We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and too expensive”
Review of Everest Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Everest Rio Hotel
Ranked #176 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old and too expensive”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel has a great location, in the most lively part of Ipanema, and very close to the beach. But the place is old and not well maintained, and way too expensive for what it offers. The breakfast is not good, tho the view from the breakfast area is fantastic. It is really a pity to see how a place with such great potential can be managed so lovelessly...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    279
    191
    79
    56
See reviews for
122
169
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
294 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were fortunate enough to have a room which has been remodeled. It is light, bright, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is located a block from Ipanema beach so is very convenient.The breakfast is on the top floor with wonder views in front of the beach and in the back of Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain in the distance. The breakfast is varied and good. Check out is noon and many people were lined up to check out so it did not help to call the front desk a few minutes before going to the lobby. The concierge service was helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you're staying at the Everest Rio, basically you're paying for a great location, just a block from Ipanema Beach. The rooms are clean but a bit tired and dated now. Breakfast is pretty good, but the best thing about it is that it's served on the roof - sit by the pool and view the beach or sit at the back and look at Christ the Redeemer. It's a great way to start the day! The staff are very helpful and the Japanese restaurant in the lobby serves a decent yaki soba (although if you're in Rio and eating in your hotel then something's gone very very wrong). A block away on the opposite direction to the beach is a shopping street with plenty of restaurants and fast food joints. If you want to stay near the beach, and stay safe, this is probably one of the best value options in Rio.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littledutchboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Reception staff are very professional i found!! and helpful! Room just ok - nothing to write home about!!! Breakfasts were good!! Roof dining with 360 panoramic views of Rio - take your breakfasts out!!! fantastic for photos!!! AND rooftop pool - albeit quite small!! but good to cool down in!!! Excellent location just at the back of the front hotels on Ipanema!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThursoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is an older hotel that quite dated.
My bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked. The toilet seat and bowl was not very clean, despite having a paper notice telling me it had Ben 'sanitized' especially for me !

The small bar in the lobby is ok for a quiet beer or cocktail, but other than that everybody heads out for more choices of bar, restaurants etc.

The breakfasts are served on the top floor and there is a good view over the coast. Breakfast is pretty good, with plenty of choices and lots of fresh fruit, juices, etc.

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions, and its fine, provided you are not expecting 5 star amenities and the most modern of hotels.

WIFI is free and good speed.

Handy for the beach and city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeaFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goychay, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Upon entering the room the first thing that hit me was the smell. It's a strange, putrid, damp smell like some kind of water damage that is well past it's prime(!).

The bathroom is very bady lit and the actual toilet itself would seem more at home in a prison than in a hotel. The toilet seat cover is made of a strange rubbery spongey material so good luck sitting on it.

The corridoors are also very badly lit, the elevators literally take forever to go anywhere and the "swimming pool" is more of a rooftop puddle.

There are some positives however which it would be unfair of me not to mention; The location is excellent. You are right on Ipanema beach. The views are stunning, particularily from the restaurant on the top floor which has a panoramic view of all of Rio. I would also say that the food is excellent not only up there but also in the small Japanese restaurant downstairs. Sadly however these features simply mean that I might come back to eat here again but definitely not as a hotel guest. Perhaps after their promised renovation the place will improve, but I won't be around to find out.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daymannightman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

After several days of our stay in this hotel I realized that my and my husband's money was stolen from a locked safe deposit box. The interesting detail is that not all cash was stolen but about one half of what I placed in two different valets. Hotel staff was extremely rude and unhelpful, they said tha there is no evidence and nothing like that ever happened here before. I made a report at a local police station, later I found that two very similar cases were reported by the guests of the hotel.on this web site. When I asked the manager about these cases he said that there was NO EVIDENCE for these cases as well. DO NOT STAY HERE, THIEVES OPERATE IN THIS HOTEL AT LEAST FROM 2008.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elenab505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Promenade Visconti
Promenade Visconti
#153 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Ipanema
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
Golden Tulip Ipanema Plaza
#116 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Ipanema
Everest Park Hotel
Everest Park Hotel
#260 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#82 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Ipanema
Sol Ipanema Hotel
Sol Ipanema Hotel
#64 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everest Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everest Rio Hotel

Property: Everest Rio Hotel
Address: Rua Prudente de Morais 1117, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-041, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Everest Rio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Everest Rio Hotel offer the most confortable acomodations just a few steps from the beach. The pool and the bar, in the last floor of the hotel have a great view of the Lake Rodrigo de Freitas and the beautiful beaches Ipanema and Leblon. We also have beach service as a courtesy. The restaurant Grill 360°, with an international kitchen, offer confort and a terrace for you to enjoy the city view. The hotel dispose of a Japanese restaurant in the firsts floor. The Everest Rio Hotel is located only 4km far from tourists atractions like the Cristo Redentor (Christ the Redeemer) and 2,5km far from the city Botanical Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Everest Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Everest Rio
Everest Rio De Janeiro
Everest Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing