We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in a nice hotel”
Review of Rio Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rio Design Hotel
Ranked #43 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The rooms at this hotel, 50m from Copacabana beach, are currently being upgraded to stylish individual designs. I stayed in one of the older rooms which was still perfectly fine for the cost.

But the service here was great. Especially from Marcello on the front desk - who could not have been more professional or helpful. A real star. He'd fit in at any of the worlds best 5* hotels perfectly.

So value great. Service even better. I will stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrianf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 638 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

I traveled in South America: Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile. At hotels, the 4 stars are well below European levels. Another general problem: very poor internet connection.
Watch your pockets in the street.
They stole some things and money from hotel room (the suitcase unlocked).
Otherwise, helpful staff, good breakfast and a good position to wander in Rio.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adi035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Since we arrived i think the room is not big but good size. also every floor is diferent decor we stay in japonese ... i loov the shower room

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brazil_cat_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is one of the 45906287924 (many, many) hotels I have already stayed in Rio de Janeiro. It is not bad, as the staff is polite and atencious. If you know Rio de Janeiro, you know how unpleasant people can be in that city.
The location is good, between Copacabana and Ipanema beaches, and close to the metro station "General Osorio". There are restaurants, drugstores and bars in the neighbourhood.
The only problem I saw is inside the hotel. The rooms are small, the bathrooms are not as clean as it should be and there is no big mirror in the room. The breakfast is average, there nothing special in it.
If you are going to stay a few days in Rio de Janeiro it will be a good choice, because it is close to interesting places, but if you will have more time, I suggest look for better places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nizinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Luxe room did not even have space to walk around the bed. One of the smallest rooms I have ever seen for a double. Paper thin walls give you intimacy with your neighbors. None of what you see on the web site is correct except the wifi, which only works if you stay near the door.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jakono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is a hotel with excellent location, 30 meters from Copacabana and a small walk from Ipenama. Rooms are space enough, cleaned every day. There was a mini-bar in the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast room on the 13th floor offered cold and warm breakfast which I found to be delicious.

There are nice places to eat within short walking distance from the hotel.

The only thing that bothered me was street noise. Rio has a lot of street noise through the night and the hotel does not have double insulated windows. My advice is to pack a new set of ear plugs and you should enjoy the hotel thoroughly

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JV_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I am surprised by the more recent 'average' and 'poor' reviews on Hotel Portinari.

LOCATION: Excellent location on the south end of Copacabana beach near the Copacabana Fort so convenient for both Copacabana and Ipanema. It is also near pharmacies and other stores for last minute things. Metro stations very close and recommend for travelling throughout Rio as it is cheap, quick and safe.

STAFF: The staff shine at this hotel: they were instrumental in our activities while in Rio helping to book restaurants, tours even paragliding off mountains. Our trip would have been much more difficult without them! I spent 30 minutes finding a romantic restaurant with their reception within the area. Their dedication to helping you and problem solving is noted and appreciated.

HOTEL ROOM: We stayed on the 7th floor in a junior suite which was minimalist, clean lines. Very reminiscent to IKEA show room designs but not nearly as cheap feeling. The shower was large with two shower heads. It comes with hair dryers etc. The only downside is the only mirror is in the bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and there's lots of wardrobe space. FREE UNLIMITED WIRELESS IN BEDROOMS.

RESTAURANT / FOOD: The only draw back for me was the restaurant. The breakfast is good (however the same everyday) but the restaurant does not look as modern as the rest of the hotel. We had dinner one night which was disappointing. There are a lot of places to eat in Rio, especially in this area, so while the restaurant is not competitive, you are also not stuck for choice either. I encourage you to eat around Rio especially in this area.

GYM: I did not use this, I only saw it. It is small and probably the smallest hotel gym I have ever seen. I also did not see anyone else using it. The machines appear to be in good condition though and there is a good view of Copacabana as this gym is on the top floor 13+ stories up.

OVERALL: This hotel is in a desirable area of Rio where there are alot of very cheap places which look and feel hostel like or there is the up-market, very expensive places. You get what you pay for. If you are looking for a flamboyant design hotel, in my view, this is low impact but it is very comfortable, enjoyable and rewarding for its price bracket. I would stay again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Look at the website and request a floor at booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eatgosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#37 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
769 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#51 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
879 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Martinique Hotel
Windsor Martinique Hotel
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
722 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#55 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
661 reviews
Copacabana
Best Western Plus Copacabana Design Hotel
Best Western Plus Copacabana Des...
#53 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Design Hotel

Address: Rua Francisco Sa 17 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $72 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rio Design Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rio Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portinari Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Design Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing