We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olinda Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olinda Rio Hotel
Ranked #92 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed here for a week during the World Cup and had a blast. The room was nice and big enough for my friend and I. Renato and Rodrigo in particular were very helpful at the front desk and the workers were friendly. I lucked out in that they spoke English at the hotel since my Portuguese is limited and they addressed any concerns of mine. It also didn't hurt that it was right across the street from Copacabana Beach. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank Mr. Hanz for your comments about our hotel and staff hope to reveal it soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    477
    171
    56
    20
See reviews for
262
367
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked this hotel in Rio for a few days during the world cup and requested a sea view. The location of this hotel is excellent right on the sea front and 1 minute from the beach which could not be better also had an excellent view of the FIFA Fan Fest. Ok so some of the room furniture maybe a bit dated and the bathrooms maybe could do with a re tile but hey this is Rio so you are not going to spend much time in the room. We are a family and had requested 2 rooms and the hotel very kindly managed to move us after 1 night to inter connecting rooms with a sea view which was amazing. Yes its noisy at the front of the hotel but that's what you would expect during the World Cup we loved the fact the outside atmosphere came into our room!! The reception staff were extremely helpful and spoke good English and the breakfast was also really good lots of choice both hot and cold with a great variety of fresh fruits. Having a great doorman was also a touch of luxury and being able to get towels and umbrellas for the beach was a real advantage. The only advice I would give is don't book any excursions via the hotel just go across the road to the information point and save yourself a whole load of money. Would recommend this hotel and we were really sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Sea view is great but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen ramshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Mrs. Helen

Appreciate your positive comments about our hotel and for us is a great pleasure to have met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is not the flashiest hotel in Rio. The rooms are a little tired, but you're in prime Copacabana position, a room with a balcony overlooking the beach is quite inexpensive, the staff are great, and the breakfast is wonderful. It's a really nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Absolutely go for a balcony room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACWgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We appreciate your positive comments about our hotel we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Right. Let's get one thing straight. The hotel is dated. In it's hay day, this would have been THE spot. Fast forward a few years and it could use some TLC. The front desk looks shabby despite the high ceilings in the dining area, the rest of the hotel smells a bit old.

Check-in was a smooth process, we arrived earlier than check-in and had no issues getting to our room which had a view of the beach. The jumbo bed was made of two doubles pressed together. Large window which meant for a lovely view , however as per previous comments these weren't double glazed - something which I don't think has arrived in Brazil just yet.
The bathroom was clean, a blueish marble colour - great water pressure however if you have an early flight like we did , shower the night before else you're in for an icy surprise.

Front desk staff were helpful - some more than others. There is a tourist information booth almost opposite the hotel where you can get more info. On gentleman in particular was lovely and gave us lots of local tips and tricks which was great. We had pre-booked our touristy things online ( Christ Redeemer etc) and had pre-set times . We got quite a few cabs off the street with no issues - much cheaper than expected.

Food : Breakfast at the hotel was okay. Standard continental breakfast to get your day started - not a massive variety of fruits/juices but hey it's included in the price so eat up - you've got a long day of queuing and walking around. There are lots of restaurants on Copacabana and the hotel gives you a discount voucher to a good local ' por quilo' place near by for lunch. One place we enjoyed was called Brasileirinho - 4/5 blocks from the hotel. They serve a stellar feijoada with all the trimmings - not cheap but worth it for traditional Brasilian food.

Things to do : There are lots of restaurants/ shops/ markets in the surrounding area . We went for a run on Copacabana and saw the sun rise - absolutely glorious. Obviously try and fit in the touristy bits - we were only in Rio for one full day so had lots to see. The city has these bright orange rental bikes - similar to the Barclay's bikes in the UK. HOWEVER you have to set up an account online before using the bikes - great way to see the city. Parque Lage is stunning as is the river that brings you into the Leblon / Inpanema area . Be mindful of pick-pockets - keep your eyes open, and don't flash your new Samsung S5 about - I felt much safer in Rio than I did in my native Sao Paulo which says a lot.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Olinda Rio and would consider staying here again on a future trip to Rio - for the location

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollWithIt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate positive comments about our hotel, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

The great: wifi, location and view. Lovely views from the front of the building. Behind are some grocery shops and the taxis rank and a small little park. ATM / banks also there.
The good: services and breakfast. Good English and helpful staff. We booked two rooms but were given one a the back (nasty, dark and awful view) and one facing the beach. Quickly we paid the difference and got adjoining rooms. Whilst the view was amazing the noise from the traffic was not and disturbed out first few nights. The rooms needed some tlc. There was exposed wiring and the walls had unfinished paint.
The breakfast was fresh lots of fruit and local varieties. Only scrambled eggs and you had to ask to get your bread toasted!
Not so good: bathrooms but significantly the hot water is switched off between 12-6am. This was really annoying and not what you would expect. Neither is the fact that the hotel only has one iron and therefore couldn't let us borrow it. With young kids this became an issue. The helpful staff pointed us in the direction of a local shop where we bought one for £10!
Bad: got screwed by organising the taxis through them which cost 250 real. Only R$20 person on the way back!
We wouldn't stay there again. We needed hot showers, an iron, double glazed windows, nicer bathrooms and some TV channels in English

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, as the negative as hot water during this period had a problem with our boiller that has already been solved and unfinished paintings are renewing runners to better serve them, we hope to give a brief return our positive changes .

kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

the hotel answered to my e-mail that they will give me an early check in on a base of availability.
When we arrived the hotel, they said that there is no available room, but if we will pay 200 reals, they will find a room...
The location is great! on the Copacabana ceach.
Breakfast is not more thab average, no vegalables.
King size bad

Room Tip: ask for a room with see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oferta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Appreciate your positive comments about our hotel, in relation to its early checkin and we take it one common rate pay.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were given a room at the back, overlooking a court yard (noise from fan) Although room was big the bathroom had mold growing in every corner!! The only good things is the location, facing the ocean and breakfast was excellent. Staff were ok, only few spoke English.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanccy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate positive comments about our services, as the room looks funds also have the option ocean where guests can choose from, we are undergoing a renewal that includes our bathrooms. We hope to see you soon to erase the less positive impression left on their stay.


regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#72 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#99 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#47 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olinda Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olinda Rio Hotel

Property: Olinda Rio Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 2230, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Olinda Othon Classic)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olinda Rio Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most privileged location with a wonderful view of all Copacabana beach because it is at the beach. The Olinda Rio Hotel is housed in a noble building with classic architectural style built in 1949 on which retains the charm and glamor of that era. Guests of Olinda Rio Hotel can enjoy the Brazilian or French cuisine at Venezia Restaurant in a European setting, with Italian marble floors, crystal chandeliers, a cozy wooden bar with crystals and stunning ocean views. Luxury apartments, Luxury Executive Suite with Balcony and the Olinda Rio Hotel have panoramic views of the beach. All accommodations have soft colors with wooden furniture. All apartments have air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, electronic safe, minibar and free internet wi-fi. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast quality with varieties of breads, croissants, fruit, cakes, meats, juices, dairy products, cereals, still having the option to request personal service. The closest hotel is the metro station Siqueira Campos, besides the availability of several bus lines to various parts of the city. The hotel is approximately 23 km far from Galeao airport for international flights, domestic flights 12km from Santos Dumont Airport and 14 km from the Novo Rio Bus In Olinda Rio Hotel guest finds the speed, total discretion in customer service and a service room spotless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olinda Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olinda Othon Classic Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing