We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grat location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Ranked #75 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Some of the best restaurants are in the neighborhood.
The reception is very helpfull. We came a little bit early but since I had sent an e-mail to the hotel a day in advance they had prepared the room for us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndersKarlskrona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Copacabana Praia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 591 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel, at the south end of Copa in Arpoador, is in the perfect location for transit, restaurants, the beach, Ipanema, and shopping. The beds are relatively new, new A/C, new TV's, in-room safes (hide your passport and valuables). The granite bathrooms and deep tubs although clean and nice could use a remodel; plenty of hot water and towels. Copacabana Beach is one block away, a ten-minute walk to Ipanema, 15 minutes or less to two subway stations (yes they have a nice subway in Rio). Buses run constantly in the area. Be sure to get an upper floor to avoid traffic noise. Staff were very friendly (most knew English), the breakfast buffet was good, and the view from the roof is incredible at night. They have a swimming pool on the roof as well as a sauna. Not the best hotel in Copa but the room pricing is relative. This is a four-star hotel by Rio standards. The Sofitel (5-star) is across the street (at up the three times the rate). This is one of my favorite places to stay in Rio.

Room Tip: Stay on an upper floor to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had a great stay in this hotel, we were treated well, and by English speaking receptionist who was helpful. We may have met the older person that others have spoken of, but just ignored him as he couldnt speak English. Need a bit of an update on the menu, same one for both lunch and dinner. Breakfast items were not hot. We looked out to the ocean and had some great views.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms to the north for great views of the beach and the activities and for the cool bree...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisherron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The first impression was not impressive. The hotel lobby can do much better with the space by replacing those very cheap 3rd hand looking furniture, and a bit of green plants. The check in guy (an elder guy with grey hair who spoke no English) was not welcoming at all.

The room was ok. It was overlooking some sky and ocean with a small balcony. Bathroom very old style. Beds were the most decent bit. We stayed there for 4 nights and from the 3rd night there was a crockroach hanging around the bathroom.

The best part of the hotel was a guy named Alex at the front desk. His is middle aged and speaks good English and very helpful. They should get more good staff like him!

The location is excellent. It's about 50 meters from the Airport Shuttle stop (from the domestic airport) and it's right between Ipanema and Copacabana. There are some popular bars down the road and you can walk to supermarkets, restaurants and shops easily and safely.

I wanted to move to Atlantis Copacabana which was 3 minutes around the corner but they were full and I could tell why. The lobby was much newer and more pleasant looking and the reception was cheerful and spoke good English. Obviously it's a much better valued option!

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor above 10/F will get some ocean view if it's facing south.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CommercialG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

the hotel excellent, staff very polite, location best in rio near a lovely beach, rooms outstanding, the owner is a wonderfull man he showed me the new floor its all made of white marmol beautiful he even took me to a ride in his bote i realy recomend it

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mima008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Staff tries to help but the owner is so greedy that you would get nowhere if you stay there.
To avoid absolutely. NOT HELPFULL; NOT NICE, YOU ARE NOT WELCOME HERE.
I was there and got sick and no one would call me a doctor. Then you would not accept to give a late check out even if you are thrwoing up at reception, they kick you out of the place.
I ordered a room service, they agreed. 1 hour after as nothing came up they realised that there was no room service available!!!!!!!! So, here I am, sick in my room, starving!!!! But if you are ready to overpay for anything, ask the owner!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAURABGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 23, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#74 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,052 reviews
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#57 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
850 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#82 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Rio Design Hotel
Rio Design Hotel
#47 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
615 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#118 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
779 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#88 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copacabana Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Praia Hotel

Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 30 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $61 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copacabana Praia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Copacabana Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Praia Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing