We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in safe area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #94 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Really good location, and hotel has its own chairs in beach. Really good food pool with an amazing view. The surrounding area felt safe. Breakfast was OK, the drinks /juices were really good and the food was OK. Internet worked in my room and was free. The room had a good view, shower was good, although the room was a bit basic, you probably wouldn't want rock carpets coming in from the beach, so no complaints. I stayed two nights and thought it was really good overall.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank ntijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PraiaIpanema, Gerente at Praia Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear (a), good night!

We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to receive them.
Always thank you for guests like you.
Praia Ipanema Hotel is open to reve it doors. I hope to return to our hotel.
I am disposal.

Besta Regards, Deise Rodrigues - Commercial Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

Honest review for those looking to visit Rio / Leblon. I stayed here for two nights and the location is good but the hotel is old and the staff is rude. Everyone is miserable who works there and dislikes foreigners. The lobby is good, but the rooms need to be redone. There are nicer hotels around also with good location for same price that seem much nicer. I think this hotel used to be good but now the staff and the rooms are outdated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

A quite expensive hotel (paid R$ 650,00 per day), and the hotel there is nothing to offer to cost it, apart from its location. Internet is not free anywhere in the hotel and they do not have even an iron. As I had been there for business I really needed one. Service takes longer, does bot matter what you are requesting. Surely you can find something better nearby for the same rate.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Thiago_ADS_Gomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PraiaIpanema, Gerente at Praia Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. , boa tarde!

Agradecemos pelo seu contato bem como sua avaliação sobre sua hospedagem no Praia Ipanema Hotel. Verdadeiramente lamentamos não ter sido possível atender a contento e pedimos nossas sinceras desculpas por isso. Gostaríamos de rever essa situação e por isso solicitamos uma segunda oportunidade em recebê-lo no Hotel com uma estada mais direcionada e com condições especiais para o Sr.
Agradeceria receber seus contatos no e-mail: vendas@praiaipanema.com.br . Dessa forma será possível acioná-lo.

Obrigada pela atenção dispensada, Comercial - Praia Ipanema Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Talk about going to Brazil and getting ripped off!!!The hotel made me pay up front for four days and we ended up only staying six hours. This hotel checked us out and told us everything was good and I was reinbursed on my credit card. I find out they LIED and and now telling me that they will not refund me for the days I did not stay there. Unbelieviable!!!! The hotel was terrible and the front desk people was irritable and unfriendly the room smelled and was not workth the pay rate at all. I STONGLY ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel I had a horrible experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

You know: if you're going to Rio, you're not expect to swim in the sea. The water is usually cold enough to make you feel like a popsicle. But it's still ok to spend the day lying in the sun, and probably Leblon is the place to stay. It's amazingly beautiful, calm, with nice shops and restaurants. A really pleasant place to be - even if you need to go a little bit far to enjoy touristic attractions or even do business.

Usually, staying in this neighborhood is really expensive. But in this hotel you will be one block away from Leblon, right in the end of the world famous beach of Ipanema. It's probably the most affordable way of staying in this neighborhood. As a bonus: most bedrooms have at least a very nice view.

Despite its wonderful location, there's nothing special about this hotel. Indeed, it's only a ordinary hotel, and it'd be really ordinary if it was anywhere else.

There's nothing specifically bad, but there's nothing remarkable as well. But, in this location, anything nicer would be much more expensive.

In the end, it's just value for money: if you can't find anything better anywhere else and does not want to spend more money to stay in Leblon, this may be the best choice.

Final tip: the beach can be noisy sometimes, therefore, ask for the highest room you can.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Edooardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipa706, Guest Relations Manager at Praia Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Mr. Nasi,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Praia Ipanema in your recent visit to Rio de Janeiro and for taking time to write a review in Trip Advisor!
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location, the hotel is surrounding by great choices of shops, bars, restaurants and also has a stunning view!

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was hesitant to book this hotel intially bc there were so many hot and cold reviews. My thoughts (as concise as possible) are below:

Pros -

Clean rooms.

Fantastic location. Ipanema and Leblon (next door) are much better than Copacabana and this hotels has dozens of restaurants within a few blocks. Great view of the mountains and obviously beach front.

Good service. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and tried to accommodate my wife and I whenever possible. Almost everyone spoke english, which is a contrast to the locals (most people I found knew very little, if any, english).

Very nice rooftop pool area.

Great breakfast for the money.

Cons -

No internet, but none of other hotels offered that as well

The hotel is definitely dated but the renovation is noticeable



Overall - I think that this hotel is great. For those who gave bad reviews, I would imagine that they are comparing it to the JW or a comparable property. This hotel is not a United States 4-star beach resort, but remember, you arent paying for that. If you want a great location and a great value, this is a great option.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor direct ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcsfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipa706, Guest Relations Manager at Praia Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Praia Ipanema and for taking the time to write a review about your stay! It was a pleasure to hear that you think our bar and the pool at the rooftop were a plus and our staff friendly and helpful!

As you said our hotel is under renovation to better serve all of our guests. Once again, we appreciate you taking time to share your valuable and constructive comment with us.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during rock in Rio and got an upgraded room on the 10th floor.
Room was clean and views amazing.
Hotel breakfast could have been a lot better. Rooftop pool and resturant were brilliant and beers in the pool overlooking Ipanema beach is unreal.
Great beach access and you do get umbrellas and chairs from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SG-092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pipa706, Guest Relations Manager at Praia Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Praia Ipanema in your recent visit to Rio de Janeiro and for taking time to write a review in Trip Advisor!
We are really pleased that you were delighted with all aspects of your stay and that you enjoyed the stunning view and hotel facilities. We all love what we do but it is so nice when our guests let us know that they appreciate us – great motivation!

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next stay!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#79 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,237 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#47 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,837 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#9 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,204 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#25 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,731 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Ipanema Hotel

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 706, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-012, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $148 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Praia Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio's most charming beach just a glance away. Sophistication, beauty and good taste all put together to offer you unforgettable moments in one of the world's most exclusive neighborhoods. Perfection is having a breathtaking scenery day and night right at your feet without the need to leave your balcony. At Praia Ipanema Hotel this is possible as all of our guestrooms offer beachfront views. We are prepared to provide the best stay for any occasion with the top-quality and customized service that makes Praia Ipanema Hotel an unforgettable setting from the moment you check in. Aside from the privileged location that allows guests to enjoy not only a stunning sun-filled beach but also all the fashion, culture and entertainment that Rio's most inspiring neighborhood has to offer, Praia Ipanema Hotel provides leisure options such as, a steam sauna, beach service with sunbeds, a heated swimming pool with infinity border overlooking the ocean and the Lobby Bar, a cozy and modern environment for those who enjoy spending time savoring on a nice drink. Ipanema is the perfect place to meet people and discover trends and styles. Famous for being one of Bossa Nova's birthplaces, it's the ideal spot to enjoy great moments in a very special way. Choose the hotel that knows Ipanema like no other and let us surprise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Praia Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praia Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Praia Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing