We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is a winner, otherwise average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #89 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights having moved across from another hotel on Copacobana. This was an improvement. Ipanema and Leblon was much preferred to Copacobana. Hotel location is excellent, right on the beach. Rooftop pool area is small but pleasant and has fabulous views. Hotel overall is a bit dated and tired but the room was clean and fine. Wifi didn't work well. Breakfast was of good quality although not outstanding. Staff service was pretty good but patchy at times. Like many hotels in Rio value for money is poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Arriving at Praia Ipanema Hotel at 4:00 AM is equivalent to being at a bus stop in the middle of nowhere. Once you have your credit card running, then you might have some help. Otherwise, you can consider yourself "homeless".
Yes, it's a great location.... and yes, they have a wonderful breakfast.... but it is hugely overpriced, overrated and very specially hostile. Maybe you can just rent a day at the swimming pool if you desperately want to be at Ipanema.

Room Tip: Unless you have a Panoramic Seascape, forget it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaSloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went to Rio for the very first time, I knew Copacabana beach was always crowded, so I wanted to see Ipanema, I found this hotel and read some good reviews, we stayed 5 nights, the view from our room directly to Ipanema was priceless, although the service wasn't a great deal. We arrived very early in the morning and couldn`t check in, they gave us a voucher for free breakfast (yes breakfast is not included). When we finally got to our room it was nice and clean, the building is old like most of the hotels arround, and certainly a bit of better maintenance was needed, but in general it was good, we received a welcome drink and mini cupcakes plus a very nice note from the Manager.
The best is that the hotel has free service of towels and umbrellas so you don't have to rent any, and thje area is quiet at night, unless you dislike the sound of the sea, which for me was amazing.
I would reccommend the hotel, but mind it won't be the best service you can expect.

Room Tip: ask the front rooms complete view to the beach, it`s absolutely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabymoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I frequently use this hotel for a 1 day business trip. Rooms are very old, service is very poor, but location is amazing. Very over priced for the service offered. I would recommend this hotel only if it was a last option in ipanema leblon area.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located, at the end of Ipanema close to Leblon on the ocean front. The roof top swimming pool is a must and you feel Rio on your feet in one of the best locations of the beach line. Rooms are spacious and there is a simple beach service - chairs and umbrellas available. The negative point is that they charge for WiFi. It does not make sense nowadays...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PraiaIpanema, Gerente at Praia Ipanema Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Praia Ipanema Hotel and for your comments regarding your stay. We are sorry to learn about the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies. Your information regarding our level of service and bathroom conditions were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order prevent similar situations from happening in the near future. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back when you next visit Rio de Janeiro.
Kind regards,

Deise Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We picked this hotel because of the excellent location right on Ipanema Beach.
Unfortunately the overall feedback is not respecting the expectation.
The lobby and common areas are quite new and well mantained.
The rooms on the other side, are very simple but not well maintained. Bathroom was old with mustiness on the corners. Room was terribly humid due to the lack of airconditioning. The furniture and linen quality very poor.
Breakfast is served on the first floor with a panoramic view over the beach.
Is quite complete in terms of options (fruits, juices, cookies, waffles, eggs, cheese) but of average quality.
There is a nice rooftop with a small pool atop. from there you can enjoy a great view over Ipanema.
Considering the high price paid for a basic room, I must say that this hotel is much beyon expectation. Locationwise is perfect if you stay all day out by the beach but maintenace and overall architecture, decor are quite poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over Ipanema
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuDiMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

In front of the beach with a wonderfull view at the swimpool roof.
The breakfast have different things to eat and all of them are made with care.
Wifi in all the hotel but it's a paid service.
The negative thing it's the wave noise that enters in the room by the balcony. They should repair the balcony room doors.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Nuno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,202 reviews
Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Sofitel Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
#44 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,764 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,630 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,179 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#66 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Ipanema Hotel

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto 706, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-012, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $133 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Praia Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio's most charming beach just a glance away. Sophistication, beauty and good taste all put together to offer you unforgettable moments in one of the world's most exclusive neighborhoods. Perfection is having a breathtaking scenery day and night right at your feet without the need to leave your balcony. At Praia Ipanema Hotel this is possible as all of our guestrooms offer beachfront views. We are prepared to provide the best stay for any occasion with the top-quality and customized service that makes Praia Ipanema Hotel an unforgettable setting from the moment you check in. Aside from the privileged location that allows guests to enjoy not only a stunning sun-filled beach but also all the fashion, culture and entertainment that Rio's most inspiring neighborhood has to offer, Praia Ipanema Hotel provides leisure options such as, a steam sauna, beach service with sunbeds, a heated swimming pool with infinity border overlooking the ocean and the Lobby Bar, a cozy and modern environment for those who enjoy spending time savoring on a nice drink. Ipanema is the perfect place to meet people and discover trends and styles. Famous for being one of Bossa Nova's birthplaces, it's the ideal spot to enjoy great moments in a very special way. Choose the hotel that knows Ipanema like no other and let us surprise you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Praia Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Praia Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Praia Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing