We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in Copacabana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
Ranked #58 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a good hotel which I would consider meeting expectations for the location and price.
The rooms I had was clean and everything worked.
The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good.
Hotel is located 3 blocks from the beach with plenty of restaurants in the immidiate area.
In short everything as good, but do not expect any WOW factor.
One fly in the ointment - I asked for a late check-out since my flight was not until that evening, but no, that was denied.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bencare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, Gerente geral at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking some of your time to help us with your comments.
Regarding the late check out issue, I would like to state the we do our best to attend our guests needs but we can't do that if it means that we will not be able to provide another guest with his contracted services. As the check in time is 2pm, if we are fully booked it makes it difficult (sometimes impossible) to provide a late check out. What we can and do is to store the bags (free service) and allow the guest to continue to use our facilities (pool, free internet etc.).
Anyway, We do hope that you understand our situation and I take this opportunity to put myself at your disposal for any further assistance you might need when traveling to Rio.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were picked up at the airport by the hotel´s courtesy minivan and after 10 mins arrived at the hotel. The reception and booking in was quick and easy. Our first stop was to the bar and swimming pool at the top......spotlessly clean and again good service. Breakfast to say the least was magnificent, clean and a choice beyond words. we were sorry to leave after 4 days and would highly recommend this as it is a 3 min walk from teh beach and buses and taxis easily available.

Room Tip: Book the hotel with your flight, we chose TAM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, Gerente geral at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and services.
I'm certain that these comments will be of great value for the tripadvisor users planning to come to Rio as they were for us.
We hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I had a great stay here over the New Years holiday for several nights. Some of the recent reviews made me worry about the upkeep of the hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and spotless and modern it was. My room was no frills decor-wise, and on the small side, but it was fully equipped with everything I needed (including a mini fridge) and again, it was totally clean which is the most important thing I care about. Nice roomy (and again, spotless) bathroom with great water pressure and fully stocked with amenities. I personally heard no noise from neighbors or street noise on the 11th floor (even during the noisy holiday).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly Everton and Eduardo went out of their way to help my friend and myself with questions and requests. The breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise as well. Someone had the nerve to complain about it in an earlier review; it was included in the hotel price for me (it's free, how can you complain!) Even if I had paid, the buffet blew me away because it's huge, both cooked and continental items, all decent. The rooftop pool area is small but chic with a full service bar and great views of the city. You can borrow beach towels to bring to the beach which is only like 3-4 blocks away. Free wifi took a little setting up, but once it was working, it was great to have.

You are walking distance to the Metro to go to Centro (Downtown) and also can easily get cheap cab rides to other parts of Copa and Ipanema and Leblon. You are right by several supermarkets and drugstores and banks (HSBC across the street worked with my bank card, not all of the banks in Brazil do, be careful!) for other needs. The front desk is happy to arrange tours as well (and there are also several travel agencies nearby too.)

There is a free shuttle to the airport (I didn't know how to arrange it coming in, but definitely try to reserve it on the way out. On the way in, I took something called Premium Onibus that took a long time/made a lot of stops, but ended up luckily stopping right next to the hotel and cost $12 real).

I loved Rio, have fun!

Room Tip: You could request a higher floor to maybe reduce street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, Gerente geral at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Chain for stay in Rio. I'm really glad that you've enjoyed it and also that you loved our city.
I also thank you for sharing your good experience with other tripadvisor users.
The Windsor Plaza team wishes you a happy new year and we do hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Arrived there on old years eve'. Nice views from the top and rooms and food are all up to standard. Staff were helpfull and fairly friendly. Also within 5min walk to famous Copacabana beach and much cheaper than other hotels that sits on the beach. Copacabana beach is really something to experience on 31 December with the fireworks,DJ's and people. Would def stay there again.

Thank stewie911
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
I`m really glad that you`ve enjoyed your stay at the Windsor Plaza and also the Réveillon at Copacabana.
We do hope to welcome you again very soon.
Please feel free to contact me if you need any assistance with your travel arrangements.
Happy new year!
Neube Brigagão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a place not only next door to the Copa Copacabana beach but its right in the middle of the buzzing vibrant city of Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is clean it is comfort and has free wifi in each room. Most of the staff can speak English and can help you with an enquiries about the hotel or the city.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the beach you will have to ask when you make a booking as the hotel is surroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bianca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, Gerente geral at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Plaza Copacabana. Sharing your experience is of great value not only to us but to all the trip advisor users.
I also would like to take this opportunity to whish you a fantastic 2013.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Same standard as the other Windsor hotels in Rio.
Rooms were OK, clean, well serviced etc.
I'd like to say that one girl at receiption (her name escapes me) really went the extra mile to ensure that my booking at the Windsor Excelsior was in place after a mix up. She helped with translations and telephone calls. Thank you.

It just doesn't have the views, thats all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eob1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,
I am really glad that our helpfull staff made a big difference for you. To meet and exceed our guests expectations are our only goal, and reading your words makes me feel that we are going in the right direction.
Thanks for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience with the world.
We do hope to welcome you again at the "Marvelous City" very soon!
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at 3am in Rio, so needed a place to stay for a few hours. This was $200 a night, cheap for Rio, but it was a very small pokey room, with an awful view. The bathroom to be fair was very nice, didn't eat breakfast just got out of there. Staff at front desk were nice enough, but it felt soulless and like a glorified hostel. I'd be very disappointed if I was staying there for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mij l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your review. During 2013 we will be renovating our rooms so if you have any suggestions we will be glad to hear them. It's sad that you didn't tried our breakfast as it is highly regarded by our guests. I would definittly recommend that in another stay.
Please feel free to contact me at anytime in case you decide to try our services again. It will be a pleasure to help you.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#40 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,081 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
780 reviews
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#27 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#30 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,161 reviews
Copacabana
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,520 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel

Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel 263 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011-011, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $79 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renewed in 1999, the Windsor Plaza Hotel has become the perfect choice for business travelers who also wants to enjoy the wonders of Rio de Janeiro. Its facilities were designed to attend the highest expectations of those who need a nice place to work and relax. Our location is simply perfect as we are located just as close to downtown as to the main touristic spots in Rio. The hotel offers 24 hours room service, free high speed internet, cable tv with English, German, French Spanish and Italian spoken channels, beach service, laundry, 2 digital telephone lines in the room, business center and fitness center. We also offer a free transfer to / from the International and local airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing