waffle and omelettes.

In the meantime, I hope you keep on enjoying the great level of service of our crew, the great range of services courtesy of the hotel: such as the beach and rain services and the courtesy wifi internet throughout the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to IPANEMA INN, in the new year, when the interiors of our hotel will be redone.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

For a 3 star hotel this really ticked my boxes! Very pleasantly surprised. Clean and stylish. Small and intimate. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice breakfast, fruit juices, loads of fresh fruit, bread, cheese, meat and omelettes to order. There may be more, I didn't ask! The rooms are large enough, good showers, safe in the room, mini bar (not expensive 6 BRL for a can of beer) and just a stroll to Ipanema beach! The hotel will offer you beach umbrellas and beach towels at no charge, which is a nice touch for a 3 star hotel. Free wi-fi throughout and two computers for guests use (foc) in reception. No bar in the hotel, but with two bars no more than 50 yards away, that is not an issue. Fantastic location, so many bars and restaurants just a stroll away. Just a 15 minute walk to the hippie fair on Sunday. And then there's the beach - who could need more? Only 30 mins approx from the international airport. I would go back to this hotel. One negative, the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy, so I chose not to use it. I was on business with a couple of days leisure. Perfect for my trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lobsterandchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us.

It is very rewarding to all of us to read such beautiful words that describe our facilities and services. In fact, our recently updated breakfast, with its great selection of fruits and daily dishes, has been greatly enjoyed by our guests. The refurbishment of our suites has already started, so new air conditioning units are being installed.

I am glad you also enjoyed our business corner, with two computer terminals and a printer, in addition to our beach service. In fact, that is our great goal: in IPANEMA INN is easy to join work and leisure.

Your compliments have been passed on to our staff who look forward to welcoming you back soon in Rio de Janeiro.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked this hotel because it had very good reviews and seemed reasonably priced, in comparison with all the others in the Ipanema area. It actually was a big disappointment.
The room was too small and the furniture looked like the one you would use on a filthy dorm room. The bathroom was also so small that could barely fit one average person. The staff was not helpful at all. We asked for info on two restaurants we read about, hoping also for help in making a reservation in case we picked one. They came out with a third option and made it clear they would book only that restaurant for us. As it all appeared a little fishy we read a few reviews on the restaurant they suggested and found out it was among the worst rated restaurants in Rio: a real tourist trap! Of course we did not go and made our own arrangements.
When we left, we asked the doorman for a cab but after wasting our time with useless questions (like how much did we pay on our way from the airport to the hotel...) he suggested to just walk out the road and stop a cab as they did not have their drivers available...who, by the way, would have charged us next to double of an average cab trip to the airport.
Besides the location and, maybe, breakfast, this hotel was an awful experience. I can't believe we paid 260 usd per night on a room that mostly anywhere else in the world would not be worth more than 40.
Would not definitively come back neither suggest this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank spart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We have been working hard to offer a wide range of special services to each of our guests.
This is reflected in the various services being offered in our hotel and most of our guests - the regular ones and the first-timers - have already noticed.

I have personally checked who had difficulty in following the high standards that we have set up to our hotel and which lead us to be so well positioned on Trip Advisor. Please rest assured as we have taken the measures so this situation never happens again.

Regarding our services, we can proudly say that our newly updated breakfast is an experience in itself: a daily selection of ten fresh fruits, along with freshly squeezed juices, organic granola and a specialty bread selection just out of the oven are just a few items. The tapioca (brazilian pancake) and other seasonal and locally produced items are an amazing addition to this meal. All courtesy of the hotel, as is the high speed wifi and beach service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in IPANEMA INN, when I will personally tour you through our refurbished suites, to be concluded by mid-2013.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#38 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,674 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,359 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#62 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
234 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,472 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#24 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Property: Ipanema Inn
Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IPANEMA INN is a family-run boutique hotel located in the very heart of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing