We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveler rating
178
367
236
56
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
367
236
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two blocks copacabana beach main lobby bit dated room service safe area location is great banks pillows rio key computers
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 866 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2018

In general a good hotel, with friendly staff and pleasant surroundings. One problem was that I got a room at the back, so could only see the backs of other buildings.
The key system is a bit tricky, you have a key card that you need to put in a slot and quickly remove. The same key card is to turn on the lights, which I found odd.
Breakfast only average. The cake was very dry (no filling and not at all moist) and somehow the scrambled eggs did not come with the traditional sausages. However, the fruit was tasty and the fresh orange juice was wonderful. Good selection of breads and butter, with ham and cheese (but they didn't have 'prato', Brazil's best cheese).
No other meals, except for room service which is terribly expensive.
No complaints about minibar (well-equipped) and the rooms, always spotlessly clean.
There is Wifi throughout and also two computers that guests can use, on the premises. There is a television and newspapers in the main lobby.
Very friendly staff. They will call a taxi for you, but not Über.
There are 14 rooms on a floor. The hotel is quite big, with 12 floors.
The hotel is in a good location, two blocks from the beach, in an area with plenty of eateries. Banks, shopping centre and supermarket nearby. Underground 4 blocks away. Safe area, no slums nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front (onto N S Copacabana), as high up as possible, for best views. Back rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulDixon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Gerente geral at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Dear Mr. Paul,

We are very proud to have you as our Guest and to match most of your expectations. For our team was very good receive your feelings about our Hotel. We are considering your view about the breakfast in the intention to turn it even better.

We hope see you again near in Rio de Janeiro and at our Othon Savoy Hotel.

At our web site you can find great offers for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2018

I arrived very early in the morning and I was given a room immediately and didn't have to wait till 15.00. The staff, particularly the reception and concierge , were very friendly and helpful answering all my queries in English which was most appreciated. The location was very good for the beach, shops and most tourist attractions. I could walk to Ipanema Beach and the lake too. The hotel is not a modern building but it was very comfortable.Lots of hot waer and a good shower.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jorge C, Gerente geral at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Dear Helen,

We are very proud to have you as our Guest and to match most of your expectations. For our team was very good receive your feelings about our Hotel.

We hope see you again near in Rio de Janeiro and at our Othon Savoy Hotel.

At our web site you can find great offers for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018 via mobile

Me and my family waited and waited and waited. Instead of solving our problems they'd come with new ones. Very expensive, no parking lot, no swimming pool and not even AC in the lobby. We were waiting for 3 hours and it was suuuper hot. Would not come back!

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

The location is great, two blocks away from Copacabana beach. The staff are very friendly, and especially those in the reception all speak very good English. The room was clean, though the furniture was a bit dated.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solitarypeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerenciasavoy, Gerente geral at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Dear Yafeng S,

Thank you for staying at our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro.

We are satisfied that you enjoyed our location, the cleaness and our staff;

We hope you will give us another oportunity when you come back to our city.

Norma Lanaro
Gerente Geral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017 via mobile

Located 200 meters from Copacabana beach you can walk there in 2 minutes. Very helpful staff who assisted us with football tickets. And the room had the best pillows ever! But don't expect what you see in the pictures, the hotel is a bit dated. But then again, in Rio you don't really want to spend much time in the room anyway.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norma l, General Manager at Hotel Savoy Othon, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your comments about your stay in our Savoy Othon in Rio de Janeiro.

We are very glad you enjoyed it and hope to receive you soon.

Norma Lanaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews