We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3 star Hotel just between Copa and IPA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantis Copacabana
Ranked #88 of 283 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Good service, clean 3 star rooms, excellent view from the roof top pool, fine breakfast except for the coffee and well located between the two beaches. This was a good base for our excursions and our hangout on the beaches as well as the nightlife in Leblon. Walking distance to the metro, buses, many restaurants and shops.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lennart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,362)
There are newer reviews for Atlantis Copacabana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here with two other friends of mine, all female in our 30s, in November 2013. We arrived VERY early (9 am) and the staff stored our bags while we did a walking tour. When we returned, we were shown to our a triple room. Please bear in mind that if you're from the US, we're not accustomed to single beds in hotels, but that's what is available and it was just fine. No need to share beds!

The room is no frills but it was clean and the AC and wifi worked very well. The best aspects of this hotel are the included breakfast, neighborhood location and proximity to Copacabana, Aproador and Ipanema beaches. I felt entirely safe and comfortable. I didn't have the opportunity to use the pool on the roof, but there are some really nice views from the top.

The one questionable incident came from the night bellboy who tried to get us to take a "taxi" from someone who was quoting a set and more expensive rate. We declined that car and told him to get another one for us.

When next in Rio I will definitely stay at the Atlantis Copacabana again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumacess22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Arriving late we were greeted by an efficient reception desk who quickly booked us into the hotel and whisked our bags off to our 13th flr room, basic but roomy though the bathroom a little small. The bed was firm n large with a split system airconditioner we had a very good nights sleep after 29hrs of travel. Street noise n adjacent rooms were quiet, so quiet u wudnt know u had neighbours. Next morning breakfast was served on the ground floor, mostly breads, cold meats toast and scrambled eggs....always replenished by efficient kitchen staff.
The big winner for us was the location in between Copacabana & Ipanama beach reached easily by foot n the neighbourhood felt very safe. Another winner for us was the top floor with it's dip pool n spa n view of both beaches n neighbourhood a nice place to relax after being out all day with a drink or two. There are much flashier establishments then the Atlantis but value for money I wud recommend this hotel for couples at least.

Room Tip: Higher floors were quiet n also had easier access to the roof top which we used daily.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

the rooms are nothing exciting but the location is perfect. Situated between cococabana and ipanema beaches both less than 5 minutes walk away. Excellent breakfast. Pool is about 10x10' square! Roof is great place to catch a sunset. ATMs and variety of restaurants all within a few minutes walk. Lovely street bar with limited menu just round corner from hotel. Reception staff friendly, helpful and speak excellent English

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorelie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice hotel. Good location. Food, beach, fun and taxis all nearby. Whatever they lack is made up for with some quick solution by friendly staff. The rooms are basic but clean. The bedding and towels are clean.
The bathroom is clean and everything works. Near both Copacabana and Ipanema in a safe comfortable clean place at an affordable price comparatively speaking. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeekendTraveller305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

If you are looking for a basic hotel that is within walking distance of:
1. both Ipanema and Copacabana beaches,
2. a metro stop,
3. is on multiple bus-routes,
then this is a good option.

If you intend to spend a lot of time in your hotel room whilst you are in Rio de Janeiro, this is not the hotel for you.

The security at the hotel routinely prevents unregistered "guests" from getting into the hotel (including asking for proof of residence when entering the hotel in the early hours of the morning). These sort of "guests" are a well known means by which thieves gain entrance into hotels in Rio. From our experience this is standard practice in all hotels in Rio.

The style of our room was very dated but it was spotlessly clean.

Although there were lots of electrical power points, their positioning was rather a mystery (e.g. far away from any work surface or bedside table).

The breakfasts had lots of fresh fruits, juices and breads, as well as some hot foods.

The "free" wireless connectivity in the hotel rooms is wildly intermittent. Don't expect to be able to access the Internet with any degree of reliability. There are two very old PC terminals in the reception area that offer somewhat more reliable connectivity.

There is a fair amount of street noise and the air conditioners in the rooms are noisy.

We would consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and I were in Rio for carnival, and wanted to stay in a nice area in the Zona Zul. I chose this hotel because the price of 350US$ per night was reasonable compared to other properties in the area. Normally this hotel sells for about 150$US per night. During carnival hotel prices go through the roof.
The location was perfect for us, within both. Ipanema and Copacabana beaches. The bus store was five minutes walk to go to sugarloaf mountain and Jesus stature. The metro was 15 min walk if you want to visit centro. Bonus was the airport bus drops people off few blocks from the hotel, and the price for the bus is a lot cheaper than a taxi from the airport. There are two local restaurants, one block and two blocks north of the hotel on the same street; they are both not bad and cheap for RIO.
Now for the bad part. The hotel is basically a very budget choice: the room was like a hotel dorm with simple furniture, and the bathroom was minuscule with tiny shower stall and vanity. Twin beds were very small with firm mattresses. Soundproofing was lousy and you will hear any noise in the hallway. The breakfast was pretty basic fare, nothing fancy here. But you should be able to fill up to last you for half a day. Our wifi internet connection on the seventh floor was good.
The good news is the area of the hotel seemed extremely safe even late at night. At no time did we feel uneasy in this middle class community. Another bonus is the Zona Zol supermarket was only five minutes walk away and we used this store everyday for drinks, snacks and lunches to go.
All in all the Atlantis Copacabana is suitable for those who wish to stay in a very nice area in RIO and wish to economize on the price. It's a simple, clean and adequate facility. Don't expect anything too much.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor away from the Main Street
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#81 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,412 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#74 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,053 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#138 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#44 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,048 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#47 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
856 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
Copacabana Suites by Atlantica
#93 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Copacabana

Address: Rua Bulhoes de Carvalho 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Lagoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: $59 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Atlantis Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Atlantis Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing