We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst than the worst hoStels!”
Review of Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Center Hotel
Ranked #281 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spend 8 nights there at the carnival time 2013. They were the worst hotel nights of my life.

-No hygiene what so ever.
We even saw COCKROACHES in the restaurant.
First morning the bread served for breakfast was in mold.
Bed linen is terrible, they haven't been changed in decades.
I don't even want to know about the bathrooms condition. Dirt all over.

-Everything from the 70s.
Air-con was very noisy (!) and it kept the room barely below +28 degrees (82 F). (outside +38°C).
And the cleaning lady kept turning it off every day when we were outside. After we left her a note not to do that, she kept it on.
-Beds were made for little people. Not a chance that a scandinavian man like myself (186 cm) would be able to sleep there. Had my feet hanging in the air.
-Power cables were loose. I'm sure the place will burn down some day because of the lack of modernisation in the electric systems. You could actually see into the wall when the power cables were ripped off. We didn't have the guts to cast a light in there....

-Cheapest possible for every single thing.
We had to call the reception to get some more toilet paper the minute we checked in. They gave us ONE roll after the call.
-About the lights: In the corridors there are small lights with a motion detector switch on/off. Practically the whole hotel was covered in darkness and the lights only were on when someone was moving directly under a lamp. Cozy? NOT.

-Rude receptionists.
They didn't know anything really. Almost impossible to communicate in English. They did not care about their guests no matter what was the problem. Without our portuguese speaking friend we would've been in deep trouble.

-Bad location for a pleasure tourist.
Located in the business district. Want to grab a dinner somewhere close? Impossible. There are absolutely zero restaurants in the area open after 6 pm. At the evening and night time it is not safe to walk around because there are some homeless people outside.
It took a while to drive to Copa/Ipanema by taxi...

-Wi-fi said to be included but did NOT work.

Overall this is a terrible hotel! What ever you do NEVER use this hotel. "Three stars" is just ridiculous, this is not even a standard hostel. I must say I was both worried that I get either electricuted or burnt to death in case of an electric fire. That's why we only went to the hotel when we had to. To be avoided!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this "hotel".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

It was horrible. Very old rooms. Bad clean service. Breakfast not variated. The wifi just work in the lobby. The center it's creepy by night and weekends. It's just good for a business trip, near the center.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FranMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Its a 3-star hotel, so dont expect anything.

Location was great for Carnivale, Public Transport outside for trips to Copacabana , 1omin walk to markets.

Rooms are old and not very clean, aircon was filthy. Power point hanging loose in bathroom.

Breakfast was terrible, (good old grey scrambled eggs) at least the fruit was fresh.

Staff cant speak english (only 1 young trainee could, he was nice and friendly)
On the eve of carnivale monday, wanted to sleep before our night out, so we handed in the towels to the maid before hand (she was talking on her phone and only half paying attention)
next morning, only 1 set of towels was returned (we handed over 3). for the follwing 3 days it was an argument between us the manager and the cleaning lady (who called us liars). We never got our 3 sets of towels. On check-out the early morning staff (who were asleep in front of the tv) told us we needed to pay 80reals (42AUD) to replace the towels, due to their lack of english I told them in broken portugese that it had been sorted... We left and the hotel was out 80reals and 2 towel sets... Teach them for calling us liars....

Room Tip: Don't even bother with this dump... The favela's would have better standards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharkyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Arriving tired from a business trip the first thing that comes to your mind is a good bath and a comfortable bed... right ? WRONG That´s all you won't find in this hotel, as well as smelling of mold in the room. Wi-fi also doesn´t work, only at reception.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manalex133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed there for one night and I was glad it was just the night - Its a budget hotel and I understand that and I'm not too fussy but I wasn't happy with the place. Air Con was like a plane taking off and was right beside the bed plus it looked like it was 50 years old and unsafe. The room was musty, bathroom was dirty and the hotel had an unsafe feel to it as did the area at night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Junction14Mayfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

This is a very basic hotel with absolute no frills. The location, however, is excellent for exploring the city center rooms are clean, and the included breakfast buffet is excellent. Pasquito's the cafe on the corner is a great place for an inexpensive snack or quick meal.

Free wi-fi is available in the lobby and the restaurant, and I was able to access it in my room as well. Overall, if you arrive at Center Hotel with no expectations, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We were contracted to work as interpreters in Rio and we stayed one week last September there. Very well located, close to our place of business, the hotel is clean, price was reasonable, close to Municipal Theatre (Very good leisure option!!!!), close to Uruguaiana Metro Station (Metro in Rio is very good! - From Uruguaiana Station to Copacabana it takes about 15 minutes and to Ipanema about 20 minutes). If you wanna now more, contact us at http://www.etranslate.com.br.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MillenniumTraducoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel Puma
Hotel Puma
#271 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
31 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#131 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#147 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pompeu
#218 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
124 reviews
Centro
Rios Presidente Hotel
Rios Presidente Hotel
#199 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
191 reviews
Centro
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
#86 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Hotel

Address: Avenida Rio Branco 33 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20090-003, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $31 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Center Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing