We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Ipanema's strip”
Review of Everest Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Everest Rio Hotel
Ranked #179 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“In the Ipanema's strip”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've been here few years ago, now just recollecting memories on the way back to Brazil. The location is great: a block away from the Ipanema's beach and few ones to lake Lagoa. You are really in that tiny strip of sands between sweet and salt water. Rooms are nice, the first two nights I've been in a small and noisy (for the proximity of an ac generator) room, then, after a complain to the staff (complaining, even rudely, is the best way to get to a point in Brasil), we've been moved to a better rooms that was spacious and welcoming. Breakfast is served on the rooftop of Everest Park hotel, beside the corner. If you go for that, you need to get out of the hotel, there's no internal connection. Staff is definitely helpful, just avoid to take cars or cabs in front of the hotel, you will be paying an extracharge, namely "propina".

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    281
    193
    80
    56
See reviews for
126
171
41
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed two days with a good friend at Everest Hotel in Ipanema. The hotel is perfectly located about a block away from the beach. The staff is professional and helpful. I also like the fact that you get complimentary beach towels and chairs to use at the beach. In addition, they have a nice rook top restaurant and pool. You can take amazing pictures from the surrounding area. It was my first time at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. If your planning on traveling to Rio, I would recommend this hotel. The complimentary breakfast is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyManagerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

In the heart of ipanema - great location!
Great view from the roof top - including breakfast was there
The swimming pool is a joke with place for no more than 5 people
Small rooms, very basic
Bathroom was really in a bad condition - water leaking from the shower, very old tile
Will try to find something better close by next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinMihaylov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel around New Year's eve. Understandibly, this is a very busy season, but the prices the hotel charged for this period were outrageous. For this price we could have stayed in a wonderful luxury hotel anywhere in Europe.

Highlights: location was good, in the ver nice area of Ipanema, close to the beach and restaurants, cafés, shops and the Lagoa. The bed was extremely big and comfortable. Reception staff were friendly and, by Brazilian standards, very efficient.

Problems: overpiced, overpriced, overpriced. The room was nice, but the bathroom looked like a bathroom dating from the 80s and was pretty depressing (for example there was so little light, once you closed the door to the shower you were almost showering in the dark).

At these prices I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have stayed here now three times over last 6 years and the hotel has gone down hill dramatically. They have a lot to learn about the hospitality and service industry. Very poor service. Staff are slow and extremely rude.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Looking at the reviews here, I still took a chance mostly because I had extended my stay in Rio for a day to fiisih taking care of a few things and the other hotel that I was staying at was full. It seemed that nearly all of RIo was full for a last minute booking so I had to settle on the Everest.

So of course, I had to check out of my first hotel before 12. When I arrived at the Everest Rio at 11:30, they said that they had been full, had no empty clean rooms, and thus I couldnt check in until 2 pm.

No problem.

I went out for lunch with a friend and came back at 2:30.

The receptionist said, sorry, still no rooms and look at how many people are waiting.

With patience, I said fine and went out to run errands. Came back at 4 pm. Then a new receptionist said that they had no rooms at all and were full. I repeated (then in Portuguese) that I had a reservation but he said, sorry, he couldnt find my reservation. I complained and directed him to the man standing next to him who had been dealing with my reservation earlier in the day. That man nodded at the second guy and miraculously my reservation appeared....but no room.

Now I was upset and said this is inexcusable and please call a manager. Then the receptionist picked up the phone, called housekeeping, and I had a my room for the night.

The hotel is nice and the location is pretty good in Ipanema. But this episode, which I still cant figure out, it all left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott_Lombok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ok hotel, nothing great about it besides location. Room was huge with a good side view of Ipanema beach, but dated and "old." bathroom shower was great, but also very dated. Looked like something out of the 70's.

Like everything else in Rio, overpriced for what it is. I rather go to someplace in Dominican Republican or Jamaica and have a much cheaper experience. Hell, even Paris is cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#154 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
358 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#62 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,126 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#81 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#117 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,209 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,365 reviews
Ipanema
Everest Park Hotel
Everest Park Hotel
#262 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everest Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everest Rio Hotel

Property: Everest Rio Hotel
Address: Rua Prudente de Morais 1117, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-041, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Everest Rio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Everest Rio Hotel offer the most confortable acomodations just a few steps from the beach. The pool and the bar, in the last floor of the hotel have a great view of the Lake Rodrigo de Freitas and the beautiful beaches Ipanema and Leblon. We also have beach service as a courtesy. The restaurant Grill 360°, with an international kitchen, offer confort and a terrace for you to enjoy the city view. The hotel dispose of a Japanese restaurant in the firsts floor. The Everest Rio Hotel is located only 4km far from tourists atractions like the Cristo Redentor (Christ the Redeemer) and 2,5km far from the city Botanical Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Everest Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Everest Rio
Everest Rio De Janeiro
Everest Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing