We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atlantis Copacabana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cristal Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arena Ipanema Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Residencial Apartt(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Arpoador(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orla Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,410)
Filter reviews
1,410 results
Traveler rating
290
757
283
45
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
757
283
45
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsafe areawalking distancerooftop poolsmall poolair conditioningthree nightssubway stationtwo blocksarpoadorcopacabanariobrazilsupermarketportuguesetaxis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 1,410 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2008

WOW - what a fabulous B&B. This B&B is definitely a home away from home. Inia, our amazing hostess, went out of her way to ensure we had a great time. The rooms were clean and the beds really comfortable. The shower was great! Inia treated us to an incredible breakfast every morning. She told us all the best places to visit and helped us organise taxis. Her flat is a 5 min walk from Ipanema beach and a short walk to great shopping and places to eat. I ended up losing my passport and having to stay on longer. Inia helped me by calling the kindest taxi driver in Rio - Junior - he helped me to get passport photos and to get an emergency passport at the Embassy. He was so kind and patient and a real God send. I would much rather stay at Inia's than at a hotel. I can definitely recommend her Arpoador!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Debs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

i have never stayed at a hotel that was as unprofessional as this one. while the price was reasonable with a good location, the customer service was the worst i have experienced in the hospitality industry.

the people at the front desk were unwilling to help with questions, and when they did help, the effort was limited. while using the laundry service at the hotel, several of my friends clothes were lost. when explaining the issue to the manager, the manager responded negatively-- he told my friend she was lying, told her to shut up, raised his voice, called her a [--] and flicked her off. even with paperwork supporting the claim, the manager refused to help in any way.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank acapla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

If you want to really get into RIo, close to all the best, but away from generic service and tourist traps; comfortable and low-key yet elegant, you will enjoy Senorha Inia Schoenwalder's Arpoador B&B. It is located in a condo building in a residential neighborhood, just a few blocks from either Copacabana or Ipanema beaches. There is a spacious, comfortable living/dining area and my partner and I stayed in a queen bed guestroom for 2, with all the amenities, including private deluxe bath. The building is very secure yet no problems for guests to come and go. Dozens of restaurants, clubs, shops, and Copacabana artisan market are within easy walking distance, along with public transport. Inia made us at ease and has a wealth of information on anything and anywhere in Rio and great stories from around the world. She has been a fashion model, then a designer in New York before returning to her home (her English is excellent and I believe German as well). Breakfasts are extensive with fresh fruit, and both Brasilian and continental choices. Inia also has a cab driver, Junior, who will take you to many great places at a fair value and is a good guide. Don't miss the Roberto Burle-Marx estate-museum about 25 km outside of town if you have interests in modern art and landscaping, plus a great seaside lunch.
If Inia's rooms are not available, don't despair. Ask Inia if her friend Maria has a room w/bath to rent nearby. The rooms are similar to Inia's place. Maria is an gracious Brasilian actress who has traveled to glamourous places around the world. She is also a wonderful hostess and will show you jewels of Rio that tourists never see, besides her connections with Rio's entertainment elite. We stayed with her during Carnaval 2008 and it worked out great--only she invited us to more events than we had the time or energy to take in!
This is the best recommendation I have ever gotten from TripAdvisor and made Rio an experience to remember. If this sounds like your style you will be very pleased.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsmith919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

We just spent 4 days with Inia, the delightful and generous owner of Arpoador Bed and Breakfast in Rio de Janeiro. It was absolutely brilliant. It's basically like being at home with your grandmother (who looks like your mother) doting on you. From the perfect breakfasts (with fresh fruits, freshly squeezed juice, tea& coffee, eggs cooked your way, deli meats, cheeses, yogurt, bread baskets, jams- the list is endless) to the charming, comfortable bedrooms (decorated in european country style- think south of france) to the ideal location (literally a 5 mins walk to Copacabana Beach and Ipanema Beach and 3 mins walk to Arpoador Beach), we really couldn't have been happier staying there.
Inia is lovely too and has wonderfully entertaining stories of her colorful, fascinating past to regale you with! We highly recommend this gem!
Inia adds a personal touch that cannot be found elsewhere; for example when my designer cocktail dress got stained 5 mins before I had to leave for a formal dinner, Inia wiped me clean!
However it must be said that this is not a hotel so do not expect hotel like facilities but expect better than hotel service (ie rooms are cleaned daily, towels are changed as often as you wish)!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HKlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of Feb and found the hotel to be a good choice.

The Atlantis is nothing spectacular but then it does not claim to be and it does all the basics satisfactorily at a good price and in an excellent location. It would be very unfair to expect 5 star quality at what is very much 2 or 3 star prices by Rio standards.

The room was a reasonable size (photos in earlier reviews are a very fair representaion), clean and comfortable. The rooftop pool is small but nice to have, although not a huge draw, especially given the proximity of both Ipanema and Copcacabana beaches (both 5-10 mins walk).

The breakfast is average and the front desk staff are only OK and their somewhat brusque manner could be improved.

Having spent a lot of time trying to find an acceptable quality hotel in a good location in Rio without breaking the bank, we feel that the Atlantis Copacabana really did deliver in what is undoubtedly an overpriced city for hotels

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KL_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews