We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average. Does not meet expectations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Ranked #86 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The hotel is in Centro. Very busy street. Somehow it does not do justice to four star status. Rooms are okay. Nothing special. Food is below par. No change in buffet. Same menu everyday. No wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saumitrasengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here for my last two nights in Rio. This hotel was bigger than any of the other hotels I stayed at in Brazil so it had a more corporate feel to it. The other hotels had more of a family feel to it.

This hotel has many business persons staying here and it was busy. The reception spoke English and check in was quick and easy.

The rooms were in good order, air conditioner worked great. The shower had the same problem I had at the other Rio hotel. It took the hot water a long time to get going. Once it kicked in, no problem. Maybe it's a Rio thing?

They have a small pool and small gym on the roof with some good views of the bay. Nice to take pictures there. I did take advantage of the gym.

The breakfast was awesome. Biggest spread of all the places I stayed at in brazil. Good selection and variety.

If you need to stay downtown, this is a good place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here during the recent carnival as an add on package after a cruise. The security was appalling you could ask for any key and it was handed to you without question. We left our room for approximately 2 hours and during that time someone entered and stole my i.pad. It was hidden but not in the safe as there was not enough room for all our cameras, money, passports etc.The management did little, one question to the maid and that was it. I feel, without a doubt, that this was common practice in this hotel as other members of our group knew that someone had been through their belongings and that the attitude of staff was so uncaring.The area was described unsafe by an English resident of Rio.

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s_williams943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Definitely not a four star! It's a really dodgy area but the fact that the carnival was on helped as there were lots of police around even to guard he cases while the coach was being unloaded. Breakfast was plentiful but the only hot dish was scrambled eggs. Lots of cakes! No wi if in the rooms but a really slow connection in reception. No local restaurants it costs about £15 to go to Copacobana by taxi where here are lots of eating places well worth it. Don't expect seat belts in the back of the taxis. They don't exist.
We had a fabulous time in Rio though!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors for the view. If you are there during the carnival ge a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I had a great time at Windsor, went to stay 2 nights.

Everything was very good: breakfast, cleaning, room, beds..

My problem was with the receptionists. Thought they were really rude and didnt feel lime helping me with some questions about the location. In the other hand the messenger guy, the cleaning ladoes and the staff from the restaurant was very nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brubastos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Myself and my partner (both in our 20's) were a bit dubios about staying here over New Years 2011/12 when we had read the reviews however I must say it was lovely.

Our room was on the 17th floor overlooking the city, very spacious and clean. The staff were excellent and friendy, very helpful and either spoke english or immediately found someone who could.

We did walk around Rio on our own and found there to be no problems - which was suprisingly considering it was the week of New Years and we'd been told to watch out for pickpockets.

The Hotel organised a tour for us around Rio - which was far better than the one I did previously and our bathroom even had a jacuzzi!

The resturant food and room service were both good filling meals and although the alcohol in the mini bar in our room was quite expensive everything else was reasonable and value for money.

Whilst it was in Centro and not on Copacabana we found yellow taxi's to be very reasonable - approx R$ 20 a trip. Not bad at all!

Would defiantely go there again - really great hotel.

Room Tip: 17th floor was really great! Resturant and Bar is on the 2nd floor and pool/gym/sauna is on the roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirstenelizabeth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the New Years ever period this year. I was surprised at how nice the hotel was from the staff to the rooms. The shower was excellent and the rooms were simple buy clean and comfortable. The rooftop pool, patio is lovely. The staff is VERY friendly and helpful. The parking was available at the rear of the hotel for 20.00 R a day which was a big question before I arrived. We took cabs to town at night from the hotel because the area and wanting to have a drink. This worked very well. The area outside the hotel is not somewhere you would want to venture alone at night but it's not as bad as portrayed in other reviews. During the day, Centro offers a great area to walk and check out the old buildings very nearby. Lots of cafes and shopping just a short walk away. The new renovation of the Opera House is amazing. All in all a great place

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambridge301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#48 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
681 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#131 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#139 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flamengo
Windsor Florida Hotel
Windsor Florida Hotel
#33 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,093 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#215 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
164 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#91 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Guanabara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Address: Avenida Presidente Vargas 392, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20071-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#49 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $63 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Guanabara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Rio. Tranquility and refinement, in the Heart of Rio de Janeiro. Windsor Guanabara Hotel has a privileged location in the cultural corridor of Rio de Janeiro. Within a few minutes you can reach several tourist attractions and also the main transportation terminals of the city such as: Subway, Trains, VLT, Santos Dumont Airport, Antônio Carlos Jobim International Airport and Novo Rio Bus Station. Ideal for those visiting the city on business or pleasure, the hotel offers ample space for events, meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment, business center for printing services, copy and scanning, international cuisine restaurant, and a beautiful view of the great sights of the city on our Top Floor. Explore the region's highlights such as the Olympic Boulevard, Tomorrow's Museum, Rio's Art Museum, the city's new transportation: the Light Rail Vehicle (VLT) and the newest AquaRIO to enjoy a complete and unforgettable experience, Besides other renowned and known areas of the region. Parking available for guests with an additional charge of R $ 35.00 (Monday to Thursday). From Friday to Sunday, parking is free. Tourist attractions nearby: Rio Museum of Art Museum of Tomorrow National Historical Museum Museum of Modern Art of Rio Banco do Brasil Cultural Center Olympic Boulevard Pier Mauá Maravilha Porto Candelária Church AquaRIO Pedra do Sal Monastery of St. benedict Confectionery Colombo Square XV Arco dos Teles Imperial Palace Santos Dumont Airport Antônio Carlos Jobim International Airport Vivo Rio Arena Marina da Glória Odeon Theater (Centro Cultural Luiz Severiano Ribeiro) Lapa Arches Theatro Municipal France Brazil Museum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Windsor Guanabara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Guanabara Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing