We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget choice for expensive part of RIo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantis Copacabana
Ranked #89 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Budget choice for expensive part of RIo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were in Rio for carnival, and wanted to stay in a nice area in the Zona Zul. I chose this hotel because the price of 350US$ per night was reasonable compared to other properties in the area. Normally this hotel sells for about 150$US per night. During carnival hotel prices go through the roof.
The location was perfect for us, within both. Ipanema and Copacabana beaches. The bus store was five minutes walk to go to sugarloaf mountain and Jesus stature. The metro was 15 min walk if you want to visit centro. Bonus was the airport bus drops people off few blocks from the hotel, and the price for the bus is a lot cheaper than a taxi from the airport. There are two local restaurants, one block and two blocks north of the hotel on the same street; they are both not bad and cheap for RIO.
Now for the bad part. The hotel is basically a very budget choice: the room was like a hotel dorm with simple furniture, and the bathroom was minuscule with tiny shower stall and vanity. Twin beds were very small with firm mattresses. Soundproofing was lousy and you will hear any noise in the hallway. The breakfast was pretty basic fare, nothing fancy here. But you should be able to fill up to last you for half a day. Our wifi internet connection on the seventh floor was good.
The good news is the area of the hotel seemed extremely safe even late at night. At no time did we feel uneasy in this middle class community. Another bonus is the Zona Zol supermarket was only five minutes walk away and we used this store everyday for drinks, snacks and lunches to go.
All in all the Atlantis Copacabana is suitable for those who wish to stay in a very nice area in RIO and wish to economize on the price. It's a simple, clean and adequate facility. Don't expect anything too much.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor away from the Main Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    697
    264
    41
    32
See reviews for
282
486
78
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked the room for two guests for one night since 5th of MArch. We got a triple room, pretty old, nothing special considering the high price. The hotel is 2 stars considering the quality of the rooms. The only positive thing is the convenient location and the beach nearby.
Special points about the stuff. I did not like it at all. The service standards are pretty low.
When we tried to chill with a friend in our room we were told it is not allowed by the hotel policy! We paid 200 bucks for one night and were not able even to have a nice chat with a friend at our room. They told us that if there is only one person in the room then it would be possible to have a guest! Ridiculous! stupid!
never ever again!

another positive thing is a ver very nice breakfast with delicious fruits.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Except for the position close to the beach, I have nothing good to report.
Rooms are large but very old and not cleaned properly. Staff at the Concierge has been rude and unhelpful. We asked to have a late check out but the room was booked and they offered us a place to take a shower. This place is located on the top of the roof in an opened space without any door. The hotel is very expensive for the services it offers.
Definitively I'll never come back and won't suggest to anybody.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank angel82020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is a convenient location, but mainly if you want to spend a lot of your time on either Ipanema or Copacabana beaches, as both are a 5-minute walk. Another great feature is the rooftop pool and sun terrace, where you can rest undisturbed from the many hawkers that trawl the beach continuiously. The staff is extremely attentive, and seem genuinely friendly and knowledgable with all the information you need during your stay.

The breakfast is tolerable, with tasty fruits and juices and some hot options too. However it is seriously lacking vegetables such as sliced tomatoes etc.
The wi-fi works 'most times' in both rooms (and better in the lobby), but if you are in constant need of good quality internet, you will be disappointed, as there are regular downtimes or so slow connection that it is actually useless.
The room we got (4-bed) however was the quality of a youth hostel (small, very simple furniture and extremely narrow single beds), but for the price of a 4-star hotel, so we feel we did not get very good value for money.

Another interesting surprise was a conversation I "overheard" between another guest and the receptionist. The guest wanted to invite someone up to their room (obviously to spend some private time), and the reception must have noticed this. The receptionist did not allow them to go up together - but he did not communicate this discreetely with the guest: he was shouting from the reception, over to the guest standing in the hotel entrance, this is how I (and probably everybody present in the lobby) could realise what happened. A hotel with this price tag cannot afford to take decisions for their guests as to how they make the most of their time in Rio. Let alone can they publicly humiliate them. Absolutely unacceptable by any western standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBoy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at that hotel as a part of Intrepid Tour.
Good location - close to Ipanema Beach and to Copacabana Beach.
The hotel is actually closer to Ipanema Beach - 1 block and about 3 blockes to Copacabana.
3 min walk to Arpoado Parc where you can see the amayzing sunset when being on the rock ( Arpoado is translated as a 'rock' ) .
The room was clean, the shower railed door is closing ( was not the case for other hotels during our trip), the bathroom has a hair dryer. So, no issues.
The hotel is serving a great breakfast. A beatiful Ipanema beach and favelas view from the roof, the statue of Christ The Redeemer is hidden by another high-raised building.
The water at Rio's beaches was so cold, that it was challenging to get to the ocean, so the pool
on the roof is a pretty good alternative and the safe solution.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdikToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Originally I had planned to stay there only one night and changed my mind and decided to stay there 5 nights. I called Booking.com and said to cancel the one reservation and book me for 5 nights. When I arrived at this hotel they told me I was booked for 2 rooms for the first night. I explained what had happened and they said they would tell the manager. I got home and I realized they had billed me for 2 rooms for the first night. I called Booking.com and they said the hotel refused to refund my money. I called the hotel and they claimed it was Booking.com's fault. So I'm out $180. For the rest of my stay I went to the (close by) Arpoador Hotel, which is much nicer, about the same price, and located right on the beach.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs. Rude, cold front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Reasonably priced. Located few blocks from Ipanema beach and Copacabana beach. Daily breakfast buffet. Not huge variety but enough to choose from. Very similar selection each day but great hours from 6-11 so it accommodates everyone's habits. Reception staff is friendly and speaks enough English (and Spanish). Bathroom is updated and shampoo/conditioner is provided. There is a small fridge with limited selection mini bar. Roof top has chairs/tables to sit/tan. There is a VERY small pool but good spot to start morning coffee or have a drink before heading out at night. Room is not big but typical of European style rooms. Definitely recommend this hotel It offers everything you need. After all you did not come to Rio to sit in the hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playarocks011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#29 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#22 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#82 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
#48 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Copacabana
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador ...
#111 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Ipanema
Vermont Hotel
Vermont Hotel
#95 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Copacabana

Property: Atlantis Copacabana
Address: Rua Bulhoes de Carvalho 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22081-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Lagoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#46 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Copacabana 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantis Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Atlantis Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing