We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unpleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Savoy Othon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Othon
Ranked #104 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very unpleasant stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Stayed at the Savoy for 3 nights in mid April as part of a package deal.

It's a very old, dark and unpleasant building. Our room was miniscule with an ancient bathroom. Our window opened up to face a loud, smelly courtyard. Therefore, when we were in the room, (which we kept to a minimum), we usually kept it closed and took turns turning the AC on and off. The AC has only 2 options, On or Off. Since the room was so small it got too cold rather quickly.

The room had 2 tiny twin beds whose mattresses were almost as hard as plywood. There was no chain, dead-bolt, or any type of safety device on the door. The bathroom sink was the old-fashion type attached to the wall with no cabinet or vanity top. There was only one small shelf in the bathroom, which was already full with the Hotel's shampoo and soap display, so we had to put the bench from the bedroom in the bathroom to have a place for our grooming products. The old, dirty looking tub had the shower head in the center instead of at one end or the other, which made for an awkward showering experience. The water pressure from the shower head was so weak that it made showering an even bigger challenge.

The buffet breakfast was adequate but never varied. The scrambled eggs were watered down and had an odd taste. The coffee was very good, but overall the breakfast area, like the rest of the Hotel needed a good thorough scrubbing.

The front desk staff were not friendly or helpful in any way. I definitely would not recommend this Hotel to anyone other than single, young men who don't mind "roughing it", and are only looking for a place to crash.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank n2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    312
    219
    55
    26
See reviews for
199
229
39
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
268 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2007

The Savoy Othon is rated “standard” and in many ways it is. The rooms are small but very clean. The view from our room was into another wall of rooms – we needed to keep out curtains closed. The hotel staff was perfunctory – not very helpful at all. It was the little things that were irritating; such as, not extending our checkout time at first, then relenting and giving an extra couple of hours; not helping us to reach our tour guide; not explaining excursions very well; not giving us a message from the tour guide which necessitated a phone call on our part; the charge for the safety deposit box (in a city like Rio!). The upside is the location: a couple of blocks from the Copacabana beach and near some good restaurants. For value the hotel is fine. But it needs to work on the details of the stay to be a hotel of choice.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

Very cheap base to explore Copacabana beach and surrouding areas. 1 block back from seafront. No gym/pool but at the price I wasn't expecting it. Comfortable clean rooms - worth asking for the larger rooms as we got free room change on request. Safe and secure hotel. Good breakfast buffet which is included in the room rate. Would definately use next time I am in Rio.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zchal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2006

My wife and I got a great deal for our trip to Rio so we knew the hotel wasn't going to be 5 star. Our first impression wasn't bad as we entered the lobby. When we got to the room, we realized we couldn't compare this hotel to the hotels in the US. I have to admit I wasn't excited about the living quarters at first. The room that we had was a standard with one full sized bed. It had its basic needs: mini fridge, bathroom, TV, and safety deposit box (at a cost). The room was pretty small relatively speaking. It did the job though. The only thing I wasn't too fond of was the soft cushion toilet seat. I have to admit that the room grew on me. They are small but very clean. The A/C is either on or off with no thermostat, but did the job. What was convenient was that the light and A/C switch was right on the head board which made it convenient at night. The service was exceptional. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast buffet was very good with the basic: teas, coffee, hot chocolate, juices, morning meats, breads, and fruits. The location is great, only 2 blocks from Copacabana beach. We had a great time in Rio and the hotel ended up being very accommodating. Be sure to ask the hotel about their free transportation to and from the airports. You have to book it through them.

  • Liked — Service, breakfast buffet, cleanliness
  • Disliked — cramped quarters
  • Tips/Secrets — Call ahead to book free transportation to and from the airport
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank beef44tke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

Having never travelled to South America before, I wasn't exactly sure what to expect. Not exactly a luxury hotel, but for the price I wasn't expecting it to be. The location was great, a block from Copacabana beach and on the main bus lines to anywhere you could want to go in Rio.
The room was fine, beds a little hard, but with cable tv and an enormous bathroom with a great shower. Had a room facing the interior of the building, which didn't have a very glamorous view, but was exceptionally quiet at night in a very noisy city.
The staff at the desk spoke excellent English, which was a plus for me and the breakfast was great- lots of fresh cold cuts, cereals, exotic fruits and even bacon and eggs.
Though nothing was spectacular about the hotel, I would definitely recommend it.
Booked through travelocity and got an excellent rate- around $75 a night for a double- and it was during Carnaval.

  • Liked — Location, price, staff
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank blondtoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2006

We stayed at the Savoy for 5 nights and have no real complaints. Breakfast was ample and varied, changing daily, staff (porters, housekeeping and receptionists) went out of their way to make us comfortable and help us enjoy the city, and the location is excellent. 1 block from the beach, a 15 min. walk from copacabana, located on a busy street with 24hr taxi access, drug stores, beauty salons, fruit stands, grocery stores, shopping...anything you want is right there. Yet once you're inside, the noise from the outside seems so far away. Also has good internet connections.

On the down side, in the middle of a busy commercial area and we had one homeless person camped out further down the same block as the hotel. You have to be careful when out and about, but this is true for Copacabana as a whole. And it is definitely a budget hotel so do not pay too much to stay here. We got it as part of a cheap package and interior design is definitely stark. But comfortable, and clean. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lila06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2006

We stayed at the Savoy during Carnival at a very good price. We upgraded to a superior room since the standard rooms are small. The location was one block from the beach in a good area of Copecabana. Breakfast was very good. Definitely would stay there again.

Helpful?
8 Thank TheCooksSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#33 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
645 reviews
Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
Vilamar Copacabana
#130 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
240 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#59 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Copa Sul Hotel
Copa Sul Hotel
#56 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
817 reviews
Copacabana
Grande Hotel Canada
Grande Hotel Canada
#112 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
440 reviews
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#75 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Othon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Othon

Property: Hotel Savoy Othon
Address: Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana 995, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22060-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Savoy Othon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savoy Othon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Othon Travel Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Savoy Othon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing