We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olinda Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olinda Rio Hotel
Ranked #92 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Lansdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great location - right across from Copacabana Beach! Conveniently located to public transportation (buses and the subway is only few blocks away), restaurants, stores, and of course the beach. The price was a steal compared to other places there.

The hotel was clean and the staff very helpful. Room was spacious and clean. We didn't have enough light there (only one lamp work) but the staff fixed it right away. We were able to do a later check out which was helpful given our flight didn't leave until night. The hotel also provides beach towels and umbrellas. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety and lot of fresh exotic fruit. Would stay there again if we ever went back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marketa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    477
    171
    56
    20
See reviews for
262
367
32
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel when I was in Rio.
.As soon as you open the window you can see the famous copacabana beach. The room tariff for a room facing the sea view / beach is cheaper than the rest of the hotels situated next to the beach. The buffet breakfast which was included with the room tariff was also excellent a good breakfast spread . Staff all spoke great English which is not the case with all the hotel in Rio. The look of this hotel is contemporary old style but looks great.

I had an awesome three nights stay in this hotel which is by far the best and the cheapest hotel if you want stay on the Copacabana beach front . I would be for sure stay in this hotel if I get a chance to visit Rio.

Thanks
shankar

Room Tip: Only stay if you get a sea view room maybe with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shankar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciaolindah... g, Gerente at Olinda Rio Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
good morming

Mr. Shankar

We were very happy with their comments on our staff, we always seek the best way to update all of our staff to meet all our guests in order to exceed expectations, and as the price tried to practice a more fair and attractive to our customers .

graciously
Jorge Lemos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The room is fine, the ocean view is great, but ... Very noisy room, old window with no noise barrier, old bathroom and ORRIBLE INTERNET connecttion. The staff was nice and chnged the room as wifi was not workimg in first room. In the secon room it was better but still a Very frustrating up and downd with long period without connection. Thats very disappoining considering that we pay apprx 220€ per night

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Olinda Hotel in Rio for 1 night before we boarded a cruise around Cape Horn. We wished we had flown in earlier and stayed longer!!! The hotel was great, we did not have a room with a view of Copacabana Beach (we stayed during Carnival and didn't book a room with a view, so weren't disappointed). Never had any problems with noise as others have reported, but maybe that is because we weren't facing the street? Here are some specific comments:

Location was awesome - right on Copacabana and not too far from the metro station. We walked all along Copacabana to Ipanema beach and just enjoyed the amazing Rio atmosphere!

Front desk staff - very friendly and accommodating, not all of them spoke perfect english, but they definitely tried. If we couldn't understand each other, they would get someone else from the back who did speak english to help translate. We never had any problems with this at all.

Hotel & Rooms - Please, please understand that this is NOT a big American chain of hotels like a Hilton or Marriott. If that is what you are looking for, then just go there. The hotel is quite old and has really beautiful charm - honestly I loved the details in the lobby and rooms! It had that feeling of what Rio (Copacabana, specifically) must have been like many years ago when only the posh-est people were able to travel there. The room was small, but we found it to be very clean and nicely decorated. It seems they have renovated fairly recently. The bathroom was a bit more dated, but still clean which in my mind matters most. The only downside to the room was the bed which was extremely hard! We had no problem sleeping, but we also had just gotten off a very long flight from the US. Not sure how the beds would treat my back if we had stayed for a week. Definitely something the hotel could improve on.

Breakfast - included in the rate for the hotel and was above and beyond our expectations! There was a great selection of fresh fruit (so good!), meats, cheeses, pastries, hot eggs, bacon, sausages, coffee, tea, etc, etc. No complaints here!

All in all, this hotel was just right for us and we would definitely stay here again next time we are in Rio (which we hope will be soon as we LOVED it!) :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I knew this hotel was old but it was fine. The staff were great and the location was perfect, right in the middle of Copacabana Beach. Our room was dated but clean and we were upgraded to a balcony which we really enjoyed as we looked right onto the beach from the 11th floor. Rio is a beautiful city and this was a terrific location from which to enjoy it. Good breakfast included too.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a balcony. Not many rooms have balconies, but they are very nice to jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have been to Copacabana 8 times. Always stayed at The Olinda. Always will. It is a unique, local, down-to-earth Brazilian joint. For those of you looking for a 5 star, "American" hotel...stay away, OK? They, (we), don't need you here. The staff is amazingly friendly & helpful, just like most Carioca's if you treat them with a friendly and respectful attitude. This is the REAL Copacabana. Don't look for conveniences, modern dwellings, stuck up people, (unless they're Americans or Argentinian. Look, instead, for friendly, happy, content, parties, dancing, flirting and just, plain living, no matter what you do, drive, or earn. It's best to come alone if you're either single or married/attached. Couples don't do well. By yourself? You;ll never want to leave! (BTW no swimming pool, no fitness room. Just happy people.

Room Tip: Be NICE and accepting of whatever environment with which you may find outself. Learn some Porgugese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA2RIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I would not stay here again. The carpet in the room is dirty, the decor is dingy, the curtains are stained with dust, the windows are thin (and noise here goes until late at night on the weekend), and there's mold in the shower. I don't want to touch anything in the room. I would like to sit and work at the desk, but the chair fabric is so stained that I don't want to sit on the chair.

The location is good: right on Copacabana, in an area that is crowded and safe-feeling during the day. But there are lots of other nice hotels in the same area. I would stay at one of them. In fact, if I hadn't been on a paid-for business trip I would have gone to another hotel as soon as I saw the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank apf_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#30 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#72 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#99 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#35 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#47 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olinda Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olinda Rio Hotel

Property: Olinda Rio Hotel
Address: Avenida Atlantica 2230, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil (Formerly Olinda Othon Classic)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#50 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Olinda Rio Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most privileged location with a wonderful view of all Copacabana beach because it is at the beach. The Olinda Rio Hotel is housed in a noble building with classic architectural style built in 1949 on which retains the charm and glamor of that era. Guests of Olinda Rio Hotel can enjoy the Brazilian or French cuisine at Venezia Restaurant in a European setting, with Italian marble floors, crystal chandeliers, a cozy wooden bar with crystals and stunning ocean views. Luxury apartments, Luxury Executive Suite with Balcony and the Olinda Rio Hotel have panoramic views of the beach. All accommodations have soft colors with wooden furniture. All apartments have air conditioning, cable TV, minibar, electronic safe, minibar and free internet wi-fi. The hotel offers a buffet breakfast quality with varieties of breads, croissants, fruit, cakes, meats, juices, dairy products, cereals, still having the option to request personal service. The closest hotel is the metro station Siqueira Campos, besides the availability of several bus lines to various parts of the city. The hotel is approximately 23 km far from Galeao airport for international flights, domestic flights 12km from Santos Dumont Airport and 14 km from the Novo Rio Bus In Olinda Rio Hotel guest finds the speed, total discretion in customer service and a service room spotless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olinda Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olinda Othon Classic Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing