We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room to rest during unexpected flight delay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Ranked #87 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean room to rest during unexpected flight delay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Due to weather in the USA, our flight from Rio was canceled. Tam Airlines gave us vouchers for dinner and a room at the Windsor Guanabara. We spent only about 6 hours at the hotel. We found it to be completely acceptable. The dinner buffet had decent options; the room was clean. I think the rating based on our short visit only at night is lower than it might have been if we had time to ask the hotel for a room with a functioning air conditioner. The room was hot and the light was dim. But really it was fine for what we needed. However, we payed nothing, so I can't complain. Better by far than a cot at the airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sbecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    592
    291
    49
    22
See reviews for
105
134
66
829
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, great location for travelling if your not a beach bum and like the hustle and bustle of city life, about 60 BR from the Airport, use a company inside and they give you a ticket for a registered cab, they all speak english, very helpful.
My room was always clean and good furnish, with air con. The staff were always helpful and service is great. Breakfast was a buffet style with everything you can imagine,. The most thing I enjoyed was siiting on the terrace on the skyscraper roof (has nice outside pool ,and adjacent gym, sauna, best of all after a day of meetings overlooking the bay and chilling out with a cold drink. Ideal business stop but with the replication of a beach hotel at half the price, but your only a 20 min drive from the beach anyway, also there is the harbour nearby (5 mins) and good sight seeing...dont be put off, they were helpful and nice people.. or just use as a stop over..100%

Room Tip: get one at the top, views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robsworldtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was in Barra for business and had to extend my stay during a long weekend. I tried to find a hotel in Copacabana, but everything was fully booked and I ended up at the Windsor Guanabara. I was of course initially a little disappointed that I could not stay anywhere near a beach, but I have to admit that I started to love this hotel the longer I was there.

My room was nothing special, but comfortable, quiet and really clean. The furniture was a little dated except for a brand new Samsung TV. The WIFI internet worked without any problems and was fast. The staff was very friendly and really understands what service is all about.

What surprised me most was the restaurant. There is an excellent breakfast buffet and also in the evenings there is a very good buffet and an a la carte menu as well. As already pointed out, the rooftop swimming pool is very small, but it is nice to go up there just for the view. I can certainly recommend this hotel when on business in Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OmeJuup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

My room was quite large, comfortable and quiet, in the midst of bustling, noisy downtown Rio. The windows do an amazing job of muffling all noise. Other than that, I loved being downtown; it's not touristy but it's very exciting, with great food options and good people watching. Breakfast is abundant and varied. The rooftop tiny swimming pool is not worth it, but don't miss going there for the view! My only complaint is that I asked for an iron and they told me they don't have any; that I should use the hotel laundry service instead. I used the true and tried shower steaming method. I recommend the hotel for people doing business in Rio, but not for tourism.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spacious rooms with air-con, free wi-fi, towels and en-suite with an awesome shower! There is a small pool on the roof with good views of the city. There is also a sauna and small gym too. All staff were good and the buffet breakfast is an amazing spread of breads, fresh fruits, pastries and more - staff continuously walk around topping up your coffee. Good room service, didn't try the restaurant in the evening. All in all good, but not for the price - would have been a fair deal at two thirds of what I paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObjectiveOracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigre, Argentina
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Internet, because it was close to my clients office. It turned out to be a good hotel. Fantastic buffet breakfast. Good service and reasonable rooms for its price. If you're a tourist, there's better locations. If you're on business, and need to business downtown, this is a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colesterol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel has over 500 rooms! The front desk staff speak very good English and have been very helpful. The location is sort of in the "Wall Street" of Rio and closes down pretty early in the evening. Very easy to get a taxi right out front and they are not all that expensive, less than 45 Real to Ipanema. The room was decent sized by European standards but there aren't too many extras like no coffee pot. Wireless internet in the room can only handle one device at a time, which is annoying when trying to use a laptop and a cel phone for outside communication.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zogadap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Windsor Florida Hotel
#36 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#118 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#53 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro San...
#52 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#72 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Centro
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airport
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airp...
#41 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Guanabara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Property: Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Address: Avenida Presidente Vargas, 392, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20071-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#49 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Guanabara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Rio. Windsor Guanabara is located in the heart of Rio de Janeiro Downtown with easy access to both airports and the South Zone. During your stay, be sure to visit all the touristic points of the city. Staying at Windsor Guanabara, on the cultural corridor of the City, it is close to several tourist attractions such as the Candelaria Church, Bank of Brazil Cultural Center, Museum of Tomorrow, AquaRIO and the newly inaugurated area Praça Mauá (Olympic Boulevard), among others places… The hotel has 23 floors, with comfortable rooms and top quality services. Pool, Sauna and fitness center are located on the top floor. There is also space for events, meeting rooms with the latest equipment. The hotel has free wireless internet and also a Parking Lot (From Monday to Thursday applications apply - On Weekends there are no charges). Touristic Places nearby: Olympic Boulevard Museum of Art Museum of Tomorrow Pier Mauá Porto Maravilha VLT Candelária Church Pier Mauá AquaRIO Pedra do Sal Mosteiro de São Bento Confeitaria Colombo Praça XV Paço Imperial Santos Dumont Airport Marina da Glória ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Guanabara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Guanabara Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing