We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out but great location!”
Review of Olinda Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olinda Rio Hotel
Ranked #93 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Rio mostly because it was the only place we could book online that met our capacity requirement for 2 adults and 2 children. The fixtures, carpet, paint, and decor are all just plain worn out. The rooms are decent size, but again, totally worn out and dated. The beds were barely passable and the walls paper thin- we heard everything from dishes being done in the kitchen 5 floors below, to the screaming newborn next door. The staff was great. Very helpful and friendly. Location is top notch- smack dab In the center of copacabana and it's clear the hotel is relying on this alone to keep the rooms booked. We probably wouldn't stay again only because we usually prefer to stay in places that take greater pride in appearance. I would say this is a 2 star hotel with a 5 star location. The breakfast buffet in the morning was decent. A lot of variety and reasonably well presented. Just ke

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Posner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 990 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Olinda. We paid a little extra for a better room with views onto Copacabana beach front which was well worth it.

The room was very pleasant and spacious with a king sized bed that must have been 8 ft wide. The hotel would benefit from some double glazing. We were on the 10th floor but the sound of the waves was still quite intrusive through the old and fairly ill fitting windows. We loved the room and the hotel but it was reminiscent of a Victorian seaside hotel, getting a bit faded in places.

The location is excellent for Copacabana beach, situated about halfway along the beach. All the nearby restaurants that we tried nearby were very good. Supermarkets and all other types of shops are close by.

The staff are superbly friendly and helpful.

The breakfast at Olinda was excellent and plentiful with a huge choice of cereal, breads, pastries, cakes, fruit etc.

All in all this is a well run excellent mid range hotel to which I'd happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NTRCBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This used to be great hotel, you can tell, but it is not anymore. It needs renovation, urgently. Facade renovation was undergoing while we were there so hopefully they'll start with rooms ASAP. It is in the middle of Copacabana and that's it. The room with a view was big but worn out, with old style cranky windows that do not isolate noise so it was very, very noisy. Their standard rooms, without view, i.e. view to the backyard and other building, are small and claustrophobic, avoid them. However, the breakfast was just great, great variety of fruits which I, as semi-vegetarian, appreciate a lot! There were even cakes, eggs, salami, cheese,.... The staff is mixed and we noticed that guys were very helpful and friendly, in particular concierge, while girls working on the reception were not nice at all. Not even welcoming us on arrival! If it wasn't prepaid accommodation I'd probably left; that's how bed reception was on our arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights from July 5th,2013 on the 10th floor with ocean view according to our booking request. The location of the hotel is great and the room are not spacious but comfortable.
Unfortunately the rooms on the 10th floor was under restoration works. The second day of our stay almost all the furniture were on the corridor and on the third day all the elevator hallway was full of construction waste!As I was the only guest on this floor you could expect from the hotel management staff to offer you a more pleasant alternative.
After a few remarks they shifted us to the royal suite for our last night there as a consolation prize for all the dust and noise!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 674maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I traveled with wife and one child - 10 years old. We stayed in a double room with extra bed. The room was fair enough (good size and comfort). Traditional hotel with all infrastructure renewed (they were doing maintanance in its fancy facade when we were there - June/2013). Also very good services and lobby. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights on business recently and the hotel is currently undergoing a facelift. The facade and public areas on ground level were being reprinted so there was a little disruption. Location is excellent in the front of Copacabana beach and I had a full view of the entire beach from my room. The rooms and public spaces were very clean but as mentioned in the title the entire hotel needs to be refurbished. Others on Trip Advisor have commented on the musty smell which is present but not to bad for me. Breakfast was varied and good quality and the staff were very friendly and attentive. When I booked the price was quite good for hotels on the beach on Copacabana.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good location being in the middle of Copacabana beech the hotel rooms were clean and comfortable all tho the bathroom facilities could do with modernising a little. During my stay the hotel was undergoing some restoration on the ground floor prior to the world cup being held there in 2014 i expect however this did not effect us at all. I would advise guests to try and get a sea view room if possible. The breakfast was the typical continental breakfast you find world wide with a decent rage of pastries, fruits cereals etc. The staff were helpfull and nearly all spoke english overall i enjoyed a pleasant stay here.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewanderer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#78 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,181 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#38 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
753 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#103 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,423 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,930 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#45 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olinda Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olinda Rio Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 2230, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Olinda Othon Classic)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $77 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olinda Rio Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most privileged location with a wonderful view of all Copacabana beach because it is at the beach. The Olinda Rio Hotel is housed in a noble building with classic architectural style built in 1949 on which retains the charm and glamor of that era. Guests of Olinda Rio Hotel can enjoy the Brazilian or French cuisine at Venezia Restaurant in a European setting, with Italian marble floors, crystal chandeliers, a cozy wooden bar with crystals and stunning ocean views. Luxury apartments, Luxury Executive Suite with Balcony and the Olinda Rio Hotel have panoramic views of the beach. All accommodations have soft colors with wooden furniture. All apartments have air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, electronic safe, minibar and free internet wi-fi. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast quality with varieties of breads, croissants, fruit, cakes, meats, juices, dairy products, cereals, still having the option to request personal service. The closest hotel is the metro station Siqueira Campos, besides the availability of several bus lines to various parts of the city. The hotel is approximately 23 km far from Galeao airport for international flights, domestic flights 12km from Santos Dumont Airport and 14 km from the Novo Rio Bus In Olinda Rio Hotel guest finds the speed, total discretion in customer service and a service room spotless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Olinda Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olinda Othon Classic Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing