We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located, but old”
Review of Everest Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Everest Rio Hotel
Ranked #177 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Well located, but old”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed there for a week last July (I was in Rio for business). The hotel is very well located; the region is very nice, with lots of restaurants, shops, and very close to the beach. The room is spacious, but everything is dated, old, some things not even working well. The breakfast was good, served in a terrace with a very nice view, but nothing exceptional. For the price they charge, you can get a much better hotel in Rio.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    279
    191
    79
    56
See reviews for
122
169
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been there on feb 2013. Almost excellent location, good room. The staff on breakfast is good, reception staff looks tired. The young tall receptionist is not polite at all and even arrogant. I was a usual tourist, but i'm Head of Sales and Marketing at on of the best 4 star hotel in St.Petersburg. So i'm able to recognise the good staff and bad one. The young girl on reception who accommodate me on 22nd floor on arrival was sincerely welcoming, smiling and polite! I'm sorry - i dont remember her name - but she is really hotelier minded person. So, the room was sezed enough. The furniture and walls in bathroom was not the nice, but ok. But the ocean view from the room was just amazing! Even at rainy days!
breakfast area is spacious and has a great opportunity to see the 360 degree around area. Roof-top swimming pool looked small and tired, not fresh area. But ok in general.
Finally i had the bad expirirence on departure. I asked a late check-out (1-2 hours extra). Again the tall young receptionist confirmed availability, but it was strictly payable service 50% nightly rate. I spent 7 nights at their hotel and left a quite big amount. And they asked me to pay 50% even for 1 hour. I know this worldwide rule. But all the good guest oriented hotels around the world doesnt care about 1 hour extra for their 1week guest - they are always pleased to let the guest to stay one- hours free for the late flighted guests if rooms are available (as at this time). The same level good business hotel in Sao Paolo made it for me (+3 hours free) with the very sincere guest respectful smiles. So, learn profession from them.
*The room windows are very wide opening. Not safe. Take care.

If you are don't mind minused moments - hotel is good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgorRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
648 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We spent three nights here while visiting for a conference. Our room on the 20th floor provided us with an excellent view of Ipanema Beach looking east; it also provided us with pleasant ocean sounds and breezes with our window open. Although the room was beginning to look a bit dated, it was quite sizable and more than met our needs. The breakfast in the rooftop restaurant each morning was outstanding; plenty of fresh fruits, juices, pastries, and prepared dishes. The view from the rooftop was equally outstanding; too bad the rooftop pool was closed for renovation. Although their is no fitness center, we did enjoy running along the path that parallels the beach. The wifi worked well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My experience wasn't bad, per se. The rooms are a decent size, the shower has decent pressure, their 360 degree restaurant has wonderful views, beach towels upon request, and reservation included breakfast... oh and its in a GREAT location.

The bad items: paper thin walls, an ant problem even though I was on the 10th floor, service ranged from excellent to very poor. Oh and the pool is under construction! Shouldn't we get a discount? They also offer car service to the airport, but it costs 15 real more than a cab... weird.

Morning of my checkout I needed to print boarding passes. I waited in line. And waited. And waited. Meanwhile Maria Emilia (one of the hotel staff) kept taking others who were behind me! All I needed was the password to the computer, she didn't even ask me what I needed. I know I'm a woman, but at least show me some respect, woman to woman. When the other person in the front desk got to me, it took him almost five minutes to get a simple password. All in all, I think the whole thing cost me about 25 minutes. Oh and there was only one other person in line to start with.

All that stated, I thought it was decent. I'll probably stay there again if I can't find another hotel with a good location at a reasonable price.

Quick caveat - some of the staff there were EXCELLENT. In particular a male concierge (I don't remember his name). The girl concierge wasn't the most helpful, and I feel like I got ripped off on the "Rio Express" tour she recommended (I'll write a review for that one soon - basically go with another tour company).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxyc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Some of the rooms are old and smelly (the first they gave me). The elevators do not work properly, the lights were off in one, the doors open and close in a flash in another as if it was a joke. The service is unpleasant and totally incompetent. Overall a really lousy experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gula09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had a pleasant stay for one night at this hotel. The room was very nice, clean, and appeared to be recently updated. The hotel is very close to the beach, and also has a few restaurants and bars in the neighborhood. The large breakfast buffet was served on the top floor of the building, with a gorgeous 360-degree view of the city and beach. You can't really top having your morning coffee with a view like that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dunlin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I know... hotels in Rio are always pricey. So I'll ignore this point from now on.
The hotel is good and location is great, just a block from Ipanema beach. The pool was being reconstructed, so it was not possible to enjoy it on the rooftop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostroptrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#154 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#117 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Ipanema
Everest Park Hotel
Everest Park Hotel
#261 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#64 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everest Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everest Rio Hotel

Property: Everest Rio Hotel
Address: Rua Prudente de Morais 1117, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-041, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Everest Rio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Everest Rio Hotel offer the most confortable acomodations just a few steps from the beach. The pool and the bar, in the last floor of the hotel have a great view of the Lake Rodrigo de Freitas and the beautiful beaches Ipanema and Leblon. We also have beach service as a courtesy. The restaurant Grill 360°, with an international kitchen, offer confort and a terrace for you to enjoy the city view. The hotel dispose of a Japanese restaurant in the firsts floor. The Everest Rio Hotel is located only 4km far from tourists atractions like the Cristo Redentor (Christ the Redeemer) and 2,5km far from the city Botanical Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Everest Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Everest Rio
Everest Rio De Janeiro
Everest Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing